Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
1,082 Views
Message 1 of 32
Flag for a moderator

2 days of poor speed, area 22

Hi,

I'm having 2 days of intermittent connection and poor speed. 

  • Hub 3
  • Area ref 22
  • M50 fiber broadband

Tried all possible remedies: checking cables, running tests, resetting the hub – all had no visible effect on the speed. Sometimes the speed was returning to normal (~50 download, ~3 upload) but then, usually in the evenings, dropped again to the levels which are not even close to what I'm paying for (~5–20 mbps on download).

Screenshot-2019-08-09-at-20.54.51.jpg

Any advice would be much appreciated 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
1,078 Views
Message 2 of 32
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 days of poor speed, area 22

... also I can't insert my speed screenshot into the post above which I believe is a bug on the VM community side. The screenshot is displayed during the upload and editing but then turns into a placeholder once I save / publish the post.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
1,072 Views
Message 3 of 32
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 days of poor speed, area 22

... also in the network logs I see the following:

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
1,018 Views
Message 4 of 32
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 days of poor speed, area 22

Third day and the issue still persists.
My download speed is about 8 Mbps and upload around 0.5 Mbps.

Messaged VM support yesterday but haven't heard from them so far.

Here's a few stats from my Hub 3 Network Status section:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13227500004.140256 qam24
21387500003.538256 qam1
31467500003.540256 qam2
41547500003.540256 qam3
51627500003.740256 qam4
61707500003.940256 qam5
7178750000440256 qam6
8186750000438256 qam7
91947500004.140256 qam8
102027500004.140256 qam9
112107500004.138256 qam10
122187500004.140256 qam11
13226750000440256 qam12
14234750000438256 qam13
152427500003.938256 qam14
16250750000440256 qam15
172587500003.740256 qam16
182667500003.938256 qam17
192747500003.738256 qam18
20282750000438256 qam19
212907500004.338256 qam20
222987500004.338256 qam21
23306750000440256 qam22
24314750000440256 qam23

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9130
2Locked38.9100
3Locked38.660
4Locked40.370
5Locked38.9200
6Locked38.6210
7Locked38.9290
8Locked38.950
9Locked38.950
10Locked38.670
11Locked38.9180
12Locked38.9120
13Locked38.980
14Locked38.970
15Locked38.9130
16Locked38.970
17Locked40.340
18Locked38.9130
19Locked38.960
20Locked38.960
21Locked38.940
22Locked38.9200
23Locked38.9190
24Locked38.919

0

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1258002044512016 qam4
2326002744.075512032 qam3

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
998 Views
Message 5 of 32
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 days of poor speed, area 22

I am having the same issues on a 350 connection

 

https://www.speedtest.net/result/8490874132

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
981 Views
Message 6 of 32
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 days of poor speed, area 22


@oleglukyanov wrote:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1258002044512016 qam4
2326002744.075512032 qam3

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000

I'm by no means an expert on EuroDOCSIS tech yet (been on BT VDSL far too long) but usually upstream tells us more about your line quality than the downstream does. The target is 64 qam, with those numbers falling to 32 and 16 if there's some sort of interference on the line. Someone more knowledgable might be able to confirm my suspicions. 

_______________________
Vivid 350/35. pfSense 2.4.4


My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media 350/35
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
980 Views
Message 7 of 32
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 days of poor speed, area 22


@SlimKind wrote:

I am having the same issues on a 350 connection

 

https://www.speedtest.net/result/8490874132


Can you upload your connection stats please? 

Navigate to 192.168.0.1 (if in router mode) or 192.168.100.1 (if in modem only mode), DON'T LOG IN - simply click the 'router status' link below the bit you'd pop your password in and provide stats from those pages. Copy and paste will do nicely from all tabs. Do blank out any MAC addresses from the 'network log' page. 

_______________________
Vivid 350/35. pfSense 2.4.4


My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media 350/35
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
960 Views
Message 8 of 32
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 days of poor speed, area 22


@SlimKind wrote:

I am having the same issues on a 350 connection

 

https://www.speedtest.net/result/8490874132



I'm in area 22 and I'm on the M200 and my download speeds are a joke, in fact below the guaranteed download speeds set by Virgin Media. Doesn't matter if I'm wired or wifi the speeds are an insult. On 5g i always get 219mb download and in the attachment u can see its 84mb. I've called up and no one mentions an area issue when clearly us lot are having the same issueScreenshot_20190811-072223_Nighthawk.jpg

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 19
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
953 Views
Message 9 of 32
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 days of poor speed, area 22

Also area 22 and last couple of days had intermittant connection and when it is connected speeds are not workable.  Status checker says the area is fine and ive rebooted and reset everything several times to no effect.

 

Clearly an area issue!

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
947 Views
Message 10 of 32
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 days of poor speed, area 22


@ExxxyBeast wrote:

Also area 22 and last couple of days had intermittant connection and when it is connected speeds are not workable.  Status checker says the area is fine and ive rebooted and reset everything several times to no effect.

The status checker is never reliable. I called up and spent hours on the phone past few days and no one seems to see that there's an issue with speeds. We're all in area 22 right? So surely virgin must see that there's an issue. Disgusting customer service from them when I've called up. They always try blame your equipment/set up but never admit a fault 

Clearly an area issue!


 

0 Kudos
Reply