Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.41K
  • 501
  • 1.44K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
201 Views
Message 11 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350 tier, never seen more than 110 or so?


@JimOver wrote:

You ain't wrong. I just found a bad patch cable between my security gateway and the modem, and I'm back to where I once was - 190 or so. Still not 300, but the bad patch was skewing results from my normally truted connection. 

Laptop claims a Gig connection, but I'll find another adapter and try it again, just in case... 

Anyone with any ideas on the throughput differences with the Virgin Hub 3.0 in straight modem/Gateway vs. Router mode?


Security gateway?  So are you testing with a direct connection from a PC to the hub or always via this gateway?

AFAIK there shouldn't be any difference in throughput, but testing in modem mode when you have an issue is standard advice to rule out any possible issues with the less than stellar router functions of the hub.  It also makes sure only one device is accessing the connection during the test.

Could you post the downstream figures and the log again now that the hub has been reset?  The Post RS errors and the regular RCS Partial Service errors in the log posted previously would seem to suggest that there is an issue, but maybe they have gone now.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out.
My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
JimOver
Joining in
190 Views
Message 12 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350 tier, never seen more than 110 or so?

Hiya - One of my testing scenarios is to run a speed test from my UniFi security gateway - it's wired to the modem, and has a speed test functionality built in. 

Here's the latest:

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
1307000000740256 qam22
22030000006.340256 qam9
3211000000640256 qam10
42190000005.940256 qam11
52270000005.940256 qam12
62350000005.640256 qam13
7243000000540256 qam14
82510000003.740256 qam15
92590000003.740256 qam16
102670000005.340256 qam17
112750000005.940256 qam18
122830000006.440256 qam19
132910000006.540256 qam20
14299000000740256 qam21
153150000007.140256 qam23
16323000000740256 qam24
17426750000740256 qam25
18434750000740256 qam26
19442750000740256 qam27
20450750000740256 qam28
214587500006.940256 qam29
224667500006.540256 qam30
23474750000640256 qam31
244827500005.640256 qam32
      
      
Downstream bonded channels   
ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors 
1Locked40.970 
2Locked40.3210 
3Locked40.950 
4Locked40.950 
5Locked40.350 
6Locked40.970 
7Locked40.3150 
8Locked40.330 
9Locked40.340 
10Locked40.360 
11Locked40.350 
12Locked40.930 
13Locked40.360 
14Locked40.3190 
15Locked40.940 
16Locked40.350 
17Locked40.930 
18Locked40.3160 
19Locked40.370 
20Locked40.360 
21Locked40.3170 
22Locked40.390 
23Locked40.390 
24Locked40.380 

 

TimePriorityDescription
3/10/2019 11:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
4/10/2019 20:45ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
5/10/2019 16:27ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
6/10/2019 17:07criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/10/2019 6:32ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/10/2019 12:33ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/10/2019 13:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 17:59Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 17:59criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 17:59Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 17:59criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 17:59Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 17:59Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 17:59Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 17:59criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 18:07Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 18:07criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 18:07Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2019 18:07Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2019 02:01:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.41K
  • 501
  • 1.44K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
176 Views
Message 13 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350 tier, never seen more than 110 or so?

No more Post RS errors, which is good.  The log posted looks identical to the one you posted before the reset, which suggests it is a cached version or something didn’t refresh the log. Maybe try forcing a refresh on the log screen to get a current network log.

______________________
Scott

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
JimOver
Joining in
172 Views
Message 14 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350 tier, never seen more than 110 or so?

Hiya - Just checked again, refreshed the log, same result - last entry is 13/10... I guess that's... good?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.41K
  • 501
  • 1.44K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
144 Views
Message 15 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350 tier, never seen more than 110 or so?


@JimOver wrote:

Hiya - Just checked again, refreshed the log, same result - last entry is 13/10... I guess that's... good?


That means either your browser is still caching the old log or the hub is no longer updating the log.  Maybe try clearing the browser cache or try a different browser.  As a last resort try another hub reset.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out.
My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

 

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
JimOver
Joining in
139 Views
Message 16 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350 tier, never seen more than 110 or so?

Hello!

Yeah, I did a full browser refresh and even tried 2 devices, but the log remains the same - no entries after the 13th. I'll try another reset, thanks!

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.53K
  • 138
  • 310
Forum Team
Forum Team
124 Views
Message 17 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: 350 tier, never seen more than 110 or so?

Hi JimOver

It sounds like you have done everything possible to check speeds etc. I would not want or need to ask you to try anything else

This would be best if we arranged for an engineer to come out and have a thorough check on everything 

I will need to pass security by Private Message

Just check the purple envelope top right of your screen 

Gareth_L

0 Kudos
Reply