Menu
Reply
StephK
  • 14
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
502 Views
Message 1 of 21
Flag for a moderator

1Gb Hub 4 upgrade but slow upload

Hi VM Community,

Yesterday upgraded from 350Mb to 1Gb service and a new new Hub 4. Unfortunately whilst downloads went from 350 to 780 the uploads actually fell from a fairly stable 40 Mbs to 10-20 Mbs which now causes problems for the 4 of us given all the new whiteboards and video calls going on with schools and my work.  Ideally I'd like the full download bandwidth as well but the immediate issue is the poor upload.

Hub 4 has been reset a few times - full 60 sec hold down plus wait for it to reboot on it's own.

All the filters/attenuators etc are finger tight or tighter but there are quite a few in a row.

I've run Google's speedtest and Okla's Speedtest via ethernet cables and both report similar speeds at several differing times of the day and night (with everyone else disconnected). When I do the testing I drop everything else from the network so they don't use bandwidth. Here's an example although upload has been as high as 20 Mbps.

10787770604

 

At the moment its in Modem mode connected to an Asus ZenWifi XT 8 which then goes into switch to supply the house and can't do much since classes are going and I have some conf calls soon. 

I'll post the device data from the status pages on 192.168.100.1 next.

Grateful for any help you can give...I think it might need an engineer to have a look at the line and/or Hub 4 as I'm not sure what else I can do here

~Steph

 

Tags (3)
StephK
  • 14
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
499 Views
Message 2 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb Hub 4 upgrade but slow upload

Here's the downstream page (my chanel width seems lower than others I've seen and the PLC power seems higher):

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

304027500009.19999740.366287QAM25630
11387500008.80000340.946209QAM2561
21467500008.59999840.366287QAM2562
31547500008.80000340.366287QAM2563
41627500009.00000040.946209QAM2564
51707500008.90000240.946209QAM2565
61787500009.09999840.946209QAM2566
71867500009.09999840.366287QAM2567
81947500009.19999740.366287QAM2568
92027500009.09999840.366287QAM2569
102107500009.09999840.366287QAM25610
112187500009.00000040.946209QAM25611
122267500009.09999840.366287QAM25612
132347500009.19999740.946209QAM25613
142427500009.09999840.366287QAM25614
152507500009.09999840.366287QAM25615
162587500009.19999740.366287QAM25616
172667500008.59999840.366287QAM25617
182747500007.90000240.946209QAM25618
192827500007.69999740.366287QAM25619
202907500007.30000340.366287QAM25620
212987500007.80000338.983261QAM25621
223067500009.40000240.366287QAM25622
233147500009.90000240.366287QAM25623
243227500009.69999740.366287QAM25624
253307500009.40000240.366287QAM25625
263707500009.30000340.946209QAM25626
273787500009.30000340.366287QAM25627
283867500009.40000240.366287QAM25628
293947500009.40000240.946209QAM25629
314107500009.09999840.366287QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

30Locked40.36628700
1Locked40.94620900
2Locked40.36628700
3Locked40.36628700
4Locked40.94620900
5Locked40.94620900
6Locked40.94620900
7Locked40.36628700
8Locked40.36628700
9Locked40.36628700
10Locked40.36628700
11Locked40.94620900
12Locked40.36628700
13Locked40.94620900
14Locked40.36628700
15Locked40.36628700
16Locked40.36628700
17Locked40.36628700
18Locked40.94620900
19Locked40.36628700
20Locked40.36628700
21Locked38.98326100
22Locked40.36628710
23Locked40.36628700
24Locked40.36628700
25Locked40.36628700
26Locked40.94620900
27Locked40.36628700
28Locked40.36628700
29Locked40.94620900
31Locked40.36628710



3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
33864K1680QAM4096424


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
33Locked429.1780277730
0 Kudos
Reply
StephK
  • 14
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
494 Views
Message 3 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb Hub 4 upgrade but slow upload

Upstream Page

This is the first time I've seem all 64QAM in the modulation column rows. Until now there's one that is 32QAM and one that is 16QAM.

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000039.5205995120 KSym/sec64QAM5
23940000039.5205995120 KSym/sec64QAM4
34620000040.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM3
42580000038.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM6



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0010
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
StephK
  • 14
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
485 Views
Message 4 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb Hub 4 upgrade but slow upload

Netowrk Log page

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

Thu Jan 1 00:01:24 19703No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Wed Jan 20 21:08:03 20215MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu Jan 1 00:01:20 19703No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Wed Jan 20 21:16:41 20215MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

 

Please let me know if there's some infor you might need to help uncover whats happening. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.52K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
469 Views
Message 5 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb Hub 4 upgrade but slow upload

If the upstream modulation (QAM) is dropping back, that's often an indication of an upstream noise problem, and can explain slow speeds (and any disconnects or slowdowns on the downstream).  Keep an eye on it, and see if you can get a record of the modulation falling back, and then post that, it'll help the forum staff book a technician, but the policy appears to be not to send a technician unless there's clear evidence of a fault.

One less welcome possibility is that you're just suffering because the local network is struggling with upstream capacity due to all the home working/learning as a result of Covid.  On the basis that you want your 1 Gbps connection and Openreach is not an option you'd consider, then if this is the case then the solution is probably waiting for the world to return to normal.  Setup a BQM, that'll show what's going on with your VM connection.  Post a link to a live, shared graph here and we'll see what's happening.  Usually needs to run for 24 hours before we can draw reasonable conclusions, but the live graph will continuously update so you can do that immediately.

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

StephK
  • 14
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
452 Views
Message 6 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb Hub 4 upgrade but slow upload

Thank for the reply Andruser

I'll keep an eye on that QAM things to see if I can capture it at less than 64 for each.

Whats weird is the upload being so low having been happily at 30-40Mpbs via the Hub 3 until the Hub 4 was installed. Now I'm at 10-20Mbs which causes issues of course for the various conf calls going on during the waking hours.

Here's my BQM I only just turned in 'Respond to ICMP...' so might have packet loss early on

Was there anything else that stood out on the logs?

I've read through other logs for people in a similarish situation and what members have said. I've noticed that the power levels are high @ 9.1 and the channel bandwdith seems lower at 86 vs 96 I've seen in others reporting issues...

I would love for it to just once hit ~50-60 Mbps upload (and 1Gbps download) say @ 3am so that I know it's just congestion keeping is lower but that has yet to happen and unfortunately my Hub 4 is stubbornly stuck in the 10-20 Mbps upload range which is half what I was getting 24 hours earlier with the Hub 3.

Unfortunely the installer had to rush to another job (I'm sure it was a super busy day) so stayed only until it was activated and connected but didn't get a chance to run any performance tests. I wish he'd had the time to check the logs and line settings so I could at least get similar upload speeds to what I just had.


~Steph

0 Kudos
Reply
StephK
  • 14
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
448 Views
Message 7 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb Hub 4 upgrade but slow upload

Speak of the devil.

I just checked my Upstream Log and it says this - Notice the 32QAM and 16 QAM in rows 1 & 4 ....

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000039.7705995120 KSym/sec32QAM5
23940000039.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM4
34620000040.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM3
42580000039.0205995120 KSym/sec16QAM6



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0010
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.52K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
404 Views
Message 8 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb Hub 4 upgrade but slow upload

That's excellent news!  Well, not quite, but what I mean is that there's now something tangibly wrong with the connection and the forum team (who I've alerted to this) can advise what happens next to see this resolved.  It is still possible that there might be a utilisation fault, but as above, if you want 1 Gbps you'd have to sit that out, and from the few hours of BQM it's too early to say.

On power levels and other stats, other than the upstream modulation, I'm not seeing anything that would necessarily cause a problem in the figures you posted earlier.  Although we forum amateurs work on some rules of thumb over power levels and the like, the tolerance built in to the standards is large, so "reading the entrails" is more art than science.  But the helpful forum staff can give them the once over, and if a technician is needed they should sort them out.  A technician visit won't resolve a utilisation issue, but I can't say that there is one here yet anyway.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

StephK
  • 14
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
383 Views
Message 9 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb Hub 4 upgrade but slow upload

Hi Andruser

HA I know what you mean. I just checked again as it's still  32, 64, 64, 16 on the QAM side and a few T3 Timeouts and Pre RS Errors to boot.

Performance wise I'm @ 706 down and 16 up which is typical performance since I moved from consistent 350/40 on the Hub 3 yesterday...

10791060319

 

Still I'm glad theres some sort of physical manifestation and I'm grateful you've taken the time to look into this, Andruser. I'll post new figures in the morning then just wait.

0 Kudos
Reply
StephK
  • 14
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
357 Views
Message 10 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1Gb Hub 4 upgrade but slow upload

I'm not going to keep spamming so this will will be the last log report until I'm asked something...  I just checked as assuming reduced congestion and now the Upstream report says 16, 32, 32 and 16 on the modulation side. Current speed is 750 Down and 15 Up via Okla and Google  - I don't imagine there's a lot conf calls going on at midnight...Maybe it's the box...

Here's that report.

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000039.2705995120 KSym/sec16QAM5
23940000039.2705995120 KSym/sec32QAM4
34620000039.7705995120 KSym/sec32QAM3
42580000038.5205995120 KSym/sec16QAM6



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0010
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0010

 

Downstream wise similar to before but with a lot more Pre RS Errors (1-5 in several rows), Power from 8 -10 on the 3.0 side and 86 Mhz channel width with 9.5 PLC , 42 RxMER on the 3.1 side, can post that also if someone needs to see an updated one.
0 Kudos
Reply