Menu
Reply
stephan4567
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
504 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

1Mbit upload on M100 package

Hi, I've been experiencing very slow uploads speeds on my M100 package for several weeks (or longer). My download is usually at least 80Mbit and often up to 105Mbit, but my download speed is stuck around 0.8 - 1.5Mbit. Peak performance I've measured is 2.5Mbit in the middle of the night with only my laptop connected via ethernet, when the minimum g'teed upload speed is 10Mbit

I spent an hour on the service line and was sent a new v3 Router, however the speeds are exactly the same as before. 

Would really appreciate if someone from VM could investigate and help me get my upload speed to 10Mbit or above. 

Thanks,

Stephan

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
490 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Mbit upload on M100 package

What speeds do you get at >>  SamKnows << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E or better ethernet cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

Then immediately after …

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what is the reported 'connection speed’ for the ethernet cable connected device you used for the speed test ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
489 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Mbit upload on M100 package

The sooner the better …

If possible can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Please post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here straight away.

Instructions for posting BQM Live Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
487 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Mbit upload on M100 package

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again.

Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen shots.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
stephan4567
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
459 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Mbit upload on M100 package

Hi, here is My BQM 

Stephan

 

0 Kudos
Reply
stephan4567
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
412 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Mbit upload on M100 package

Here are the router logs:

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1138750000137256 qam1
21467500001.236256 qam2
31547500001.236256 qam3
41627500001.536256 qam4
51707500001.537256 qam5
61787500001.437256 qam6
71867500001.437256 qam7
81947500001.237256 qam8
92027500000.936256 qam9
102107500000.536256 qam10
112187500000.236256 qam11
12226750000-0.235256 qam12
13234750000-0.436256 qam13
142427500000.236256 qam14
152507500000.536256 qam15
162587500000.536256 qam16
172667500000.436256 qam17
182747500000.436256 qam18
192827500000.536256 qam19
202907500000.536256 qam20
212987500000.736256 qam21
223067500000.736256 qam22
233147500000.736256 qam23
24322750000136256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.620
2Locked36.6200
3Locked36.3910
4Locked36.3250
5Locked37.6110
6Locked37.3160
7Locked37.3100
8Locked37.3150
9Locked36.6330
10Locked36.31050
11Locked36.61320
12Locked35.73680
13Locked36.33720
14Locked36.61840
15Locked36.61350
16Locked36.31730
17Locked36.32600
18Locked36.33130
19Locked36.32000
20Locked36.62980
21Locked36.33120
22Locked36.32040
23Locked36.31990
24Locked36.61460

 

Upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620009249512064 qam1
23939991947.8512064 qam2
33260014846.8512064 qam3
42580009146.3512016 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0010

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID587692
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID587691
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort



0 Kudos
Reply
stephan4567
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
411 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Mbit upload on M100 package

Network Log

Time Priority Description

14/01/2021 03:45:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2021 23:52:31noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2021 23:47:25Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2021 23:22:29noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2021 21:11:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2021 20:43:14noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
13/01/2021 20:40:54noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:57critical16 consecutive T3 timeouts while trying to range on upstream channel 2;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:57criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:48critical16 consecutive T3 timeouts while trying to range on upstream channel 3;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:48criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:27Warning!MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:27Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/01/2021 21:33:48noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/01/2021 21:27:41Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/01/2021 21:27:41criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
stephan4567
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
406 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Mbit upload on M100 package

In terms of speeds, I consistently get between 80 - 115Mbit download at all times of day. 

I managed to get 10Mbit upload last night around midnight for the first time, which is an improvement to before probably due to the new v3 hub, however during the day I still only get speeds of around 1Mbit. Right now it's 0.6Mbit 

So it seems like the network is getting overloaded during the day, but it's not me or my devices consuming the bandwidth

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
392 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Mbit upload on M100 package

What speeds do you get at >>  SamKnows << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E or better ethernet cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

Then immediately after …

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what is the reported 'connection speed’ for the ethernet cable connected device you used for the speed test ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
stephan4567
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
322 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Mbit upload on M100 package

There seems to be a problem with the ethernet connection with my new router. It won't recognise the connection. I tried 2 different cables... 

But I've tested the wifi connection directly next to the router and also in modem mode using my BT Wholehome Wifi and am getting very consistent download speeds of 80Mps+ during all times of the day. 

In terms of upload, I get up to 10Mps now at night, but during the day it's around 1Mps or less (see screenshot from today at 3pm) 

stephan4567_0-1610723519913.png

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply