Menu
Reply
jc89
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
623 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

350mb Package, Getting 50mb / 35mb - sometimes less.

Hi,

I just signed up to the 350mb package on the 11th June  I was previously on the 100mb package. I am using the hub 3.0. 

As you can see, my upload speed has increased, but not my download speed.

Using various devices, ethernet or wireless, no difference.  I did one test yesterday and got over 100mb down (the only time I've seen that) so I know it isn't my device/hardware.

jc89_0-1591978019130.png

speed.PNG

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jc89
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
622 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Package, Getting 50mb / 35mb - sometimes less.

TEST_DATETIME_ZONEDOWNLOAD_MEGABITSUPLOAD_MEGABITSLATENCY_MSSERVER_NAME
5/22/2020 7:44 AMGMT111.8910.0417Croydon
06/09/2020 14:58GMT25.429.3524London
06/09/2020 21:20GMT111.219.7913London
06/10/2020 07:14GMT112.19.8325London
06/11/2020 08:12GMT49.339.815London
06/11/2020 17:14GMT41.683.7229London
06/11/2020 17:50GMT101.0437.1715London
06/12/2020 05:15GMT51.2637.1340London
06/12/2020 15:35GMT50.8635.4339London
06/12/2020 16:01GMT28.0937.1727London
06/12/2020 16:03GMT45.9636.9626London
0 Kudos
Reply
jc89
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
612 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Package, Getting 50mb / 35mb - sometimes less.

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1298750000138256 qam21
21867500002.740256 qam7
31947500002.540256 qam8
42027500002.440256 qam9
52107500002.238256 qam10
6218750000240256 qam11
72267500001.940256 qam12
82347500001.540256 qam13
92427500001.440256 qam14
10250750000140256 qam15
11258750000140256 qam16
122667500000.940256 qam17
132747500000.940256 qam18
142827500000.940256 qam19
152907500000.938256 qam20
163067500001.240256 qam22
173147500001.240256 qam23
183227500001.240256 qam24
194027500000.440256 qam25
204107500000.238256 qam26
21418750000038256 qam27
22426750000-0.238256 qam28
23434750000-0.438256 qam29
24442750000-0.540256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9216
2Locked40.3290
3Locked40.3270
4Locked40.3160
5Locked38.9240
6Locked40.3100
7Locked40.3180
8Locked40.3160
9Locked40.3220
10Locked40.3150
11Locked40.3120
12Locked40.3120
13Locked40.3250
14Locked40.3231
15Locked38.9170
16Locked40.3180
17Locked40.3310
18Locked40.9350
19Locked40.360
20Locked38.9630
21Locked38.9170
22Locked38.9230
23Locked38.9260
24Locked40.332

17

 

Upstream:

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000004.425512064 qam8
2394000004.325512064 qam9
3537000004.45512064 qam7
4326000004.3512064 qam10



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
David_Bn
  • 4.32K
  • 200
  • 348
Forum Team
Forum Team
498 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Package, Getting 50mb / 35mb - sometimes less.

Good Afternoon jv89,

 

Thanks for your post on our Community Forums and a very warm welcome to you!

 

Sorry to see you've been having issues with your broadband speeds.

 

I've looked at the stats on the hub and I can see that everything is currently in spec. Can you run the speed test with the Ethernet cable and with the hub in modem mode to see if you can achieve the full speed?

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jc89
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
457 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Package, Getting 50mb / 35mb - sometimes less.

Hi David,

 

I don't have an ethernet port in my laptop, but I'm testing right beside the router.

These are my speeds this morning.. sat less than 1m away from the hub.

speed2.PNG

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jc89
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
454 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Package, Getting 50mb / 35mb - sometimes less.

This my network adaptor so shouldn't be any problems here I don't think

https://www.qualcomm.com/products/qca9377

Specifications

Wi-Fi

Wi-Fi Standards: 802.11ac Wave 2, 802.11a/b/g, 802.11n

Wi-Fi Spectral Bands: 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz

Peak Speed: 433 Mbps

Channel Utilization: 20/40/80 MHz

MIMO Configuration: 1x1 (1-stream)

Wi-Fi Features: MU-MIMO

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 28.86K
  • 1.76K
  • 3.77K
Alessandro Volta
450 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Package, Getting 50mb / 35mb - sometimes less.

WiFi speeds and connectivity aren’t guaranteed.

You need to speedtest when wired. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
hotshot666
  • 82
  • 1
  • 20
Up to speed
422 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Package, Getting 50mb / 35mb - sometimes less.

Gary Dexter, do you not see the person post this

"I don't have an ethernet port in my laptop, but I'm testing right beside the router"

If the speed test is rubbish when that close to the hub, wired or ethernet the difference is minimal. I have done hours of testing.

You are merely propagating the Virgin company line with your comments "WiFi speeds and connectivity aren’t guaranteed." That is exactly the tosh we expect from offshore support staff.

Is there a way to remove Kudos, because the last 5 answers you have given need kudos removing
jc89
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
417 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Package, Getting 50mb / 35mb - sometimes less.

Thanks Hotshot!

ill try to use a friends laptop if I can. Seems like a drastic drop from what I should be getting especially when I’m right beside the hub. 

0 Kudos
Reply
hotshot666
  • 82
  • 1
  • 20
Up to speed
411 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Package, Getting 50mb / 35mb - sometimes less.

JC89, the analogy i use all the time when trying to explain this stuff is water in a pipe.

Data on a circuit is very similar

If you have unlimited water into your house a tap nearby will have great pressure, and perhaps a bathroom 2 floors away will be very less.

If you ain't got much water coming into your house to start with, its kid of academic how you access it

Most modern phones can connect to your wi fi at more than 50Mbs. Some a lot more. If the data coming into your house is less than the rate at which the phone can receive it, the phone is NOT the limiting factor is the data (water) quantity available.

My own circumstances are not very different. I have a gigabit hub. I have many devices that can send and receive data in excess of 800 Mbs. When i only receive 100mbs data, it is not down to my PC or infrastructure. When i can only upload 2.5mbs it ABSOLUTELY is nothing to do with my infrastructure

0 Kudos
Reply