Menu
Reply
jpbing
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
570 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Bad upload speed

Morning,

My upload speed is awful, 0.5Mbps on average, download is 70 to 100Mbps, confirmed on 4 different devices. The devices are not all running at the same time..

I've tried the Virgin Media helpline, spoke to a number of people and got nowhere. Now I can't get through to speak to anyone. I've done the hard reset, and all the on/off stuff and nothing has worked. The slow speed is causing me issues with my work. I'll have to leave VM and try someone else who can offer the speeds advertised if it can't be fixed. It would also be nice to get better customer service!!

Any tips? How can I get an engineer to visit to do a proper fix?

Cheers

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.46K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.9K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
534 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

First what Hub model do you have (printed on its sticker)?

What package are you on?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
jpbing
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
530 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

Hub 3.0

Package M100

Cheers

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.46K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.9K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
518 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

So are slow speeds only on wifi connection or are they apparent on ethernet cable connected devices as well? If you dont know can you check.

Also, have you done a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

If that's all ok try a pinhole reset like this
_________________________________

Firstly, make sure the Hub's sticker/card with the two passwords on it is still there and legible or you will be stuffed ! If its not – DON’T DO IT !

With the Hub switched "on", disconnect any ethernet connections and then push in the “reset pin” with the end of a paperclip/thin nail/SIM tray “tool” or similar (bigger items like ball point pen ends may not press it in far enough) until you feel it at the “stop point” and hold it there firmly for a "timed" minimum of 60 seconds do NOT manually restart the Hub at any time. Leave it 10' or so to stabilise and then your passwords/passphrase for both the Hub settings and the Wifi networks will revert to the two printed on the Hub sticker on its base/side/card. Make sure you use the wifi one for devices connecting to the wifi and the settings/admin one to access the Hub (it is a six digit numeric one).

See if that sorts it.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
jpbing
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
492 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

Slow speeds are on all devices and are slow if connected via wifi or via an ethernet cable.

All cables at the box have been checked, removed and reconnected. All are good.

I've done 3 or 4 hard resets with the pin hole reset thing. I've switched it on and off. Nothing has worked.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.46K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.9K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
476 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

Lets look at the connection details...
_____________________________

Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there.  In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... if you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when you have the first 24h period.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
jpbing
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
402 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

As requested.

MAC addresses have been blanked out...

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 331000000 4.5 40 256 qam 25
2 203000000 4.6 40 256 qam 9
3 211000000 4.6 40 256 qam 10
4 219000000 4.8 40 256 qam 11
5 227000000 4.8 40 256 qam 12
6 235000000 4.9 40 256 qam 13
7 243000000 4.8 40 256 qam 14
8 251000000 4.8 40 256 qam 15
9 259000000 4.5 40 256 qam 16
10 267000000 4.5 40 256 qam 17
11 275000000 4.5 40 256 qam 18
12 283000000 4.4 40 256 qam 19
13 291000000 4.4 40 256 qam 20
14 299000000 4.5 40 256 qam 21
15 307000000 4.3 40 256 qam 22
16 315000000 4 40 256 qam 23
17 323000000 4.1 40 256 qam 24
18 371000000 4.5 40 256 qam 26
19 379000000 4.3 40 256 qam 27
20 387000000 4.5 40 256 qam 28
21 395000000 4.6 40 256 qam 29
22 403000000 4.5 40 256 qam 30
23 411000000 4.8 40 256 qam 31
24 419000000 4.9 40 256 qam 32


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 5 0
2 Locked 40.3 6 0
3 Locked 40.9 5 0
4 Locked 40.9 5 0
5 Locked 40.9 7 0
6 Locked 40.3 6 0
7 Locked 40.3 5 0
8 Locked 40.3 5 0
9 Locked 40.3 4 0
10 Locked 40.3 5 0
11 Locked 40.9 4 0
12 Locked 40.3 4 0
13 Locked 40.3 4 0
14 Locked 40.3 4 0
15 Locked 40.3 0 0
16 Locked 40.3 4 0
17 Locked 40.3 5 0
18 Locked 40.3 0 0
19 Locked 40.3 5 0
20 Locked 40.3 5 0
21 Locked 40.3 5 0
22 Locked 40.3 4 0
23 Locked 40.3 4 0
24 Locked 40.3 7 0

 

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39400000 36.8 5120 16 qam 4
2 46200000 37 5120 16 qam 3
3 60300049 37.3 5120 16 qam 1
4 53700000 36.8 5120 16 qam 2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

Network Log
Time Priority Description
28/12/2020 13:23:50 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:40 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2020 11:57:25 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2020 11:57:14 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2020 11:56:11 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2020 01:49:58 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2020 01:15:59 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/12/2020 07:16:6 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=1xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/12/2020 00:18:44 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/12/2020 12:12:2 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/12/2020 11:01:16 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:38 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/12/2020 10:43:2 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx1;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/12/2020 10:42:51 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/12/2020 10:42:24 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/12/2020 10:42:14 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:39 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/12/2020 10:29:49 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/12/2020 10:24:3 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/12/2020 14:26:13 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx;CMTS-MAC=xxxxxxxxxxxx1;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
gitty
  • 124
  • 2
  • 32
Up to speed
390 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

64-QAM is normal for the upstream. 16-QAM indicates noise of some kind. With the issues you have, you probably have packet loss in the upstream.
0 Kudos
Reply
jpbing
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
385 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

Ok.

What does this mean?

How is it fixed?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
billbill
  • 98
  • 15
  • 14
Up to speed
372 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad upload speed

Will be a call to VM. You have the evidence to prove the issue.

The QAM is a modulation type, used to send & receive data, it allows multiple bits to be sent during each phase of the modulation, all very teccie & boring. The Hub 'negotiates' with the kit at the other end to determine the fasted reliable speed and sets the QAM modulation as appropriate, should ideally be 64, yours are all half of this, which you are seeing as slow upload speed.

This can be caused by numerous issues. Some basic checks you can do, is to ensure coax connection on hub is tight, also check outside connection if you can, is it tight, any signs of water ingress?

Is the cable from the outside connection to the Hub run to avoid proximity to other electrical cables or equipment? Are there any sharp bends, kinks or twists in it?

Hope the above helps, please post back when issue is resolved and what was done.
Thanks,
B.
0 Kudos
Reply