Menu
Reply
GerryM2020
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
516 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

350mb Broadband really slow

Hi,

enough is enough, my broadband speed has been really slow for months now in comparison to what I am paying for. I have tried calling a few times but obviously due to current situation I appreciate staff levels. But there is clearly an issue with broadband speeds either being capped or supply demand, which as per contract for 350mbs there is no limitations. I'm lucky to get 90mbs from an ethernet device (iMac) even though it should be 350mb. Yet I've been paying for 350mb. 

It won't let me paste the logs as requested in this section so I have had to try and add them to the comments of my post. Probably because there are so many logs, and warnings. 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
GerryM2020
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
515 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Broadband really slow

As requested here are the logs.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000003.738256 qam21
21390000003.738256 qam1
31470000003.738256 qam2
4155000000438256 qam3
51630000003.938256 qam4
61710000003.738256 qam5
71790000003.538256 qam6
81870000003.538256 qam7
91950000003.538256 qam8
102030000003.738256 qam9
112110000003.738256 qam10
122190000003.538256 qam11
132270000003.538256 qam12
142350000003.538256 qam13
152430000003.538256 qam14
162510000003.938256 qam15
172590000003.938256 qam16
182670000003.938256 qam17
192750000003.738256 qam18
202830000003.538256 qam19
212910000003.538256 qam20
223070000003.738256 qam22
233150000003.738256 qam23
243230000003.738256 qam24



 

0 Kudos
Reply
GerryM2020
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
514 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Broadband really slow

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.62577961
2Locked38.9164223208
3Locked38.6153723014
4Locked38.9119072479
5Locked38.994972111
6Locked38.694062202
7Locked38.998712361
8Locked38.6111722118
9Locked38.6102971878
10Locked38.983101632
11Locked38.665371320
12Locked38.954801243
13Locked38.954691244
14Locked38.956761245
15Locked38.951921212
16Locked38.642221146
17Locked38.934191067
18Locked38.927471200
19Locked38.62619882
20Locked38.92619829
21Locked38.62712823
22Locked38.922451075
23Locked38.92101756
24Locked38.91793858

 

0 Kudos
Reply
GerryM2020
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
513 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Broadband really slow

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000004.825512064 qam12
2462000004.9512064 qam11
3537000004.725512064 qam10
4603000004.825512064 qam9

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
GerryM2020
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
512 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Broadband really slow

Network Log

Time Priority Description

21/05/2020 12:29:27Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/05/2020 12:21:53noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/05/2020 20:34:29Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/05/2020 00:54:25criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 12:17:56noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 09:38:51Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 09:38:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 09:30:52criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 09:30:8Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 09:30:4criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 09:30:3Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 09:30:3criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 07:55:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 07:30:50Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 07:30:45Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 07:30:45criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 07:30:45Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 07:30:45criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 07:30:44Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 07:30:2Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.27K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.02K
Alessandro Volta
482 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Broadband really slow

Are you Speedtesting wired or wirelessly?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
GerryM2020
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
472 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Broadband really slow

Wired with all other devices switched off, disconnected or paused through the VM App.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.33K
  • 2.4K
  • 3.98K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
455 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Broadband really slow

RS errors are too high but they may be historic build up. Can you reset them to 0 by the reset detailed below, then look back in every hour or so to see if they start appearing - they shouldnt.

-------
Do a factory reset – a lot of the VM techies on here are suggesting it as a first option and it has worked for many customers.

Note that a pinhole reset on a Hub3 can be a bit problematic - so do it EXACTLY this way (not as the VM website says!).

Firstly, make sure the Hub's sticker/card with the two passwords on it is still there and legible or you will be stuffed ! If its not – DON’T DO IT !
With the Hub "on" disconnect any ethernet connections and push in the “reset pin” with the end of a paperclip/thin nail or similar (bigger items like ball point pen ends may not press it in far enough) until you feel it at the “stop point” and hold it there firmly for a "timed" minimum of 60 seconds do NOT restart the Hub after that. Leave it 5' or so to stabilise and then your passwords/passphrase for both the Hub settings and the Wifi networks will revert to the two printed on the Hub sticker on its base/side/card. Make sure you use the wifi one for devices connecting to the wifi and the settings one to access the Hub.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
GerryM2020
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
445 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Broadband really slow

I regularly reset this to be honest. li did so again on the 19th May 2020. I'm hesitant to do so again so soon because it takes some time to reconnect and set up both 2.4 and 5ghz networks.

Ive rebooted again today and it increased to 140mbs, but still nowhere near 350mb. 

Thanks

Gerry

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 2.87K
  • 214
  • 607
Trouble shooter
439 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350mb Broadband really slow

Power levels look okay as noted before. Yes, PostRS errors shouldn't been there in high numbers, indicative of noise on the circuit. But the network logs are not good with lots of sync and signal loss.
Setup a BQM here www.thinkbroadband.com/ping and monitor. It could just be over utilisation in the local area, as VM do not throttle. Post back in a day so we can comment on the BQM.
0 Kudos
Reply