Menu
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
MrTIMarshall
Tuning in
587 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Appauling Speed & Even More Appauling Chat Response!

After entering the chat at 11:33, I was not met with a response until 15:15, over three hours waiting. At 16:30 the initial problems had been addressed and I was then handed over to the technical team. I am extremely disatisified by their appauling response and the chat log from when I was handed over to them can be seen below;

Discussion via Virgin Media chat:

Spoiler
16:30, May 18
Parvez: Thanks, one moment while I bring in our technical team in to the conversation to check 
16:43, May 18
Farheen: Hi there! May I know your full name please?
16:44, May 18
You: Hello, yes, it is Timothy Ian Marshal.
16:44, May 18
You: Marshall*
16:46, May 18
Farheen: Am I chatting with the registered account holder?
16:46, May 18
You: Yes
16:46, May 18
Farheen: Are you facing the issue on wired or wireless connection?
16:46, May 18
You: Wireless
16:47, May 18
Farheen: So you are facing slow speed issue?
16:48, May 18
You: Before we moved I recorded the speed my PC was receiving: https://www.speedtest.net/result/8211076242
16:48, May 18
16:50, May 18
Farheen: We have noticed some basic WiFi settings are not quite right with the Hub. For us to help optimise the in home network we need to make some changes.
16:50, May 18
Farheen: Are you happy to proceed with any changes?
16:51, May 18
You: Yes, however I thought this was now done automatic?
16:54, May 18
Farheen: To test the connection it would be beneficial for to be in the same room as the Hub. This will also identify any potential issues with range / blackspots in your house.
16:55, May 18
You: Mobile device this is possible, however many other devices including our washing machine and tumble tryer are also WiFi enabled
16:57, May 18
Farheen: I request you to disconnect all the devices except the one on which you are testing the speed on.
17:08, May 18
You: This cannot be done at present
17:10, May 18
You: Many have been disconnected however
17:11, May 18
Farheen: In this case, I request you to contact us when you can disconnect all the devices.
17:11, May 18
You: Please explain why this is the case?
17:12, May 18
Farheen: So that we can check the actual cause of the issue, so that we can resolve it. I hope you understand.
17:13, May 18
You: Multiple devices including the one I am contacting yourself on have had problems. I do not understand how turning these devices off will aid you in any way
17:15, May 18
You: All devices apart from the one I am speaking to you off should now be disconnected
17:17, May 18
Farheen: We need to test the speed on wired connection on your laptop or computer using speedtest.net
17:18, May 18
Farheen: Once you are able make the changes accordingly. You can contact us back.
17:18, May 18
Farheen: So that the system can detect the issue.
17:18, May 18
You: Why did you not previously state this?! It is a desktop computer, not a laptop. This CANNOT be done!
17:20, May 18
Farheen: You can test the speed on your computer.
17:21, May 18
Farheen: Before that you will need to disconnect all the wifif connected devices.
17:21, May 18
You: Only wirelessly. What have you done now in regards to router settings? I just tested an all time low: https://www.speedtest.net/result/8267748776
17:21, May 18
You: All but this computer are disconnected as per what you have said.
17:22, May 18
Farheen: Please could you elaborate?
17:23, May 18
You: Elaborate on what exactly? What do you not understand?
17:25, May 18
Farheen: I mean you will need to contact us back when you are able to disconnect all the device.
17:25, May 18
Farheen: I hope you understand!
17:25, May 18
You: Yes, I understand, however you are not. You have been told twice that this HAS BEEN DONE.
17:26, May 18
Farheen: I request you to test the speed on wired connection on your laptop or computer using speedtest.net
17:26, May 18
You: You said this before and I told you I cannot do a wired test.
17:27, May 18
You: Why are you repeating yourself to me going round in circles???
17:27, May 18
Farheen: In this case, I request you to contact us back when you can arranged for a wired device.
17:28, May 18
You: Would you like to pay for 15ft of ethernet cable do do this? This surely cannot be your only response. You tell me that you can adjust our router settings and since saying that the computer is getting an all time low speed of >10MB!
17:29, May 18
Farheen: You can borrow for some time just for the test.
17:29, May 18
You: Borrow from who? You are going to lend to me?
17:32, May 18
Farheen: We are closed for the day, I will put your conversation back to queue and my next advisor will help you, Monday morning 8am.

We have recently moved property, from one house to another within the same area. Before vacating the previous property I was proud of our internet speeds which I clocked at 221.63/Mbps (view), however since moving, using all the same equipment, I recorded 30.65/Mbps (view) whilst in discussion on the Virgin Media chat and then later I was told that my router settings can be optmized by the agent so I did yet another test wo show an all-time low of 7.53/Mbps (view).

Recent Tests On Multiple Devices;

Windows 10 Desktop Computer30.10/MbpsView Result
Samsung Galaxy s9*18.98/MbpsView Result
Xiaomi Mi 8 Pro*50.52/MbpsView Result

*Results appear to be widely ranging on mobile devices

Our home is very dependant on WiFi connections around the house from our Samsung Washer & Dryer to our entertainment devices. All devices have been having difficulties across the entire property whereas in our previous property which was larger, these devices never appeared to have any difficulties.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.15K
  • 138
  • 540
cje85
Problem sorter
577 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Appauling Speed & Even More Appauling Chat Response!

VM's offshore support is very poor. Hopefully the UK based forum team will be able to help but it can take a few days for a response,

In the meantime could you post your connection stats? That will help to rule in (or out) any issues with the connection such as power levels or noise on the line. 

Go to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 if using Modem Mode). Don't log in, just click Check Router Status, as highlighted below. The copy/paste the Upstream, Downstream and Network Log pages. If you get a forum error when trying to post these details, just click post again and it should work the second time.

 

check.pnglevels.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 224
  • 32
  • 37
Shweby
Superfast
572 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Appauling Speed & Even More Appauling Chat Response!

That conversation is rather comical, in a bad way. While they are correct in asking you to do a wired speed test, you should be getting decent wifi speeds like you were in your previous property. Need to see your downstream and upstream stats from your router to see if there are any obvious signal issues. Log into the router via 192.168.0.1 and navigate to network status and post the results.

Edit: cje85 beat me to it.

______________________________________
I work for Virgin Media, but all opinions are my own.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.24K
  • 748
  • 3.26K
Superuser
Superuser
558 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Appauling Speed & Even More Appauling Chat Response!

Just to play devils advocate...

I understand you feel aggrieved about your conversation, but TBF the online support are doing their best.

To determine what speed is arriving at the HUB- VM's only contract obligation, you need to test LAN side with ONE device, with a known Gigabit NIC, wired with a CAT5E or better cable (I recommend CAT6 for HUB3)

As for the cost of a 15M Ethernet cable....

A decent quality one costs around 5 quid...

No ISP guarantees WiFi speeds, and the speeds you got at the previous property are immaterial as the environment is different.

 

 

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 224
  • 32
  • 37
Shweby
Superfast
531 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Appauling Speed & Even More Appauling Chat Response!


@Kippies wrote:

To determine what speed is arriving at the HUB- VM's only contract obligation, you need to test LAN side with ONE device, with a known Gigabit NIC, wired with a CAT5E or better cable (I recommend CAT6 for HUB3)

 


Absolutly correct. However, with a properly set up hub (correct signals, good upstream snr, no noise or fec errors on the network etc) it is possible to get the full speed ovet wifi, assuming your phone can handle it.Screenshot_20190518_203339.jpg

 

______________________________________
I work for Virgin Media, but all opinions are my own.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.24K
  • 748
  • 3.26K
Superuser
Superuser
521 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Appauling Speed & Even More Appauling Chat Response!

Yes it is, as you say assuming your phone can handle it and its the only device connected to the HUB

From OP's post that is not the case.

But WiFi is still not useful as a diagnostic- which is what OP is being asked for. A wired connection as a diagnostic

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 224
  • 32
  • 37
Shweby
Superfast
515 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Appauling Speed & Even More Appauling Chat Response!

Again, completely agree. We just need to see the OP's stats to comment further.

______________________________________
I work for Virgin Media, but all opinions are my own.
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
MrTIMarshall
Tuning in
386 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Appauling Speed & Even More Appauling Chat Response!

Thank you for all of your responses and I hope that I have included all information requested to further aid my situation.

I would also like to not that all of the speed tests I have linked within my posts have been done over a WiFi connection for both properties.

Downstream

Spoiler

Downstream bonded channels

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
12990000003.438256 qam21
21870000006.340256 qam7
31950000005.838256 qam8
42030000005.538256 qam9
52110000005.138256 qam10
62190000004.938256 qam11
72270000004.938256 qam12
82350000004.537256 qam13
92430000004.338256 qam14
102510000004.338256 qam15
11259000000438256 qam16
12267000000438256 qam17
132750000003.938256 qam18
142830000003.438256 qam19
15291000000338256 qam20
163070000003.738256 qam22
173150000004.438256 qam23
183230000004.437256 qam24
193790000004.938256 qam25
20387000000538256 qam26
213950000004.838256 qam27
22403000000538256 qam28
23411000000538256 qam29
244190000004.638256 qam30

Upstream

Spoiler
Upstream bonded channels
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
1394000004.575512064 qam10
2258000214.575512064 qam12
3326000094.425512064 qam11
4462000534.575512064 qam9


Upstream bonded channels
ChannelChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

Network Log

Spoiler
Network Log
TimePriorityDescription
30/04/2019 19:21:37Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2019 23:24:0ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2019 06:59:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2019 09:19:28ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2019 12:38:1ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2019 12:38:1noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2019 19:11:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/05/2019 09:34:43ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/05/2019 01:46:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/05/2019 01:50:1ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/05/2019 04:09:24ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/05/2019 04:09:24noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/05/2019 00:34:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/05/2019 21:48:16ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/05/2019 22:28:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/05/2019 13:18:7ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/05/2019 04:48:3ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/05/2019 04:48:3noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/05/2019 03:39:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2019 06:36:29ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
MrTIMarshall
Tuning in
459 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Appauling Speed & Even More Appauling Chat Response!

I have submitted a lengthy reply with all details, was redirected to see my post on the thread, however coming back to the page I can no longer see this message. Depending on what a person posts, is there a verify to post system by a mod/admin in place?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.24K
  • 748
  • 3.26K
Superuser
Superuser
452 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Appauling Speed & Even More Appauling Chat Response!

As an SU I can see most stuff, but I dont see a post from you floating round the usual places.

It MAY have fallen into a moderators queue, in which case it will appear shortly, but that seems unlikely.