Menu
Reply
iiNSaNe93
  • 41
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
502 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Advice on stats etc.

So VM has now supposedly fixed the issue in my area, however, the Hub is now displaying the following stats.

Please could I get some advice on the Power & Modulation numbers so I can ensure they stay in the correct range?

Downstream/Upstream to follow...

My Broadband Ping - Virgin M350
0 Kudos
Reply
iiNSaNe93
  • 41
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
501 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Advice on stats etc.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

15302500007.140256 qam16
25222500006.940256 qam15
3538250000740256 qam17
45462500006.940256 qam18
55542500006.340256 qam19
65622500006.540256 qam20
7570250000740256 qam21
8578250000740256 qam22
95862500006.840256 qam23
105942500006.540256 qam24
116582500006.640256 qam25
126662500006.940256 qam26
136742500007.140256 qam27
146822500007.540256 qam28
15690250000840256 qam29
16698250000840256 qam30
177062500007.840256 qam31
187142500007.540256 qam32
19722250000840256 qam33
207302500008.340256 qam34
217382500008.640256 qam35
227462500008.540256 qam36
237542500008.540256 qam37
24762250000840256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.91276607
2Locked40.31476743
3Locked40.91196687
4Locked40.31156661
5Locked40.33535342
6Locked40.33525343
7Locked40.94265281
8Locked40.94815305
9Locked40.95055196
10Locked40.35404596
11Locked40.35414179
12Locked40.35764228
13Locked40.35404273
14Locked40.33604393
15Locked40.36314247
16Locked40.35784227
17Locked40.94854297
18Locked40.96294237
19Locked40.35083813
20Locked40.36073914
21Locked40.94624115
22Locked40.33454351
23Locked40.34173577
24Locked40.915109373
My Broadband Ping - Virgin M350
0 Kudos
Reply
iiNSaNe93
  • 41
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
500 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Advice on stats etc.

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14619997142.7512016 qam1
23939991243.5512016 qam2
32580000046.8512016 qam4
43259989345.2512016 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0020
3ATDMA001310
4ATDMA0020
My Broadband Ping - Virgin M350
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
490 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Advice on stats etc.


@iiNSaNe93 wrote:

So VM has now supposedly fixed the issue in my area, however, the Hub is now displaying the following stats.

Please could I get some advice on the Power & Modulation numbers so I can ensure they stay in the correct range?

Downstream/Upstream to follow...


Don't worry about the hub data unless you start seeing problems.

You cannot do anything to ensure that they stay within range, any adjustments must be done by a VM engineer.

There is something you can do is set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, set  up and leave it running.

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
iiNSaNe93
  • 41
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
448 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Advice on stats etc.

<a title="Broadband Ping" href="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/598ce2469542b11ac09cf29ca3f794ff2d6b5152-06-01-2021"><img alt="My Broadband Ping - Virgin M350 " src="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/598ce2469542b11ac09cf29ca3f794ff2d6b5152-06-01-2021.png" /></a>


That's my current BQM

My Broadband Ping - Virgin M350
0 Kudos
Reply
iiNSaNe93
  • 41
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
447 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Advice on stats etc.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/598ce2469542b11ac09cf29ca3f794ff2d6b5152-06-01-2021
My Broadband Ping - Virgin M350
0 Kudos
Reply
iiNSaNe93
  • 41
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
447 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Advice on stats etc.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/598ce2469542b11ac09cf29ca3f794ff2d6b5152-06-01-2021

Current BQM 

My Broadband Ping - Virgin M350
0 Kudos
Reply
iiNSaNe93
  • 41
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
447 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Advice on stats etc.

0 Kudos
Reply
iiNSaNe93
  • 41
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
442 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Advice on stats etc.

Sorry for spammed links above, it told me my replies were not posted and took them ages to show up 😂

My Broadband Ping - Virgin M350
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.33K
  • 2.69K
  • 4.88K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
436 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Advice on stats etc.

BQM doesnt look good to me - what issue was it that they supposedly fixed?

The RS errors are a concern - but they may be historical accumulation. Can you reset them to ) by switching the Hub off and unplugging for a few minutes.

When done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or two for the next day or two to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply