Menu
Reply
vm_user99
  • 40
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
502 Views
Message 31 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Braodband is highly variable - latency is shocking

Screenshot_2020-09-18 Share Broadband Quality Monitor thinkbroadband.png

Yesterdays view (above), from the 16th (below)

Screenshot_2020-09-18 Broadband Quality Monitor thinkbroadband.png

I could produce more days but these are pretty standard. I'll move my virgin router into router mode and the netgear into access point mode over the weekend...

Please Virgin look at the state of the network.... I'd blame Webex, Slack, SonyPlaystation, Bethesda, etc... but can it really be all of them?  😞

 

0 Kudos
Reply
vm_user99
  • 40
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
487 Views
Message 32 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Braodband is highly variable - latency is shocking

Screenshot_2020-09-18 Share Broadband Quality Monitor thinkbroadband.pngScreenshot_2020-09-18 Broadband Quality Monitor thinkbroadband.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Buffer6
  • 12.27K
  • 94
  • 652
Hero
475 Views
Message 33 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Braodband is highly variable - latency is shocking

For BQM (Broadband Quality Monitor) you have to set up two monitors if you switch back

and forth from router to modem mode as your IP number is different in each mode

and would just show a red wall on the monitor which is not in the mode selected

0 Kudos
Reply
Buffer6
  • 12.27K
  • 94
  • 652
Hero
471 Views
Message 34 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Braodband is highly variable - latency is shocking

The latency delays on your graphs at certain times of the day seem to indicate congestion or overutilization

0 Kudos
Reply
vm_user99
  • 40
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
459 Views
Message 35 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Braodband is highly variable - latency is shocking

Hi,

Can you define congestion / over utilisation? During the day, during the week there's pretty much just my work machine doing webex / slack / email etc...

0 Kudos
Reply
Buffer6
  • 12.27K
  • 94
  • 652
Hero
443 Views
Message 36 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Braodband is highly variable - latency is shocking

It means too many users/traffic and not enough IP resources to cope with it

That's when the IP needs to up their game to cope with the demand.

0 Kudos
Reply
vm_user99
  • 40
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
434 Views
Message 37 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Braodband is highly variable - latency is shocking

Ok I see, so you think it's a problem with the Virgin network.

0 Kudos
Reply
vm_user99
  • 40
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
410 Views
Message 38 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Braodband is highly variable - latency is shocking

Screenshot_2020-09-23 Broadband Quality Monitor thinkbroadband.png

OK, so this is now running with the Superhub 3 in router mode and the Netgear runnnig without DHCP (access point mode). Still looks shocking. I've called Ofcom and raised a complaint.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Paul_DN
  • 6.85K
  • 384
  • 718
Forum Team
Forum Team
350 Views
Message 39 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Braodband is highly variable - latency is shocking

Hi vm_user99,

 

Thank you for reaching out to us in our community , I am sorry to hear you are experiencing high latency.

 

I have had a look at thing our end and can see there is currently a planned outage in your are due to maintenance/ repairs being done, this could be connected to the issues you have been experiencing recently, this is raised under ticket number C01153324 and the estimation completion time is 30/09/20 @ 15:00.

 

Kind regards

 

Paul.

0 Kudos
Reply
vm_user99
  • 40
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
273 Views
Message 40 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Braodband is highly variable - latency is shocking

80732180c8dbe337ab2b19722d107fb01a10833a-27-10-2020.png

General latency has reduced (green), however I'm now seeing dropped packets????? AND still seeing a lot of latency spikes!!!

0 Kudos
Reply