Menu
Reply
Walkman950
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
550 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

100mbps Connection, only getting 40mbps

Been consistently similar to this for weeks. Sometimes bursting up to 100mb, not necessarily linked with peak times either. Sometimes I'm awake at 2.00am on a weekday and a speedtest at this time will be 40mbps down and 7 up. Instead of the 110/11 normally.

Any known problems?

 

Logs;

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

29/08/2020 18:48:52noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 18:44:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 18:44:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 17:51:54Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 17:51:53Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 17:46:19Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 17:46:17noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 16:45:29Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 16:44:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 15:26:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 15:26:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 14:55:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 14:55:51Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 13:13:27Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 13:11:14Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 11:49:49Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 11:49:25noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 11:49:25ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 11:48:5ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 11:47:14Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

The RCS Partial Service is suggestive that perhaps not running as it should be. Seen this on my logs for weeks

0 Kudos
Reply
Walkman950
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
549 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100mbps Connection, only getting 40mbps


Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46199969
Locked
Provisioning State
Online



Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 -3 38 256 qam 21
2 139000000 -3.7 37 256 qam 1
3 147000000 -4 37 256 qam 2
4 155000000 -4.2 37 256 qam 3
5 163000000 -4.2 37 256 qam 4
6 171000000 -4.2 37 256 qam 5
7 179000000 -4.2 37 256 qam 6
8 187000000 -4.2 37 256 qam 7
9 195000000 -4 37 256 qam 8
10 203000000 -4.7 37 256 qam 9
11 211000000 -5 37 256 qam 10
12 219000000 -5 37 256 qam 11
13 227000000 -5.2 37 256 qam 12
14 235000000 -5.4 37 256 qam 13
15 243000000 -5.5 37 256 qam 14
16 251000000 -5 37 256 qam 15
17 259000000 -4.7 37 256 qam 16
18 267000000 -4.5 37 256 qam 17
19 275000000 -4 37 256 qam 18
20 283000000 -3.5 38 256 qam 19
21 291000000 -3.2 38 256 qam 20
22 307000000 -3.4 38 256 qam 22
23 315000000 -3.4 38 256 qam 23
24 323000000 -3 38 256 qam 24



Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.6 25 0
2 Locked 37.3 430525 529984
3 Locked 37.3 125873 202471
4 Locked 37.3 446272 493785
5 Locked 37.3 267871 730655
6 Locked 37.3 33642 190942
7 Locked 37.3 316464 634470
8 Locked 37.3 563460 321153
9 Locked 37.6 16518 0
10 Locked 37.6 3412 0
11 Locked 37.6 1820 0
12 Locked 37.6 5696 0
13 Locked 37.3 12685 0
14 Locked 37.3 35676 0
15 Locked 37.3 60416 0
16 Locked 37.6 79015 0
17 Locked 37.3 85575 0
18 Locked 37.6 74048 5
19 Locked 37.6 41345 0
20 Locked 38.6 15951 0
21 Locked 38.6 2724 0
22 Locked 38.9 6 0
23 Locked 38.6 7 0
24 Locked 38.6 0 0


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 46199969 4.95 5120 64 qam 3
2 39400004 4.9 5120 64 qam 4
3 53699991 5.1 5120 64 qam 2
4 60299993 5.1 5120 64 qam 1



Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0


General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
254k;fg87dsfd;kfoA,.iyewrkldJ



Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 25338
Max Traffic Rate 117000047
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0



Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 28975
Max Traffic Rate 10500047
Max Traffic Burst 16320
Min Traffic Rate 0
Max Concatenated Burst 16320
Scheduling Type BestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.73K
  • 402
  • 706
Superstar
540 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100mbps Connection, only getting 40mbps

Upstream power levels quite high:

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 46199969 50 5120 64 qam 3
2 39400004 49 5120 64 qam 4
3 53699991 51 5120 64 qam 2
4 60299993 51 5120 64 qam 1

The HUB reports them a decimal out so are actually what I've posted above.

Downstream levels on some of the channels are quite low (-6 to +10 is in spec).

Lots of errors on some of your downstream channels.

Could you create a BQM (Broadband Quality Monitor) here and post the live link?

This will confirm the quality of your line.

Walkman950
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
534 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100mbps Connection, only getting 40mbps

0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.73K
  • 402
  • 706
Superstar
532 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100mbps Connection, only getting 40mbps

It's 'live' so will take a few hours to give us a better picture.

0 Kudos
Reply
Walkman950
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
530 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100mbps Connection, only getting 40mbps

No problem, appreciate the reply. Intrigued as to what you are able to make of it.

0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.73K
  • 402
  • 706
Superstar
527 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100mbps Connection, only getting 40mbps


@Walkman950 wrote:
No problem, appreciate the reply. Intrigued as to what you are able to make of it.


It should hopefully reinforce the proof of the issues we can see in the stats, meaning VM will need to investigate further and arrange an engineer visit if required.

0 Kudos
Reply
Walkman950
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
521 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100mbps Connection, only getting 40mbps

Funnily enough, my dad is in the same location as me (perhaps 400metres away) and is on the 500mb package. His was shockingly bad and over a few weeks had numerous visits from engineers. I believe they've finally fixed the issue, and when they were fixing it, disconnected at the virgin data hub near us, so left the entire estate without internet access for a few minutes. The engineers had said that by my connection being poor they anticipated any fixes they make would be linked, but this ended up not fixing my issues, but ultimately fixing my dads.

No changes made whatsoever to my network with the exception that since approx January I've been on the 100mb/10 plan.

Prior to this I was on the 500/36, and prior to that, 350/30 and before, 300/30.

My network settings are both wired, and wireless producing the same result. In fact, when I had the 350 package (always using my own two wireless 5GHz routers with VM Hub in Modem Mode) actually achieved 410mbps on a non-virgin Speedtest.net server.

There's been zero changes within my household since the preceding packages, this leads me to believe it must be something outside of my home.
0 Kudos
Reply
Walkman950
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
510 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100mbps Connection, only getting 40mbps

0 Kudos
Reply
SCA1972
  • 5.73K
  • 652
  • 1.92K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
478 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: 100mbps Connection, only getting 40mbps


@Walkman950 wrote:
My network settings are both wired, and wireless producing the same result. In fact, when I had the 350 package (always using my own two wireless 5GHz routers with VM Hub in Modem Mode) actually achieved 410mbps on a non-virgin Speedtest.net server.

There's been zero changes within my household since the preceding packages, this leads me to believe it must be something outside of my home.

Are you still using your own third party router?

The reason I ask is this recent thread:

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/I-m-not-getting-half-the-speed-I-pay-for/m-p/4386896#M240...

Like you the user had changed nothing, but speeds were all of a sudden low.  When their third party kit was removed from the equation speeds were normal.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply