Menu
Reply
JohnBragg
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
814 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Average speed less than 40mbps despite upgrade from 100-200 package

Hi all,

Hope someone can help (Virgin!?)

My broadband speed very rarely gets anywhere near the advertised speeds, and usually averages around 40Mbps (instead of min 103 and up to 200).

It does very occassionally reach full speed but this isn't at a consistent time of day, or for any length of time. On the flip side it can also drop to less than 0.5Mbps at random times too.

So that suggests it isn't to do with usage (either mine or in the local area).

This is also via both Cat6 (direct or through Virgin Booster/Powerline) and WiFi, in case anyone asks.

I recently upgraded from 100-200 on the promise that would solve it... and that made no difference.

Last straw was another upsell call today promising that upgrading to 350 would solve it... which I politely declined.

TV signal is fine, and Broadband is generally stable (i.e. there's usually something!)... but speed is just below the levels I'm paying for.

The engineers added a powered coax booster box of some kind at Hub3 install, which I'm wondering if isn't up to the job (note that coax connections all seem fine)... or if it's something else. Either way I'm fed up paying for something I'm not getting... so it needs fixing.

I've put some bits below... hopefully enough to flag up something to someone (else I can Copy/Paste full lists if more useful)?

Would appreciate any help/suggestions. Thanks.

speedtest.png

Downstream.pngUpstream.pngNetworkLog.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
802 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Average speed less than 40mbps despite upgrade from 100-200 package

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may not be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned 

………………………………………………………………………..

Can you test using a direct connection using a Cat 5E/6 cable between the Hub and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other items connected.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
JohnBragg
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
798 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Average speed less than 40mbps despite upgrade from 100-200 package

Thanks MikeRobbo but nothing is showing up in Service Status, and the issue has been going on for months (years even, I've been that lazy getting it sorted).

I've also previously tested directly with Cat6 as mentioned, and no real difference.

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 3.54K
  • 226
  • 353
Forum Team
Forum Team
730 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Average speed less than 40mbps despite upgrade from 100-200 package

Good Morning @JohnBragg

 

Thank you for the post. 

 

I would like to take a further look into this for you, I am going to drop you a quick PM so that I can get some account details. 

 

Kind Regards 

Zak_M 

0 Kudos
Reply
JohnBragg
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
568 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Average speed less than 40mbps despite upgrade from 100-200 package

Just to say I've not chased this owing to the whole COVID situation, but I'm now fed up paying for something I'm not getting.

If I reboot the hub I get a short period at the 200mb speed I pay for, so you can obviously deliver that speed to my house.

However, within a few hours of a reboot the speed drops and seems to cap from that point on at a fairly consistent 50mb now.

My feeling therefore is the system/hub is capping me at 50mb, which is obviously not the level I've been paying Virgin for. 

I love the rest of the service, and it is generally very reliable. It's just slower than I pay for.

Fluctuation is fine, but the average should be what I pay for.

Please fix things so you deliver the right speed (my preference), or if you can't fulfill that, then please change my bill so you only charge me for the 50mb you deliver.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
560 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Average speed less than 40mbps despite upgrade from 100-200 package

Would you mind posting a fresh set of stats, including the table at the bottom of the 'Downstream' tab, so we can understand if there is a line issue?

0 Kudos
Reply
JohnBragg
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
555 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Average speed less than 40mbps despite upgrade from 100-200 package

Here are some...

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
659000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1659000000-2.937256 qam32
24750000000.538256 qam9
34830000000.438256 qam10
4491000000038256 qam11
5499000000-0.238256 qam12
6507000000-0.238256 qam13
7515000000-0.238256 qam14
8523000000-0.538256 qam15
9531000000-0.438256 qam16

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000004.2512064 qam4
2462000004.1512064 qam3
3537000004.15512064 qam2
4603000004.25512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0

 

In error log quite a few...

Error: DHCP RENEW sent - No response...

Critical: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out...

Any use/help?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
JohnBragg
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
551 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Average speed less than 40mbps despite upgrade from 100-200 package

Missed (and had fun trying to copy)...

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.61443710
2Locked38.91471213
3Locked38.9153170
4Locked38.9215550
5Locked38.9195290
6Locked38.6272320
7Locked38.9259730
8Locked38.9339040
9Locked38.927420

0

 

10Locked38.6379780
11Locked38.6502100
12Locked38.9509600
13Locked38.9359420
14Locked38.6457370
15Locked38.6568600
16Locked38.9507200
17Locked38.9605480
     
     
     
18Locked38.9693370
19Locked38.6878560
20Locked38.6947770
21Locked38.61002890
22Locked37.61220250
23Locked38.61273300
24Locked38.61392970
0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
546 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Average speed less than 40mbps despite upgrade from 100-200 package

Having pretty much zero (13) 'Post RS Errors' means your HUB is doing its job correcting any issues with the signal coming into your home.

However, the fact there are 1000's of 'Pre RS Errors' means you have a noisy line, which could be the cause of your slow connection.

This will need checking by one of VM staff members on here.

When was the last time the HUB was rebooted?

JohnBragg
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
534 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Average speed less than 40mbps despite upgrade from 100-200 package

Thanks for insights.

Last rebooted a few weeks ago if memory serves.

As I say, when rebooted it goes up to 200mb for a few hours (if that), then just drops back to 50mb. Every time.

Shouldn't need to keep rebooting it of course.

The original engineer added a powered booster as the cable signal was 'low', but was confident it was fine when completed.

All TV etc is fine, and we rarely lose broadband totally (some brief periods)... just doesn't stay ar the speed being paid for 😞

0 Kudos
Reply