Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
651 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Area 30 M350 slow

Not convinced you can deliver on the speed you've sold me. Getting 90mbps down, never seen it higher than 100mbps.

Having to split the post because of character limit. 🙄

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
650 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 30 M350 slow

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14830000009.440256 qam30
21870000005.440256 qam7
31950000005.540256 qam8
42030000005.140256 qam9
52110000005.140256 qam10
62190000005.940256 qam11
7227000000640256 qam12
82350000006.340256 qam13
92430000006.340256 qam14
102510000006.640256 qam15
112590000006.540256 qam16
122670000006.940256 qam17
132750000007.140256 qam18
14283000000740256 qam19
152910000007.340256 qam20
16299000000740256 qam21
173070000006.940256 qam22
183150000007.440256 qam23
193230000007.440256 qam24
204430000008.640256 qam25
214510000008.540256 qam26
22459000000940256 qam27
234670000008.940256 qam28
24475000000940256 qam29



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.92699127833
2Locked40.3714518585
3Locked40.3734218042
4Locked40.3743618233
5Locked40.3761918492
6Locked40.3756715828
7Locked40.3743817624
8Locked40.31692530282
9Locked40.91936625826
10Locked40.31984621988
11Locked40.31951624164
12Locked40.91806426555
13Locked40.31730848328
14Locked40.91644334860
15Locked40.31429140400
16Locked40.31373942786
17Locked40.31303431369
18Locked40.91216647260
19Locked40.91213346465
20Locked40.91044042471
21Locked40.31274638625
22Locked40.92099828242
23Locked40.92145528809
24Locked40.92338729422
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
648 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 30 M350 slow

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1393999174.725512064 qam6
2257998314.65512064 qam8
3461999814.75512064 qam5
4325999144.7512064 qam7



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
647 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 30 M350 slow

Network Log

Time Priority Description

25/09/2019 18:13:47noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
25/09/2019 18:16:4noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
25/09/2019 19:00:17Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/09/2019 01:59:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/09/2019 09:32:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/09/2019 09:32:16criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/09/2019 09:32:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/09/2019 09:32:17criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/09/2019 09:32:17Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/09/2019 13:52:45criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/09/2019 13:52:45Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/09/2019 13:53:4criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/09/2019 15:54:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/09/2019 22:26:12criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2019 14:06:51ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/10/2019 08:14:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/10/2019 13:33:51ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/10/2019 21:22:55ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2019 16:30:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/10/2019 22:19:7ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.28K
  • 1.14K
  • 1.8K
Alessandro Volta
643 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 30 M350 slow

90mbps down is suspicious.
Is that over wifi or ethernet cable connection?
If ethernet - does your device have a gigabit NIC card or is it limited by a 10/100 one?
What is the upload speed?

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
641 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 30 M350 slow

Optimal conditions - short run of Cat6 to the router, off-peak time, and nobody else on my network. My device has Gigabit on-mobo.

Upload speed test just timed out, I'll give it another shot.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
637 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 30 M350 slow

speedtest.net consistently refuses to give me an answer on upload speed.

fast.com shows 36mbps upload, consistent with the package I'm paying for. Which is even weirder!

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.28K
  • 1.14K
  • 1.8K
Alessandro Volta
633 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Area 30 M350 slow

It isn't a Dell by any chance is it ? If it is disable Smartbytes.
Then try this...
Make sure your device's gigabit NIC has the up to date drivers. Use a new Cat6 ethernet cable (just in case !) to connect it directly to the Hub - which you have put into modem mode (to ensure only your device is connected). Check speeds like that first.
If they are still low - then, boot up your device into "safe mode with networking" (to disable any software on it that could be limiting speeds). Run the tests at speedtest.net (try on x2 VM servers) on 2 different browsers one of which is a fresh download of one you haven’t previously used (e.g. Firefox, Opera, Safari etc) - there are several reports on here of certain browsers causing speed issues.
Try that and report back what you get.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
615 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 30 M350 slow

Software that could be limiting speeds indeed...I highly doubt that on a Linux machine. But I booted into Win10 safe mode w/ networking anywho, and also replaced the cable. (Because sod fair testing am I right...)

Now I feel dumb. It was none of those things. My Ethernet surge protector (Yup, I'm that paranoid, don't trust my mobo's onboard protection) isn't gigabit capable. *headdesk*

Cheers for bearing with me jbrennand.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.28K
  • 1.14K
  • 1.8K
Alessandro Volta
609 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 30 M350 slow


@aronajones wrote:

Software that could be limiting speeds indeed...I highly doubt that on a Linux machine.

Cheers for bearing with me jbrennand.


No probs. Glad you are sorted.
Out of interest, as I dont use, Linux or Windoze - I am Mac only.  Is there no QOS package that could run on it?   Also, do you not use antivirus, malware software, etc on Linux? There are reports on here showing that they can limits speeds. Also, there are quite a few reports where browsers have limited speeds - both on Mac & Windoze - dont know if that could happen on Linux?
Cheers John

Antivirus

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/362mbps-package-doesn-t-get-past-high-100-s-limited/td-p/...

Browsers speed problem

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Slow-broadband/td-p/3960227

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Etherent-speed-slow/m-p/3912102#M202773

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Speed-Check-Only-get-maximum-80-instead-of-100/td-p/39522...


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.