Menu
hirenvadz
Joining in
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

help- New install

Hi, 

Always been with BT, now moving in a new house and getting Virgin. The previous owners had virgin in place, so I can see a brown Virgin box outside the house, and a white wire running into the living room. This is where my Virgin TV will stay. However, for broadband, I wanted my Virgin router upstairs on the first floor.  The property is being rewired so all ceiling out so I am able to run which ever cables required. Which cables would I need to run?? Do I need to run any cables from the brown box to router? or from the living room to router? Have tried to contact Virgin a few times for this but on hold for over 1 hour! 

0 Kudos
Christy_D
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: help- New install

Hi there

We would need to run any coax/cabling. Have you booked a manned install or gone for the quickstart kit?

Thanks

Christy

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
stabilo00
Fibre optic
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

They wont let you run your own coax I am afraid. You could run an ethernet cable and put another router upstairs.
hirenvadz
Joining in
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Hi Christy, I'm not sure, they said they will get an engineer sent out in a few weeks, however all the wiring in the property being done over the next few days. I am happy to get my builders to run the wiring now, or alternatively if the Virgin engineer can do this Asap for me?  Which Cables will need to be run? 

0 Kudos
hirenvadz
Joining in
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Hi Christy, I'm not sure, they said they will get an engineer sent out in a few weeks, however all the wiring in the property being done over the next few days. I am happy to get my builders to run the wiring now, or alternatively if the Virgin engineer can do this Asap for me? Which Cables will need to be run?

0 Kudos
LittleMick73