Menu
Coffeeann
Tuning in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Dealing With Creepy SMS phishing - Advice?

Hi there,

I have a question about particularly creepy SMS phishing. here goes:

I have a work phone and a personal phone number. I have never received phishing to my work phone, however, I receive about one phishing text per 2-3 weeks on my personal phone (for the past 5 months).

My personal phone has not been shared with anyone besides family and in a few emails. I only got it last year.

My carrier is Virgin Mobile. And what makes this PARTICULARLY odd, is that the phishing SMS notifications are oddly specific to my situation. Firstly, they have mentioned about my Virgin Mobile needing to update details, being cancelled etc. (clearly knows it is with Virgin). Then they are phishing with 2 of the banks I have accounts with (and no other banks - just those). And then I receive one from the "UK government" mentioning about a support grant (and I'm a business owner).

So it is quite creepy. 

Is there any way to tell if Virgin had a data leak? If so, how can I find out about this and deal with this situation?

Thanks
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
coenoby
Super solver
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Dealing With Creepy SMS phishing - Advice?

@Coffeeann wrote:
My carrier is Virgin Mobile. And what makes this PARTICULARLY odd, is that the phishing SMS notifications are oddly specific to my situation. Firstly, they have mentioned about my Virgin Mobile needing to update details, being cancelled etc. (clearly knows it is with Virgin).

When you moved to using Virgin Mobile did you port your existing number from your old provider or did you use the VM number the sim came with?

The reason I ask is that the 5 digit prefix (or prefixes)  allocated to each mobile provider are all publicly available from a number of sources. For example https://ukareacodes.org/codes/mobile/