Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
337 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Bad Broadband

Hi, 

I've got consistently inconsistent broadband at the moment and pretty sure I'm being ripped off.

We've got a 200mb package but speed is usually between 3mb and 90mb increasing and reducing every 30 seconds. Every time I do a speed test the answer is completely different. 

If one device connects all others will have the speed drastically reduced, everything is constantly lagging, basic websites take minutes to load up. It's all a bit embarrassing! 

We've had engineers round to try and sort the issue but it's never been resolved. I've reset the hub, gone through the tests etc but as far as Virgin is concerned everything is just fine.

All major items are connected via provided ethernet cables, the router has been moved by engineers into the main living area with nothing blocking it, so there is nothing obvious to report. 

Anyone got any suggestions?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.61K
  • 280
  • 497
Superfast
334 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Broadband


@SonnyT wrote:

Hi, 

I've got consistently inconsistent broadband at the moment and pretty sure I'm being ripped off.

We've got a 200mb package but speed is usually between 3mb and 90mb increasing and reducing every 30 seconds. Every time I do a speed test the answer is completely different. 

If one device connects all others will have the speed drastically reduced, everything is constantly lagging, basic websites take minutes to load up. It's all a bit embarrassing! 

We've had engineers round to try and sort the issue but it's never been resolved. I've reset the hub, gone through the tests etc but as far as Virgin is concerned everything is just fine.

All major items are connected via provided ethernet cables, the router has been moved by engineers into the main living area with nothing blocking it, so there is nothing obvious to report. 

Anyone got any suggestions?

Thanks


Could you access your router using http://192.168.0.1/ or http://192.168.100.1 for modem mode . You shouldn't need log in, select the 'Check Router Status' option and paste your 'Downstream', 'Upstream', and 'Network Log' tabs? Please copy/paste this data as text, split between multiple posts (Sometimes you have to click 'Post' twice due to an error message).

Could you please create a BQM (Broadband Quality Monitor) here, and post the live link?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
297 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Broadband

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13260001240.8512064 qam4
23940001240.8512064 qam3
34619997642.3512064 qam2
45369995442.3512064 qam1


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
294 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Broadband

18/11/2020 16:44:51Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2020 16:22:37noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2020 13:27:43noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2020 13:27:43ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/11/2020 11:20:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
291 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Broadband

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1 314750000 4.4 38 256 qam 23

2 138750000 5.6 38 256 qam 1

3 146750000 5.8 38 256 qam 2

4 154750000 5.6 38 256 qam 3

5 162750000 5.5 38 256 qam 4

6 170750000 5.5 38 256 qam 5

7 178750000 5.6 38 256 qam 6

8 186750000 5.6 38 256 qam 7

9 194750000 5.5 38 256 qam 8

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
280 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Broadband

BQM

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.61K
  • 280
  • 497
Superfast
277 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Broadband

 


@SonnyT wrote:

BQM


Your BQM is terrible, even though it's not been running for that long I can see masive spikes.

Have you checked if there is an issue in your area?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
271 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Broadband

This has been ongoing for since we signed up 4 months ago. Virgin have said that there is nothing wrong with it and no reported issues. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.61K
  • 280
  • 497
Superfast
269 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Broadband


@SonnyT wrote:

This has been ongoing for since we signed up 4 months ago. Virgin have said that there is nothing wrong with it and no reported issues. 


Well there is clearly an issue!

Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
262 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bad Broadband

🤣 Now I just need it resolved. I'm a bit sick of engineers fobbing me off and telling me it's not an issue. 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply