forumarchive,nothingtosee,
Menu
Reply
edward24
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
195 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

500MB package but getting speeds of 160 max

hi all.
so I've got the 500MB package for about 7 months now. i was getting just over 500mbps for the first couple of months.
now I will get on average 60-90mbps and up to 160mbps on a good day on a wired connection no matter what time of the day it is.
 this is what i get when i check router status


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12027500003.240256 qam9
22107500003.240256 qam10
3218750000340256 qam11
42267500002.740256 qam12
52347500002.740256 qam13
62427500002.540256 qam14
72507500002.440256 qam15
82587500002.540256 qam16
92667500002.540256 qam17
102747500002.240256 qam18
112827500002.240256 qam19
12290750000240256 qam20
132987500002.240256 qam21
14306750000240256 qam22
153147500001.740256 qam23
163227500001.940256 qam24
174027500001.540256 qam25
184107500001.740256 qam26
194187500001.740256 qam27
204267500001.540256 qam28
214347500001.440256 qam29
224427500001.440256 qam30
234507500001.540256 qam31
244587500001.540256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.9111305
2Locked40.9154111
3Locked40.991118
4Locked40.9172102
5Locked40.313293
6Locked40.911781
7Locked40.9177100
8Locked40.9131173
9Locked40.913077
10Locked40.917290
11Locked40.3122158
12Locked40.312175
13Locked40.987136
14Locked40.911567
15Locked40.38767
16Locked40.310571
17Locked40.323637
18Locked40.37540
19Locked40.914649
20Locked40.910947
21Locked40.38374
22Locked40.310442
23Locked40.311856
24Locked40.37850

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370014645.5512064 qam1
23940014045512064 qam3
34619999145512064 qam2
43260000044.8512064 qam4

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.43K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
174 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500MB package but getting speeds of 160 max

You are missing a table of T errors for the Up channels. Also post up the Network Logs.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
edward24
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
172 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500MB package but getting speeds of 160 max

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
202750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700146
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12027500003.240256 qam9
22107500003.240256 qam10
3218750000340256 qam11
42267500002.740256 qam12
52347500002.740256 qam13
62427500002.540256 qam14
72507500002.440256 qam15
82587500002.540256 qam16
92667500002.540256 qam17
102747500002.240256 qam18
112827500002.240256 qam19
12290750000240256 qam20
132987500002.240256 qam21
143067500001.940256 qam22
153147500001.740256 qam23
163227500001.940256 qam24
174027500001.540256 qam25
184107500001.740256 qam26
194187500001.740256 qam27
204267500001.540256 qam28
214347500001.440256 qam29
224427500001.440256 qam30
234507500001.540256 qam31
244587500001.540256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.9111305
2Locked40.3154111
3Locked40.992118
4Locked40.9173102
5Locked40.313293
6Locked40.911781
7Locked40.9178100
8Locked40.3131173
9Locked40.913177
10Locked40.917390
11Locked40.9122158
12Locked40.312275
13Locked40.987136
14Locked40.911567
15Locked40.98767
16Locked40.310571
17Locked40.923837
18Locked40.97740
19Locked40.314649
20Locked40.910947
21Locked40.38374
22Locked40.910642
23Locked40.311856
24Locked40.37850

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370014645.5512064 qam1
23940014045512064 qam3
34619999145512064 qam2
43260000044.8512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0020
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0020



0 Kudos
Reply
edward24
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
171 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500MB package but getting speeds of 160 max

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID518730
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID518729
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

22/02/2021 10:02:14criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/02/2021 10:02:14Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/02/2021 16:00:56ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/02/2021 15:30:51criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/02/2021 19:37:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/02/2021 04:00:56ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/02/2021 22:23:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/02/2021 02:38:14ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/02/2021 15:16:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/02/2021 10:30:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/02/2021 14:13:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 22:30:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 12:08:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/01/2021 10:30:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/01/2021 02:06:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/01/2021 03:57:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/01/2021 03:47:33noticeSW download Successful - Via NMS
15/01/2021 03:46:12noticeSW Download INIT - Via NMS
14/01/2021 23:08:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2021 16:12:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.43K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
167 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500MB package but getting speeds of 160 max

Nothing obviously (to me) amiss there.

Can you change the ethernet cable to a new one and see if thats gone faulty - see this recent thread

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/How-to-check-and-set-Hub-3-Ethernet-port-sp...

If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
edward24
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
163 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500MB package but getting speeds of 160 max

yes ive changed the cable a few times now and still nothing.
 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/deb41e8e51a1917704c1bb05f398a9ea09a21407
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.43K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
157 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500MB package but getting speeds of 160 max

BQM looks lovely - better than mine 🙂

Has the NIC card defaulted down to 100Mbps rather than 1GB - can you check in your device's settings?

You could try a Hub reset - it sometimes sorts these issues. Make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first ! Disconnect any ethernet cables from the Hub (leave the coax connected), and then with the Hub still "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly with paper clip/SIM tray tool or similar "thin thing" and hold it firmly for at least 60 seconds, release the pin, leave for 10’ to stabilise - dont manually switch it off at any time.


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
edward24
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
153 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500MB package but getting speeds of 160 max

ill give that a go.
 i use the hub in modem mode. it was doing the slow speeds on the last router so I bought a brand new high end one and still does the same.ill factory reset the hub and see what happens.

how do I check to see if the  NIC card defaulted down?

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.43K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
124 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500MB package but getting speeds of 160 max

I use Macs - so not sure on windoze/etc. But when I go into Settings>Internet it shows the method of connection and if on ethernet it shows the default speed there

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 15.4K
  • 659
  • 1.51K
Alessandro Volta
113 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 500MB package but getting speeds of 160 max

As your NIC connect to your router the link speed is meaningless power off the hub for 2mins and connect a PC/laptop to the hub and power on then check you link speed.
Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing Centre


---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply