Menu
Reply
gregorcaldock
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
744 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Anyone else getting sub 1Mbps download speeds?

I've had 2 engineer visits and I'm on my third modem and now my download speeds are around 0.3 Mbps. I think my only option now is to look into cancelling my contract and getting a competent supplier. This service is a disgrace.

gary_dexter
  • 30.56K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.06K
Alessandro Volta
732 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Anyone else getting sub 1Mbps download speeds?

Where are you doing your tests and via what device?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
gregorcaldock
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
729 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Anyone else getting sub 1Mbps download speeds?

I've used Ookla speed test on a Mac Book Pro and a Samsung Galaxy via wifi and via wifi connected to a Tenda mesh system connected by ethernet to the modem. I've tried the modem in both wifi and modem mode and I've rebooted the modem twice and factory reset it twice

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16.54K
  • 1.31K
  • 3.91K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
719 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Anyone else getting sub 1Mbps download speeds?

start with some info

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

and do a wired test direct to the hub in router mode and modem mode

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
gregorcaldock
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
708 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Anyone else getting sub 1Mbps download speeds?

Here's the downstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1138750000-2.730256 qam1
2146750000-1.533256 qam2
3154750000-2.729256 qam3
4162750000-5.728256 qam4
5170750000-4.525256 qam5
6186750000-426256 qam7
7194750000-6.229256 qam8
8202750000-5.730256 qam9
9210750000-4.532256 qam10
10234750000-829256 qam13
11242750000-8.730256 qam14
12250750000-9.730256 qam15
13258750000-12.530256 qam16
14266750000-7.932256 qam17
15274750000-8.929256 qam18
16282750000-8.231256 qam19
17290750000-10.432256 qam20
18298750000-6.434256 qam21
19306750000-536256 qam22
20314750000-4.236256 qam23
21322750000-534256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked30.819181216326985546
2Locked332131092333557972
3Locked29.42093463428549597
4Locked28.62140834712573846
5Locked25.81834128216807276
6Locked26.815284666465210911
7Locked29.61251999041343
8Locked30.8350772861414
9Locked32.217226847916
10Locked291853417333090
11Locked30635838932076
12Locked30829747641460
13Locked30.7558448871764
14Locked32.25548984954
15Locked29.91294413421065
16Locked31.913735431607
17Locked32.63600934750
18Locked34.96459405
19Locked36.68924348
20Locked36.15180342
21Locked34.4409540331
0 Kudos
Reply
gregorcaldock
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
707 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Anyone else getting sub 1Mbps download speeds?

And the upstream:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000004.725512064 qam6
2462000005.1512064 qam8
3394001704.575512064 qam9
4537000004.8512064 qam7



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
gregorcaldock
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
705 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Anyone else getting sub 1Mbps download speeds?

I can't do a wired test as I no longer have a device with an ethernet port. However the Tenda mesh system is connected via ethernet and that's getting the same results.

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16.54K
  • 1.31K
  • 3.91K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
704 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Anyone else getting sub 1Mbps download speeds?

dear god you have had 2 techs and they have left it like that - the pre and pot rs errors are off the scale as well as the snr being out of spec

just to be sure check all coax connections are tight - do a reboot to zero them and post them again if and when they rise

if they do you need someone to investigate them so post back some figures a few hours after a reboot assuming you dont find a coax connector loose

you also have one upstream channel out of spec - not a disaster [i think] but it needs sorting

____________________

Tony
gregorcaldock
  • 15
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
670 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Anyone else getting sub 1Mbps download speeds?

Thanks for getting back to me, the cables are nice and tight, I've rebooted and factory reset the modem but there's been no improvement. The weird thing is I'll get great download speeds for a day or so and then they plummet, but this is the worst I've seen, it's absolutely shocking that I'm paying good money for the worst service and there doesn't seem to be anyone at Virgin capable of resolving this.

0 Kudos
Reply
lukerob123
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
470 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Anyone else getting sub 1Mbps download speeds?

Sorry I don’t have any advice for you but just want to plug in to the thread incase someone from Virgin Media actually bothers to check your post. 

I am having exactly the same issues averaging 112kbps. The old speed test used to send signal waves and boost instantly but the new one just tells you everything in your area is fine when it clearly isn’t. I agree since moving to the 100mb it’s been substantially worse. I wonder if they had an initiative to sell this package regardless if it’s faults. 

0 Kudos
Reply