Menu
Reply
NovaBlack
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
679 Views
Message 1 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Bandwidth issues after upgrade to 500Mbps

So to cut a long story short, upgraded my broadband from the 200 Mbps we had, to 500 Mbps. 

Took around 24 hours, but confirmed yesterday that the upgrade had gone through correctly. looking at the configuration on the super hub 3, i can see Max Traffic Rate is now 575000000. 

I did some tests using a wired connection from my laptop, straight to the router. Speedtest came out with a fantastic 540 Mbps up. 

However as of this morning...I connected to the router once more.. and can see im receiving a paltry 130-140 Mbps. Much lower than yesterday (and lower than pre upgrade where i'd  consistently be getting around 220 wired)

I've done the usual steps of power cycling the router + the connected laptop, and left an hour and tried again etc but no luck.

Is there anything else i can try? I've run the diagnostics tool in the superhub 3 to see if anything flagged, but all looks clear.

Are there any stats i can see on the superhub 3 to identify if the issue is with the incoming connection, or something to do with the router? Keen to get this resolved as the whole point of upgrading was to allow for improved working from home, which needs a good data heavy connection. 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.06K
  • 1.07K
  • 2.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
666 Views
Message 2 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bandwidth issues after upgrade to 500Mbps

Connect to the hub, don't log in, but below the password field click on that link "check router status".  Then select (Ctrl-A on most keyboard equipped devices), copy (Ctrl-C) and paste into replies here (Ctrl-V) the contents of each of the three tabs Downstream, Upstream, Network log.  Then we can take a look for any issues.  Don't use screenshots or images.

Out of polite curiosity, what on earth were you doing that made 200 Mbps unsuitable for WFH?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
NovaBlack
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
662 Views
Message 3 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bandwidth issues after upgrade to 500Mbps

Thanks for the help! Much appreciated. 

WFH over VPN for a company writing computer software, so keeping up to date requires frequent downloads of often a few 100 GBs of data sadly

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14670000003.238256 qam28
21870000005.638256 qam7
31950000005.438256 qam8
4203000000538256 qam9
52110000004.838256 qam10
62190000004.538256 qam11
72270000004.538256 qam12
82350000004.138256 qam13
92430000003.538256 qam14
102510000003.738256 qam15
112590000004.538256 qam16
12267000000538256 qam17
132750000005.138256 qam18
142830000005.138256 qam19
15291000000538256 qam20
162990000004.938256 qam21
173070000004.538256 qam22
183150000004.838256 qam23
193230000004.938256 qam24
204430000003.938256 qam25
214510000003.538256 qam26
224590000003.438256 qam27
234750000002.938256 qam29
244830000002.738256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.91016875
2Locked38.938213355
3Locked38.935513451
4Locked38.628613195
5Locked38.921412014
6Locked38.916161501
7Locked38.91659957
8Locked38.61405758
9Locked38.61121601
10Locked38.61065327
11Locked38.6964337
12Locked38.9996282
13Locked38.9919344
14Locked38.9816228
15Locked38.9871231
16Locked38.6930540
17Locked38.91043912
18Locked38.911641311
19Locked38.615391083
20Locked38.616881114
21Locked38.63867979
22Locked38.91512802
23Locked38.91042810
24Locked38.61033700

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000414.4512064 qam2
2461999914.55512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000

 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
NovaBlack
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
661 Views
Message 4 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bandwidth issues after upgrade to 500Mbps

 
General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
k;fg87dsfd;kfoA,.iyewrkldJKDHSUBsg


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID356
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID355
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

 
Network LogTime Priority Description
04/09/2020 07:14:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/09/2020 07:10:26noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 13:51:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 07:02:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 06:21:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/09/2020 20:09:40noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/08/2020 05:40:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 20:40:51noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 20:40:51ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2020 22:42:40ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2020 14:09:29Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2020 15:59:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2020 10:27:10Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/08/2020 19:40:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/08/2020 16:20:31Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 15:49:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 14:09:35noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 14:09:35ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/08/2020 09:15:57ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/08/2020 23:35:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
 
0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
645 Views
Message 5 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bandwidth issues after upgrade to 500Mbps

I wonder how the WFH trend will change how ISP split Home and Business services.
Is working from home fill time still covered under the T&C of a residential contract.

Its going to be interesting to see how COVID chances things over the next few years
0 Kudos
Reply
NovaBlack
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
639 Views
Message 6 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bandwidth issues after upgrade to 500Mbps

Should be returning to office soon really so likely things will return back to normal - it was just really an interim thing to get us through the next few weeks.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.06K
  • 1.07K
  • 2.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
621 Views
Message 7 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bandwidth issues after upgrade to 500Mbps

Your downstream error count looks high, and upstream appears to be missing two channels (normally operates at 4 x 64 QAM).  There's a few too many timeouts and partial service errors in the log as well.

I'd suggest that you try a pinhole reset, and then repost the status data after 24 hours.  The reset will wipe any customised wifi settings (unless you use the backup and restore facility in the Hub's Admin menus), and it will revert to the default 8 digit password printed on its base.  Sometimes a full reset does properly fix these sorts of faults, but if it doesn't then upstream noise is a likely culprit, and usually needs a technician visit.

If you try the reset, let's see if that works, if not we can flag this for the forum staff to advise.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

NovaBlack
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
588 Views
Message 8 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bandwidth issues after upgrade to 500Mbps

no problem - i'll give this a go and see how i get on!

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 15.9K
  • 687
  • 1.56K
Alessandro Volta
580 Views
Message 9 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bandwidth issues after upgrade to 500Mbps

Try in modem mode with a PC in safe mode with networking and see what speeds you get.

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Tom_F
  • 2.99K
  • 175
  • 367
Forum Team
Forum Team
539 Views
Message 10 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bandwidth issues after upgrade to 500Mbps

Hi @NovaBlack, thanks for getting in touch.

 

Sorry for the problems you've been having with your connection. 
Checking things from here I can see that there are some issues that will require the attention of an engineer so I have booked you in with the next available appointment.  You will find the appointment time slot via your online account (virg.in/myVM) and it can be rescheduled or cancelled from there if needed.


Please let us know how that goes, or if there's anything else we can help with in the meantime.


Tom