Menu
Reply
fluffybunny42
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
848 Views
Message 1 of 20
Flag for a moderator

2 Mbps throttling limit on 200 Mbps service.

Starting a few days ago my 200 Mbps broadband suddenly became limited to 2 Mbps download with 0.5 Mbps upload.

I have seen a few other posts on here and other places like Reddit that make me think this is an issue where a payment is late, VM start throttling, payment is made and cleared in full but the 2 Mbps hard limit isn't removed.

Weirdly a Super Hub 3 reboot results in the full 200 Mbps (speedtest.net and fast.com even show up to 220 Mbps) for a few seconds to a couple of minutes as the super hub finishes rebooting. As soon, to the second, as the top light goes out and only the bottom horizontal light is left the 2 Mbps cap hits instantly.

This is reproducible over and over on different PCs, tablet, phone etc.

This is infuriating as 2Mbps is borderline unusable in 2020.

Phone and webchat tech support have been unable to help. One guy said he checked with payments and no restriction is showing and they see nothing wrong.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
843 Views
Message 2 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 Mbps throttling limit on 200 Mbps service.

vm do not throttle connections. if they suspect it for no payment you'd get no connetion
0 Kudos
Reply
fluffybunny42
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
840 Views
Message 3 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 Mbps throttling limit on 200 Mbps service.

I know that's what always used to happen but it looks like they have changed their policy.

www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-missed-payment

"For example, this means your broadband speed may be slowed, on our TV service you might be restricted to the Freeview channels, and if you have our home phone service you may only be able to receive calls (but you can still make calls to the emergency services)." - quoted

 

Edit:

I just found someone else on here from earlier today with exactly the same issue. My speedtest result looks identical.

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Meant-to-be-getting-100mbps-but-getting-below-2mbps/td-p/...

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.48K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
823 Views
Message 4 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 Mbps throttling limit on 200 Mbps service.

It’s never “exactly the same issues” as there are too many variables.

Is this via a wired or wireless connection?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
fluffybunny42
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
821 Views
Message 5 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 Mbps throttling limit on 200 Mbps service.

Both.

I have ran through as much troubleshooting as I can.

Many, many, reboots of super hub, PCs, tablet etc.

Hard reset pinhole of superhub a few times, including while on phone with tech support.

Wired ethernet. Tried superhub in modem only mode too. Tried with wifi too.

Exactly the same 2 Mbps cap kicks in after a reboot finishes. Under all circumstances.

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.48K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
802 Views
Message 6 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 Mbps throttling limit on 200 Mbps service.

Post the network, upstream and downstream logs from the hub admin page 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
fluffybunny42
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
790 Views
Message 7 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 Mbps throttling limit on 200 Mbps service.

Ok. Not sure how to format the layout well but will just copy/paste what I can.

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
419000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

 

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1419000000-1236256 qam32
2203000000-6.538256 qam9
3211000000-6.938256 qam10
4219000000-7.437256 qam11
5227000000-7.737256 qam12
6235000000-838256 qam13
7243000000-8.537256 qam14
8251000000-8.538256 qam15
9259000000-8.737256 qam16
10267000000-937256 qam17
11275000000-9.237256 qam18
12283000000-9.237256 qam19
13291000000-938256 qam20
14299000000-938256 qam21
15307000000-9.237256 qam22
16315000000-937256 qam23
17323000000-9.537256 qam24
18363000000-1137256 qam25
19371000000-11.437256 qam26
20379000000-11.536256 qam27
21387000000-12.236256 qam28
22395000000-11.737256 qam29
23403000000-12.236256 qam30
24411000000-12.436256 qam31


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked36.610
2Locked38.660
3Locked38.690
4Locked37.690
5Locked37.340
6Locked38.660
7Locked37.650
8Locked38.650
9Locked37.660
10Locked37.680
11Locked37.650
12Locked37.6180
13Locked38.6180
14Locked38.690
15Locked37.6130
16Locked37.6240
17Locked37.6140
18Locked37.380
19Locked37.3160
20Locked36.6120
21Locked36.660
22Locked37.3110
23Locked36.6140
24Locked36.680
0 Kudos
Reply
fluffybunny42
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
788 Views
Message 8 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 Mbps throttling limit on 200 Mbps service.

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1462000004.975512064 qam3
2394000214.825512064 qam4
3537000074.975512064 qam2
4603000314.975512064 qam1


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.48K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
786 Views
Message 9 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 Mbps throttling limit on 200 Mbps service.

Your downstream levels are too low.

Is there an FP Attenuator fitted to the back of the hub?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
fluffybunny42
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
785 Views
Message 10 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: 2 Mbps throttling limit on 200 Mbps service.

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
A,.iyewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca69834nc



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID533
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID532
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply