Menu
Reply
Dannilad
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
749 Views
Message 1 of 37
Flag for a moderator

Bad upload speed

Hi all,

 

Been having issues with my upload speed the last few days or so. I've been thinking it's probably because everyone is at home hammering the Internet, but yesterday I tightened all the cables and the upload speed improved. Done the same tonight but nothing is working. Download speed is around 200Mbps, but the upload speed I'm only at 0.8-1Mbp if I'm lucky.

I can't see if there's a general area fault and I've tried all the suggestions from Virgin's support team regarding resetting my hub etc.

Does anyone have any ideas on what I can do from my side or am I stuck until tomorrow when the support number is open?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 33.76K
  • 3.31K
  • 6.42K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
717 Views
Message 2 of 37
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

Have you checked first for “known network faults”

As well as trying the “check service,”Area status webpage" (link at top right of this forum), also try the “free & automated” Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually gives the most up to date info. and tells you of more local issues down to postcode level.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Dannilad
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
708 Views
Message 3 of 37
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

Yeah, done all that John, it just says there's no faults in the area, but I can't even report the problem because the automated status stuff just says there's no issue.

Going to have to ring tomorrow and see if I can speak to someone, it's been downright atrocious these last few days. To be honest, a bit after I posted, the upload went up to 20Mbps and was fine for a few hours while I was online, and now it's dipped again to 0.8Mbps seemingly randomly. Speedtest.net tells me I'm getting 18-25% packet loss. God knows what is going on

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 33.76K
  • 3.31K
  • 6.42K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
657 Views
Message 4 of 37
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

lets look at your connection data - do this
_______________________________

In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) (DONT click these links) - and hit return. On the first page up dont login [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] just click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle (Hub3) or top/right (SH’s) of the Login page and then just copy/paste the normal “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again. If character limits are “exceeded” - just do two posts

If you haven’t already, set up a free, secure and “offlsite” - “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph”. Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate. Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see. On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon) In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Dannilad
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
642 Views
Message 5 of 37
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

Hi John,

Thanks for your help so far, here's what I've got, hopefully this copies correctly for you:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12027500004.540256 qam9
21387500004.540256 qam1
31467500004.340256 qam2
4154750000440256 qam3
51627500004.140256 qam4
61707500004.540256 qam5
71787500004.540256 qam6
81867500004.640256 qam7
91947500004.540256 qam8
102107500004.540256 qam10
112187500004.540256 qam11
122267500004.440256 qam12
132347500004.340256 qam13
14242750000440256 qam14
152507500003.940256 qam15
162587500003.740256 qam16
172667500003.540256 qam17
182747500003.240256 qam18
19282750000340256 qam19
20290750000340256 qam20
21298750000340256 qam21
223067500002.740256 qam22
233147500002.740256 qam23
243227500002.740256 qam24

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.950
2Locked40.3100
3Locked40.3100
4Locked40.980
5Locked40.970
6Locked40.370
7Locked40.380
8Locked40.390
9Locked40.350
10Locked40.3120
11Locked40.960
12Locked40.9100
13Locked40.350
14Locked40.3100
15Locked40.350
16Locked40.370
17Locked40.960
18Locked40.9160
19Locked40.3230
20Locked40.3100
21Locked40.380
22Locked40.390
23Locked40.3100
24Locked40.3120

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Dannilad
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
640 Views
Message 6 of 37
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370005031512064 qam2
26030002531512064 qam1
33939993331.3512064 qam4
44620000031512032 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA00290

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

28/12/2021 21:44:12criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:42:48noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:42:35Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:42:5noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:34:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:29:31criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:23:13Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:23:9Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:23:9criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:23:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:23:8criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:23:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:20:13Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:20:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:20:8criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:20:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:20:8criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:20:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:16:57Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2021 21:16:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Just for reference, it was fine from 11pm last night until about 1am when I was on my PS5, and fine again this morning and all day. It's only ever late at night past about 8-9pm and then it's up and down like a yo-yo, very aggravating. Tried reboots and a factory reset as per Virgin's help page. I can note a couple of warnings from the log are me just logging in with the wrong password etc so those can probably be ignored.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 33.76K
  • 3.31K
  • 6.42K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
637 Views
Message 7 of 37
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

You have problems on the Upstream connection (but you knew that) 🙂

All Up power levels are on the low side and one qam has dropped to 32 and there are too many T3 errors.

lets see the BQM - but it looks like a Tech visit will be required

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Dannilad
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
630 Views
Message 8 of 37
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

Thanks John, yeah I know there was an issue but I just didn't know what I was looking at. I work in IT but I'm only a Tier 1 Support guy so I'm not too trained up yet!

I've gotta be honest I was out when you asked me to setup the BQM and I've replied as soon as I got back, I'll get it done now but will it have enough info straight from setting it up or do I need to give it time? I suppose if it needs time I can just ring Virgin while I wait...

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 33.76K
  • 3.31K
  • 6.42K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
623 Views
Message 9 of 37
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

It needs a full 24h to be meaningful - but for starters just post the link to "share live graph" and it will always display the last 24h period.

A VM person on here will be able to help too - but would be good to see the developing BQM first

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Adduxi
  • 6.1K
  • 512
  • 1.57K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
620 Views
Message 10 of 37
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed


@Dannilad wrote:

<snip>  I've gotta be honest I was out when you asked me to setup the BQM and I've replied as soon as I got back, I'll get it done now but will it have enough info straight from setting it up or do I need to give it time? I suppose if it needs time I can just ring Virgin while I wait...


It records in real time, so the BQM will need 24 Hrs to populate a decent amount of information.

EDIT - John, yet again, beat me to it   😉

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply