Menu
Reply
pwhatcher
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
409 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

600mb now averaging 60-100Mb

On the 600 Mb plan, and since June average speed has been dropping substantially and now is 60-100Mb, prior to that it was 280-320 Mb

Here's the channel stats...

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1330750000040256 qam25
22027500002.440256 qam9
32107500002.240256 qam10
4218750000240256 qam11
5226750000240256 qam12
62347500001.740256 qam13
72427500001.540256 qam14
82507500001.240256 qam15
9258750000140256 qam16
102667500000.940256 qam17
112747500000.740256 qam18
122827500000.540256 qam19
13290750000040256 qam20
14298750000-0.240256 qam21
15306750000-0.240256 qam22
16314750000040256 qam23
173227500000.240256 qam24
18338750000040256 qam26
19346750000040256 qam27
20354750000040256 qam28
21362750000040256 qam29
22370750000040256 qam30
23378750000-0.440256 qam31
24386750000-0.740256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.316506946699
2Locked40.3312844123734
3Locked40.3312522116188
4Locked40.9298569111069
5Locked40.3307260103263
6Locked40.9321175100224
7Locked40.933878894893
8Locked40.333278189208
9Locked40.932741884104
10Locked40.932463680518
11Locked40.930880875973
12Locked40.328503770822
13Locked40.927625466843
14Locked40.324623062960
15Locked40.921327459136
16Locked40.919496454773
17Locked40.917727851458
18Locked40.315128343033
19Locked40.914436239187
20Locked40.314295535303
21Locked40.313826034132
22Locked40.314688633306
23Locked40.315581333177
24Locked40.914749334585

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000043.5512064 qam3
23260000041.5512064 qam5
33940000041.5512064 qam4
45370000043.8512064 qam2


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00300
2ATDMA0098474
3ATDMA00840
4ATDMA00220

 

And a BQM

db16684b382ee10d5f3be0b98d95a2fa623a646d-15-06-2021

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
407 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 600mb now averaging 60-100Mb

Woah!! THose T3 timeouts!!!

Are those current?

When was the hub last rebooted?

If they are current then VM would likely need to book an engineer as there are massive problems!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
pwhatcher
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
406 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 600mb now averaging 60-100Mb

Last reboot was probably a few months ago - I'll do it now 

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
404 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 600mb now averaging 60-100Mb

Make sure you leave it powered off for about 5 minutes - then repost the stats and keep an eye on them - if they are rising then it needs VM to check it out - which they will when they see the post!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
pwhatcher
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
372 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 600mb now averaging 60-100Mb

Here's the updated stats

Downstream bonded channels
 
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1330750000-0.440256 qam25
2202750000240256 qam9
32107500001.740256 qam10
42187500001.740256 qam11
52267500001.740256 qam12
62347500001.540256 qam13
72427500001.240256 qam14
8250750000140256 qam15
92587500000.740256 qam16
102667500000.540256 qam17
112747500000.440256 qam18
12282750000040256 qam19
13290750000-0.440256 qam20
14298750000-0.740256 qam21
15306750000-0.540256 qam22
16314750000-0.440256 qam23
17322750000-0.240256 qam24
18338750000-0.440256 qam26
19346750000-0.440256 qam27
20354750000-0.440256 qam28
21362750000-0.440256 qam29
22370750000-0.540256 qam30
23378750000-0.940256 qam31
24386750000-140256 qam32


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.360
2Locked40.360
3Locked40.350
4Locked40.950
5Locked40.940
6Locked40.970
7Locked40.340
8Locked40.950
9Locked40.330
10Locked40.950
11Locked40.940
12Locked40.360
13Locked40.340
14Locked40.950
15Locked40.340
16Locked40.360
17Locked40.940
18Locked40.900
19Locked40.340
20Locked40.370
21Locked40.960
22Locked40.330
23Locked40.9120
24Locked40.900

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
14619998342.8512064 qam3
23259995942.8512064 qam5
33940000442.8512064 qam4
45370000042.8512064 qam2

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Still reporting a speed test ~120Mb in Modem mode, I've ordered some new Cat6a cables for the main run from the Hub to my Draytek router, not sure why it would degrade from one month to the next but I'll try that.

Have to run in modem mode as I have multiple machines, NAS, domain controller etc plus all the usual consumer devices

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
312 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 600mb now averaging 60-100Mb

Power and SNR look ok!

Is there a wider network issue?

The most useful and up to date info comes from the 0800 561 0061 number. Try that to see if there are any faults that the web service hasn't picked up!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 522
  • 20
  • 145
Rising star
299 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 600mb now averaging 60-100Mb

Hummmm you are not in the reading area by any chance?

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Gig1 (router mode)
0 Kudos
Reply
pwhatcher
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
295 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 600mb now averaging 60-100Mb

Nothing reported, also swapped out the link from the Hub3 to my Draytek router for a new Cat6a cable to no effect.

Speed tests seem to be getting worse, some today were down to <50Mb as well as does the BQM - the drop out at 16:00 was me swapping cables though

981ad6ddd30e8cde9cc6b0ad748e565b4017990a-16-06-2021

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 1.55K
  • 130
  • 294
Super solver
292 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 600mb now averaging 60-100Mb

Have you tried putting the Hub in router mode and running the test?

What speed do you get on https://speedtest.samknows.com/ with direct wired connection from PC/Laptop to Virgin Hub using a Cat 5e cable or better with a 1Gbps capable Ethernet network card?

  1. Make sure the cable is Cat 5e or better
  2. Make sure your PC/laptop has a 1Gbps or better network card
  3. Disconnect all other Ethernet cables from the Hub when running the test
***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
pwhatcher
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
251 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 600mb now averaging 60-100Mb

Ran the test against in router mode and it's getting a good throughput at 618/42 and also did some research and found that my Draytek 2860 WAN port only has a capacity of 300Mbs, so typically you get 150 Mbs download though some reported, and I was getting, ~290 Mbs download, which was good enough so I didn't research it further, blamed the Hub3 (sorry!)

So I think my current issue is basically the Draytek has changed it behaviour, though the config hasn't changed and the last reboot was ~1 year ago.

I've ordered a new Draytek 2865 which has a capacity of ~900Mbs on the WAN port to see if this solves it and I'll feedback once I have it.

0 Kudos
Reply