Menu
Reply
eadlesdr
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
870 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Bad Upload Sleep

I've just spent 30 minutes on the phone only to eventually get cut off by the customer service team.

 

I'm on the M200 package. Download speed is spot on. However, advertised upload speed is no where near for my package (20Mb/s) and is sat at around 5Mb/s.

I work from home, and upload is very important. I'm sending files back and forth constantly.

I had to argue my case to customer support who mentioned that absolutely nothing can be done about upload speeds. I am getting 200Mb/s download and thats what i'm paying for. Despite agreeing multiple times that a 10% upload speed is what I should be seeing. The stats are right there - https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/broadband/speeds.

The last push I had was to ask what would happen if I upgraded by package to M350, as I need the upload - to be told that "Yes I would get the upload speed I need". I just don't get it.

It's almost as if i'm capped at the M100 package upload speed. My package was recently reprovisioned on a resign as well...

 

Tests to known good servers (including my business which is on a gig link). No matter what I try, 5-7Mb/s is all I get.

Help! As I am getting nothing from customer services...

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.13K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.6K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
863 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Upload Sleep

Sadly you're wasting your time with the offshore "customer service" line.  Quite where Virgin Media find such technically ignorant customer hating fools I don't know.

Do not upgrade to get a better upload speed - not only does it reward VM's incompetence and poor customer service, but there's likely a line or configuration problem that is preventing you getting the 20 Mbps that you should be seeing, it will still be there when they lift the downstream and upstream caps, and potentially you could be even worse off.

Connect to your hub by typing 192.168.0.1 into the address bar of your web browser, don't log in, but click on Check router status, and post the contents of the tabs marked Upstream, Downstream, and Configuration.  The Upstream and Downstream data will help us identify some obvious line faults, the Configuration tab will tell us whether they've bungled adjusting the upload cap.  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
eadlesdr
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
859 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Upload Sleep

Hey, see below! What do you reckon?

  Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13150000007.140256 qam23
21390000001040256 qam1
31470000009.840256 qam2
41550000009.540256 qam3
51630000009.440256 qam4
61710000009.440256 qam5
71790000009.140256 qam6
8187000000940256 qam7
91950000008.540256 qam8
10203000000838256 qam9
112110000007.640256 qam10
122190000007.640256 qam11
132270000007.440256 qam12
142350000007.140256 qam13
15243000000740256 qam14
162510000006.940256 qam15
172590000006.840256 qam16
182670000006.940256 qam17
192750000006.940256 qam18
202830000006.940256 qam19
212910000006.840256 qam20
22299000000740256 qam21
23307000000740256 qam22
243230000007.340256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.914828484
2Locked40.38705816
3Locked40.39236075
4Locked40.323246267
5Locked40.310216730
6Locked40.311626524
7Locked40.312295747
8Locked40.312416404
9Locked40.313025862
10Locked38.913665441
11Locked40.313314984
12Locked40.3126411853
13Locked40.3125311595
14Locked40.3118911524
15Locked40.3129411170
16Locked40.3121211284
17Locked40.3122411379
18Locked40.3127111397
19Locked40.312944065
20Locked40.3124912056
21Locked40.311234669
22Locked40.313758119
23Locked40.312848858
24Locked40.914248967

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1393999743.925512016 qam10
2537000264.125512016 qam13
3258020293.875512016 qam12
4325999933.875512016 qam11

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA000

0

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
3254k;fg87dsfd;kfoA,.iyewrkldJ



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID6709
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID6680
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jem101
  • 1.62K
  • 229
  • 757
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
845 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Upload Sleep

Your account is properly provisioned for 20 Mb/s upstream OK but you have a power issue with a couple of the downstream channels and all of your upstream channels are running at 16 qam whereas I would be expecting 64 (this isn't an absolute thing though, it is possible that your area can't support 64).

I expect you have a cable fault or bad joint somewhere which is letting in a degree of noise or interference, it's telling that the downstream channels which are most effected are the lower frequency ones along with the upstream which all run at a lower frequency anyway.

Almost certainly you need an engineer visit, either call back and insist on one or wait for a member of the forum team to find this thread and offer to contact you directly.

John 

0 Kudos
Reply
eadlesdr
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
815 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Upload Sleep

What really shocked my is the absolutely disgraceful customer service team. Round and around I went with them contradicting themselves endlesslesy.

 

Only to be put into the gadget rescue team and cut off after the first sentence.

 

Thanks for the analysis John. Is there any way to get someone from Virgin media on this post at all or is it pot luck?

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.13K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.6K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
803 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Upload Sleep

"Is there any way to get someone from Virgin media on this post at all or is it pot luck?"

The VM staff do patrol the forums, and do their best to be helpful, but other than for moderation there's not a continuous VM staff presence.  They mostly allow the customers to try and resolve or identify causes of problems, and usually get round to most unresolved posts, but it isn't always quick, and depends on how busy they are with their day job.  As far as we can tell, the VM "chat" service is provided by the same crap offshore call centre that provides first line tech "support", and only provides chat responses when there's spare capacity in the form of more staff than incoming calls.  I suspect that the VM forums are a similar approach, but provided by UK staff, so spare capacity from people whose main day job is either managing VM's social media, inbound telesales, or retentions (any VM staff care to respond and explain?).

In short, sit tight and wait for them to respond.  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
David_Pn
  • 1.06K
  • 38
  • 55
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
738 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Bad Upload Sleep

Hello eadlesdr

 

Thank you for posting on our community forum pages.

 

We are sorry to hear that you have experienced issues with your services and apologise for any difficulties encountered when trying to resolve.

 

We'd like to do all we can to help on here.

 

We can see that an engineer visit has been advised. If you'd like us to arrange one on here for you please let us know.

 

Many thanks. 

David_Pn
Forum Team

Need help changing SIM card? Find out more about activating your 4G ready SIM. 4G SIM Swap Help


0 Kudos
Reply
eadlesdr
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
702 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Upload Sleep

Hi David,

Thanks for shouting up, I really appreciate it.

Can confirm, am still getting uploads of between 6 and 8 Mb/s.

If you could please arrange for an engineer to attend to see what could be done, it would mean a lot.

0 Kudos
Reply
Jodi_S
  • 1.78K
  • 105
  • 182
Forum Team
Forum Team
678 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Bad Upload Sleep

Hi eadlesdr

 

Thanks for coming back to us, of course we can arrange a technicians visit. To do this I will pop you over a private message click o the purple envelope to accept the chat.

 

Thanks Jodi.

0 Kudos
Reply
eadlesdr
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
621 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Upload Sleep

This has now been resolved. An engineer attended and fitted an attenuator to the back of the modem as the signal was out of spec - too high apparently...

 

20Mb/s upload now working as expected!

Many thanks to the Virgin Media forum team that cruise the forums.

0 Kudos
Reply