Menu
Reply
woppy101
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
488 Views
Message 1 of 27
Flag for a moderator

4mb on 200mb service

Well less than a month into my virgin service and am already down to 4mb on a 200mb service, everything was great until this morning when everything went wrong 

here are my stats if anyone can pick through them 

 

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
387000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700021
Locked

 

channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13870000003.238256 qam28
22030000001.737256 qam9
32110000001.538256 qam10
42190000001.527256 qam11
52270000001.234256 qam12
62350000000.538256 qam13
7243000000038256 qam14
82510000000.738256 qam15
92590000001.238256 qam16
102670000001.738256 qam17
11275000000238256 qam18
122830000002.538256 qam19
13291000000338256 qam20
142990000003.238256 qam21
153070000003.438256 qam22
163150000003.738256 qam23
173230000004.138256 qam24
183630000003.538256 qam25
193710000003.438256 qam26
203790000003.238256 qam27
213950000003.538256 qam29
224030000003.740256 qam30
234110000003.938256 qam31
244190000003.940256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.950
2Locked37.639140
3Locked38.6320
4Locked26.729503026817295
5Locked34.47470
6Locked38.9430
7Locked38.9730
8Locked38.6430
9Locked38.9160
10Locked38.9390
11Locked38.9580
12Locked38.9310
13Locked38.9160
14Locked38.6130
15Locked38.9170
16Locked38.950
17Locked38.900
18Locked38.900
19Locked40.350
20Locked38.6120
21Locked38.950
22Locked40.360
23Locked38.900
24Locked40.350
0 Kudos
Reply
woppy101
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
487 Views
Message 2 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: 4mb on 200mb service

SFID 11970
Max Traffic Rate 230000061
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 12153
Max Traffic Rate 22000061
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0
Max Concatenated Burst 42600
Scheduling Type BestEffort

 

all speed tests are done on a wired connection 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
481 Views
Message 3 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: 4mb on 200mb service

What speeds do you get at >>  SamKnows << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E or better ethernet cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

Then immediately after …

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what is the reported 'connection speed’ for the ethernet cable connected device you used for the speed test ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 7.06K
  • 1.23K
  • 3.09K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
477 Views
Message 4 of 27
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 4mb on 200mb service

Don't worry about further speed tests, the fault is pretty obvious, it's a painfully low SNR on downstream channel 4, causing massive uncorrectable errors.  I'll flag that for the forum staff to advise, chances are you'll need a technician visit.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
woppy101
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
474 Views
Message 5 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: 4mb on 200mb service

Sam knows 34mb ds/ 22mb us and my device is connected at 1000Mbps 

 

I was working fine yesterday, then this morning bang, not really a good start after less than a month 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
464 Views
Message 6 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: 4mb on 200mb service

OK.

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Please post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here straight away.

Instructions for posting BQM Live Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
woppy101
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
459 Views
Message 7 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: 4mb on 200mb service

My telephone service is horrible as well, not good when you have someone vulnerable at home 


Already got the monitor running 

[url=https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/ff97b9b2a3a522c631d42b619c08aa97ab73e612-01-01-2021][img]https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/thumb/ff97b9b2a3a522c631d42b619c08aa97ab73e612-01-01-2021.png[/img][/url]

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
455 Views
Message 8 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: 4mb on 200mb service

At the top of the next hour ...

Try a reboot to see if the Hub can renegotiate a better connection using this method ...

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

While the Hub is powered off go around all the accessible co-ax connectors inside and out to ensure that they are finger tight.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then try your connection again.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
woppy101
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
439 Views
Message 9 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: 4mb on 200mb service

Well for some reason my speed came back, hopefully it stays 

0 Kudos
Reply
Beth_G
  • 3.46K
  • 215
  • 348
Forum Team
Forum Team
390 Views
Message 10 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: 4mb on 200mb service

Hi @woppy101,

 

Thank you for posting on the Community Forums - I'm sorry to hear you've been having some problems with your broadbands speeds which have also affected your VoIP landline. Although I am glad to hear the speeds seem to be okay at present.

 

Are you still having issues with the landline or does everything seem to be in working order now? 

 

Please don't hesitate to get back in touch with us here if the issues persist or if you need anything else.

 

Beth

0 Kudos
Reply