Menu
Reply
Pantsu
  • 21
  • 0
  • 4
On our wavelength
789 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

1Gb/s service with a Hub5 but only getting 350Mb

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel(Hz)331000000Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel(Hz)49600000Ranged
Provisioning StateOnlineOperational

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
13310000005.539QAM 25625
21390000009.941QAM 2561
31470000009.541QAM 2562
41550000009.441QAM 2563
51630000009.341QAM 2564
61710000009.140QAM 2565
71790000008.940QAM 2566
8187000000940QAM 2567
91950000009.240QAM 2568
10203000000940QAM 2569
11211000000941QAM 25610
122190000008.741QAM 25611
132270000008.341QAM 25612
14235000000841QAM 25613
152430000007.840QAM 25614
162510000007.640QAM 25615
172590000007.540QAM 25616
182670000007.240QAM 25617
192750000006.940QAM 25618
202830000006.740QAM 25619
212910000006.740QAM 25620
222990000006.640QAM 25621
233070000006.440QAM 25622
243150000006.140QAM 25623
253230000005.740QAM 25624
263390000005.639QAM 25626
273470000005.640QAM 25627
283550000005.740QAM 25628
293630000005.439QAM 25629
30371000000539QAM 25630
313790000004.839QAM 25631

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked3910
2Locked4190
3Locked41130
4Locked41120
5Locked41130
6Locked40140
7Locked40130
8Locked40100
9Locked4040
10Locked4010
11Locked4100
12Locked4100
13Locked4100
14Locked4100
15Locked4000
16Locked4000
17Locked4000
18Locked4000
19Locked4030
20Locked4020
21Locked4030
22Locked4050
23Locked4010
24Locked4010
25Locked4020
26Locked3910
27Locked4020
28Locked4030
29Locked3910
30Locked3920
31Locked3920

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
049600000405120QAM 641
14310000039.85120QAM 642
23660000039.35120QAM 643
330100000395120QAM 644
42360000038.85120QAM 645

Upstream bonded channels

General Configuration

Network accessMaximum Number of CPEsBaseline PrivacyDOCSIS ModeConfig file
Allowed
1
Enabled
3.1
cmreg-vmdg660-bbt076-b.cm

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFIDMax Traffic RateMax Traffic BurstMin Traffic Rate
237212
1230000450 bps
42600bytes
0 bps

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFIDMax Traffic RateMax Traffic BurstMin Traffic RateMax Concatenated BurstScheduling Type

237211
55000270 bps
42600bytes
0 bps
42600bytes
Best Effort

 

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

0ATDMA0000
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

Ethernet Link speed from switch to PC (Receive/Transmit):    1000/1000 (Mbps)

Assume a 65% account credit is comigng for every day I get 350Mb considering I'm paying for 1Gb?

0 Kudos
Reply
Client62
  • 1.82K
  • 112
  • 415
Super solver
775 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb/s service with a Hub5 but only getting 350Mb

Some of the Downstream power levels are above the -7 to 7 dBmV preferred range.

If the Hub is in Router mode try this : https://www.samknows.com/realspeed/

On a 1 Gb/s service the Hub is often not a limiting factor.

The real question is ...   Why is the device not drawing more than 350Mb/s ?

0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 1.76K
  • 113
  • 377
Super solver
748 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb/s service with a Hub5 but only getting 350Mb


@Pantsu wrote:

Assume a 65% account credit is comigng for every day I get 350Mb considering I'm paying for 1Gb?


No:

https://www.virginmedia.com/help/billing-and-payments/automatic-compensation

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 7.51K
  • 389
  • 1.46K
Legend
719 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb/s service with a Hub5 but only getting 350Mb

All the signal levels are within spec. 

What results do you get from https://www.samknows.com/realspeed/

0 Kudos
Reply
Pantsu
  • 21
  • 0
  • 4
On our wavelength
617 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb/s service with a Hub5 but only getting 350Mb

Many thanks for the replies.

Unfortunately, I'm in modem mode with a Asus RT-AX86U managing my devices. For about a week, it's been at between 350-500Mb/s, varying by day. I've just set up a BQM on my connection so I'll see what comes from there over the next couple of days. On the weekend I'll be factory defaulting the Hub5 and trying with a laptop on the back of it. I know it's not my kit as I can move large files over my LAN (PC --> NAS) and it's flying.

Bit more history/evidence from ThinkBroadband :

 Tue 07/02/2023 18:25501.50 Mbps398.83 Mbps51.78 Mbps<snip>Virgin Media
 Mon 06/02/2023 17:50346.21 Mbps230.47 Mbps51.36 Mbps<snip>Virgin Media
 Sat 12/11/2022 08:42927.74 Mbps822.41 Mbps51.60 Mbps<snip>Virgin Media
0 Kudos
Reply
Natalie_L
  • 6.6K
  • 238
  • 510
Forum Team
Forum Team
551 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb/s service with a Hub5 but only getting 350Mb

Hi Pantsu, 

Thank you for reaching out to us here on the Community. 

I am sorry to hear of the issues you have faced with service. 

Unfortunately, whilst the Hub is in modem mode, we will not be able to run checks from here but if you have been able to set up your BQM, can you please post the live link? 

Thanks, 

 

Nat
0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 20.45K
  • 828
  • 2.2K
Alessandro Volta
539 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb/s service with a Hub5 but only getting 350Mb

Your checks will show nothing wrong as will the BQM😞

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Gareth_L
  • 11.48K
  • 635
  • 1.25K
Forum Team
Forum Team
473 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb/s service with a Hub5 but only getting 350Mb

Hello Pantsu.

Thanks for your post.

Can I just ask if you have been able to factory reset the Hub?

If so, have you noticed any improvement?

Gareth_L

0 Kudos
Reply
MUFFINTAST1C
  • 25
  • 2
  • 3
On our wavelength
454 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb/s service with a Hub5 but only getting 350Mb


@Pantsu wrote:

Many thanks for the replies.

Unfortunately, I'm in modem mode with a Asus RT-AX86U managing my devices. For about a week, it's been at between 350-500Mb/s, varying by day. I've just set up a BQM on my connection so I'll see what comes from there over the next couple of days. On the weekend I'll be factory defaulting the Hub5 and trying with a laptop on the back of it. I know it's not my kit as I can move large files over my LAN (PC --> NAS) and it's flying.

Bit more history/evidence from ThinkBroadband :

 Tue 07/02/2023 18:25501.50 Mbps398.83 Mbps51.78 Mbps<snip>Virgin Media
 Mon 06/02/2023 17:50346.21 Mbps230.47 Mbps51.36 Mbps<snip>Virgin Media
 Sat 12/11/2022 08:42927.74 Mbps822.41 Mbps51.60 Mbps<snip>Virgin Media

In the Asus make sure QoS is disabled.

MUFFINTAST1C_0-1676207211121.png

Also check in the 'Tools' section and make sure 'Flow Cache' is enabled.

MUFFINTAST1C_1-1676207258558.png

I am running the Merlin firmware but make sure if you're running stock firmware your settings are like mine. If you have a WiFi 6 device trying doing a Fast.com test, I get 1.1Gbps or 940 over WiFi when I'm right next to the router.

MUFFINTAST1C
  • 25
  • 2
  • 3
On our wavelength
452 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb/s service with a Hub5 but only getting 350Mb

Also, make you're using the 2.5Gb port on the Hub 5 and 2.5Gb WAN port on the Asus (GREEN)