Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

2.4ghz slow speeds but 5ghz good ?

Hi I'm new to Virgin I have 350mbs package 5ghz I'm getting 250 to 300mbps which im happy with at the moment but the 2.4ghz im getting between 0.1mbps and 10mbps this is causing an issue for remote logging in as my laptop does not support 5ghz wifi and im not near an ethernet port. I've tried resetting hub ect but no joy any help would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 2.4ghz slow speeds but 5ghz good ?

buy a usb 5ghz wireless adapter.
5ghz is always going to be better than 2.4ghz.

2.4ghz shares 3 non overlapping channels with everyone in your area (not just your network) so if the wifi int he are is busy you'll always see bad speeds

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Hi all.

Can I post a follow up query/point. I searched this forum for this exact question. I'm having the same issue. 2.4ghz I get 30-40 mb, 5ghz I get 260-290mb. My query /point is when I had the hub 3 I never had an issue with 2.4ghz wifi. Both 2.4 and 5ghz had exactly the same speeds. But since getting the hub 4 devices that use 2.4 like my Roku and security cameras struggling. Plus it keeps shutting off altogether at least a dozen times a day. Surely if I never had an issue with the hub 3 that suggests there's a problem with the hub 4.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Alessandro Volta
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

You won’t get more than 100Mbps on the 2.4Ghz band on the hub 3. Ever.

Both the Hub3 and hub4 have poor (cheap) WiFi antenna etc.

Put it into Modem Mode with your own router or mesh system.