Menu
Reply
burgernz
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
306 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

400mbps drops to 40mbps unless I restart the router.

Every day my internet starts off at 40mbps or below. It could go higher, it could stay at 40 - I'm not sat here running speed tests all day.

If I restart the router it can go back up to normal speeds, but it doesn't take long to go back to sub 10% of what I'm paying for. 

I see these warnings in the status.

Screenshot 2021-04-23 085435.png

0 Kudos
Reply
burgernz
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
296 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: 400mbps drops to 40mbps unless I restart the router.

Here is the censored img.

InkedScreenshot 2021-04-23 085435_LI.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 1.39K
  • 117
  • 254
Superfast
279 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: 400mbps drops to 40mbps unless I restart the router.

Can you please upload your router stats and set up a BQM

Type 192.168.0.1 or (192.168.100.1 if you have your Hub in Modem mode) into your address bar at the top of your browser

DO NOT LOG IN, just click “Check Router Status” at the bottom of the page. Sometimes the “Check Router Status” is missing, in this case just go ahead and log in and go to Advanced Settings-> Tools-> Network Status.

Please copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs, if you get a yellow warning just click the Post button again.

You can use more than one post for each item if needed!

If you get a warning when you hit “Post” just hit “Post” again and it should work ok!

Please do not use screenshots

Also can you please setup a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com. Just click on Create a new monitor.

Under your graph you just created Click (Share Live Graph)

Copy the text in the “Direct Link” box and paste it on here

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
burgernz
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
275 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: 400mbps drops to 40mbps unless I restart the router.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1266750000-4.238256 qam17
2138750000-3.535256 qam1
3146750000-2.933256 qam2
4154750000-2.735256 qam3
5162750000-2.734256 qam4
6170750000-3.735256 qam5
7178750000-534256 qam6
8186750000-4.935256 qam7
9194750000-4.929256 qam8
10202750000-4.524256 qam0
11210750000-3.527256 qam10
12218750000-428256 qam11
13226750000-4.930256 qam12
14234750000-636256 qam13
15242750000-6.536256 qam14
16250750000-5.536256 qam15
17258750000-537256 qam16
18274750000-538256 qam18
19282750000-5.438256 qam19
20290750000-5.438256 qam20
21298750000-5.538256 qam21
22306750000-5.238256 qam22
23314750000-4.738256 qam23
24322750000-4.738256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.92260
2Locked35.532860805
3Locked33.9233642211
4Locked354886186
5Locked34.3126423
6Locked3537650
7Locked34.92474167
8Locked35.5202197
9Locked29.1246017282399
10Locked24.1128250512971
11Locked27.153611411750875691
12Locked28.44419305422907
13Locked30.478532299989
14Locked36.68880
15Locked36.321236
16Locked36.61243520
17Locked37.616790
18Locked38.92140
19Locked38.919712
20Locked38.62180
21Locked38.92650
22Locked38.91920
23Locked38.6951100
24Locked38.94520

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13939997651512064 qam4
24620002451512064 qam3
35370000751512064 qam2
46030001451512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0060
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
xv9873254k;fg87dsfd;kfoA,



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID3865
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID1372
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

0 Kudos
Reply
burgernz
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
273 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: 400mbps drops to 40mbps unless I restart the router.

Network Log

Time Priority Description

23/04/2021 12:36:50Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:36:49Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:34:29Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:34:29Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:23:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:23:51Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:23:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:23:25Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:19:58Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:19:57Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:14:59Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:14:58Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:08:19Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:08:18Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:01:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:01:51Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:01:41Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 12:01:38Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 11:54:19Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 11:54:18Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 1.39K
  • 117
  • 254
Superfast
268 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: 400mbps drops to 40mbps unless I restart the router.

Your SNR is too low on some of your download streams and your upload stream power levels are maxed out. You also have far too many Post RS errors. I would start with a factory reset on the hub and see how quickly the errors rise again. Hold in the pinhole at the rear of the router for at least 50 seconds and then release (the lights will flash while holding in the pinhole reset button after about 10-15 seconds) then allow 5 minutes for the router to reboot and re-sync the connection.

......but you will still need a engineer out to sort out the power levels and SNR issues mate. Best to ring Virgin on or just after 8am on 0345 454 1111 or alternatively you can wait here for a Virgin staff member to pick it up, but unfortunately this will typically be between 5-10 days, sometimes sooner, sometimes later depending on how busy they are 🙂

 

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
burgernz
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
267 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: 400mbps drops to 40mbps unless I restart the router.

My Broadband Ping - Home

The red is from ICMP rejections from my router...

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 1.39K
  • 117
  • 254
Superfast
264 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: 400mbps drops to 40mbps unless I restart the router.

......your BQM doesn't look good so far either mate. This is probably due to the SNR issue you are facing.

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
burgernz
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
253 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: 400mbps drops to 40mbps unless I restart the router.

The problem I have is that when I phoned them the automated line told me to restart my router, said goodbye and hung up on me. Twitter referred me here.

Can't someone from Virgin call me or something?!

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 1.39K
  • 117
  • 254
Superfast
251 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: 400mbps drops to 40mbps unless I restart the router.

Usually if you ring back a second time straight after the first it will put you in a queue mate. 

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply