Menu
KitL67
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

new installation - broadband

Hi there. I am completely new to new virgin fibre. Just signed up to their broadband service. Full internal installation is due to take place tomorrow (Monday). Yesterday the subcontractors came round to do the external installation. They asked me where I wanted to install the box on the outside wall. I said I had no idea and presumably it depended on what was required inside (eg does it connect to a box? are wires required? where best to place for good broadband connection?) The subcontractors said they had didn't know anything about that and couldn't help me (!) I said that ideally I wanted the wires to come in through the porch as that's in the centre of the house and where previous router was. They said didn't think they could do that as involved coming through glass. So, as they didn't know what to do, they have just pulled the cable through to end of the garden, and left it (presumably) for the internal installers to sort it out tomorrow.

My question is - How do I get answers to my questions about where is the best place to bring the cable in? Should I have asked for a survey on my property? Will this be a problem when they come to do internal installation tomorrow? [Obviously haven't been able to get through to anyone on the phone as it's a weekend.] 

0 Kudos
Nick451
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: new installation - broadband

hi, this is nick451

you should be able to discuss with the installer were best to locate the broadband hub and any other devices that you are having installed, they can usually route cables to get to most locations around the home so that shouldn't be a problem either. any thing else I could help with please message me

how would you like £50 please get talking to friends and family each one you can refer is worth £50 message me for more details.
0 Kudos
jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person