Menu
Reply
katucker
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
897 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

200mbps but only getting around 30

Could someone look into my broadband speed please. I'm only getting around 30mbps when I should be getting up to 200. I've done the broadband speed test as requested via https://www.speedtest.net/result/10241315383 . I work from home as does my husband but we aren't streaming video or have other devices which are doing as such during the day. Please help. I can send you my diagnostics but the post can't exceed 20,000 characters so I've included my network log. Thank you

Network Log

Time Priority Description
   
13/10/2020 11:50:20noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 19:37:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 15:34:13noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/10/2020 03:53:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/10/2020 14:05:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 10:12:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 02:05:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 01:35:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 01:34:28criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 01:30:2Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 01:29:59criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 01:29:58Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 01:29:58criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 22:11:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
johncrowe
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Settling in
885 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mbps but only getting around 30

I am getting exactly the same! Not even enough for a stable Zoom call. 

I am in Leeds, LS16, and have not seen any known issues

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
872 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mbps but only getting around 30


@johncrowe wrote:

... snip ..


If you want assistance please start your own thread.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
871 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mbps but only getting around 30


@katucker wrote:

Could someone look into my broadband speed please. I'm only getting around 30mbps when I should be getting up to 200. I've done the broadband speed test as requested via https://www.speedtest.net/result/10241315383 . I work from home as does my husband but we aren't streaming video or have other devices which are doing as such during the day. Please help. I can send you my diagnostics but the post can't exceed 20,000 characters so I've included my network log. Thank you

... snip ...

 


Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream and Upstream tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
katucker
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
818 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mbps but only getting around 30

https://www.speedtest.net/results?sh=dd0af03e1e8fbaa809595d9dea9c574e - results over the last day. When i restart my route then i can get speeds up to 200 but then they drop down again to around 34. It's just not consistent... 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
katucker
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
812 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mbps but only getting around 30

Here's the extra information 

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12030000009.337256 qam9
22110000009.337256 qam10
32190000008.137256 qam11
4227000000937256 qam12
5235000000937256 qam13
6243000000937256 qam14
72510000008.837256 qam15
82590000007.437256 qam16
92670000006.936256 qam17
10275000000937256 qam18
112830000009.438256 qam19
122910000009.537256 qam20
132990000001038256 qam21
14307000000837256 qam22
153150000009.637256 qam23
163230000001037256 qam24
173310000001038256 qam25
183390000001037256 qam26
193470000009.437256 qam27
203550000008.537256 qam28
213630000001037256 qam29
223710000009.937256 qam30
233790000009.837256 qam31
243870000009.838256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.63710
2Locked37.64050
3Locked37.35660
4Locked37.65980
5Locked37.36210
6Locked37.65850
7Locked37.36820
8Locked37.310140
9Locked36.612250
10Locked37.36770
11Locked38.66530
12Locked37.68410
13Locked38.68260
14Locked37.613370
15Locked37.311540
16Locked37.69830
17Locked38.29470
18Locked37.610050
19Locked37.613630
20Locked37.319480
21Locked37.610230
22Locked37.610580
23Locked37.612730
24Locked38.68600

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000004.1512064 qam2
2461999804.025512064 qam3
3394001463.925512064 qam4
4326002043.85512064 qam5



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
808 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 200mbps but only getting around 30

Five of your Downstream Power Levels are maxed out and several others are very close.

You will need an engineer out to put things right.

You can either phone in (08:00 is the best time) or wait on here for a few days until one of the VM Forum Staff comes along.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
katucker
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
670 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mbps but only getting around 30

Please can a virgin forum rep get in touch to try and fix my issue. Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
668 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mbps but only getting around 30

If you wait on here Do Not bump the thread it will put it further down the VM 'to do list'.

They are taking about a week to get to each thread.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
David_Bn
  • 5.43K
  • 247
  • 448
Forum Team
Forum Team
628 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mbps but only getting around 30

Good Afternoon katucker,

 

Thanks for your post on our Community Forums and a very warm welcome to you!

 

Sorry to see you've been struggling with slow speeds, can you tell me if this issue is still on going?

 

If so, can you please place the hub in modem mode and run a speed test via Ethernet cable to see what speed you can get on the connection running into the property?

 

I can see you spoke to our team on Friday, were you able to run any diagnostics on the hub with our team during the call?

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

0 Kudos
Reply