cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Snail mail letter about portmapper vuln

octomancer
Joining in

Hi all,

I received a letter in the post today about a Portmapper vulnerability on my network.

I have verified that port UDP 111 is open on my external IP. It's a quirk of D-Link routers. I've set up a virtual server on the D-Link to forward UDP port 111 to an IP that is not in use, but the port is still open. It seems D-Links are just crap like this.

The reason I have my VM Hub 3.0 in modem mode and a 15 year old D-Link plugged into it, is, ironically because I couldn't get the VM Hub to port forward correctly. I'm pretty sure it's not me as I managed to set my D-Link up to do it. And I've set up many, many SOHO routers to port forward in the past. I work in IT in a role that is very adjacent to network engineering, I understand this stuff, but it's not impossible that the VM Hub just confused me and I fat fingered the config all 7 times I tried to set it up.

That aside, I can't close this port. Do I just have to get into the habit of dropping all communications from VM into the recycling without opening them? And block their emails. Seems like something VM wouldn't want me to do. But I will if they don't let me turn that spam off.

Yours irritatedly,
Rich

9 REPLIES 9

用心棒
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person

If you continue to receive portmapper vulnerability notifications despite having directing incoming traffic, on port 111, to an IP Address where it is unserviceable then you will need to investigate further, read more here Open Portmapper Report | The Shadowserver Foundation

-- 
I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more
Have I helped? Click helpful.jpeg Mark as Helpful Answer and solved, or use thanks.jpeg Kudos to say thanks

Hi Very Insightful Person,