Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
594 Views
Message 1 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Upgraded from M200 to Gig1, speed dropped from 200Mbps to 100Mbps or less :-(

So, the Hub4 arrived today, did the activation dance and replaced the 2C hub I had in the process.

Here's the speedtest: https://www.speedtest.net/result/9595374670

I've run a few and seen them down to 30Mbps download today!

Phone the fault line, offshore answer, no help except to escalate where I may get a call by Tuesday if I'm lucky. Not exactly a happy punter.

Also noticed that the Hub4, which is modem mode, often times out when I go to http://192.168.100.1/.

Here's the network details, anything I can do to try and fix this in the meantime? Should I be suspicious that there are so few 3.1 channels?

 
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
593 Views
Message 2 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M200 to Gig1, speed dropped from 200Mbps to 100Mbps or less :-(

3.0 Downstream channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 411000000 2.599998 38.983261 QAM256 1
2 419000000 2.799999 38.983261 QAM256 2
3 427000000 2.599998 38.983261 QAM256 3
4 435000000 2.500000 38.983261 QAM256 4
5 443000000 2.799999 38.983261 QAM256 5
6 451000000 2.500000 38.983261 QAM256 6
7 459000000 2.400002 38.983261 QAM256 7
8 467000000 2.099998 38.983261 QAM256 8
9 475000000 2.400002 38.983261 QAM256 9
10 483000000 2.200001 38.983261 QAM256 10
11 491000000 1.799999 38.983261 QAM256 11
12 499000000 1.400002 38.605377 QAM256 12
13 507000000 1.000000 38.605377 QAM256 13
14 515000000 1.000000 38.983261 QAM256 14
15 523000000 0.299999 38.605377 QAM256 15
16 531000000 0.099998 38.605377 QAM256 16
17 539000000 -0.299999 38.605377 QAM256 17
18 547000000 -0.299999 38.605377 QAM256 18
19 555000000 0.000000 38.983261 QAM256 19
20 563000000 0.000000 38.605377 QAM256 20
21 571000000 0.700001 38.983261 QAM256 21
22 579000000 0.599998 38.983261 QAM256 22
23 587000000 0.500000 38.983261 QAM256 23
24 595000000 0.400002 38.605377 QAM256 24
25 603000000 0.500000 38.605377 QAM256 25
26 611000000 0.500000 38.983261 QAM256 26
27 619000000 0.099998 38.983261 QAM256 27
28 627000000 0.000000 38.605377 QAM256 28
29 635000000 -0.299999 38.605377 QAM256 29
30 643000000 0.000000 38.605377 QAM256 30
31 651000000 -0.599998 37.636276 QAM256 31



3.0 Downstream channels
Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 0 0 0
2 Locked 33778791 0 0
3 Locked 383237456 0 0
4 Locked 31703906 0 0
5 Locked 33662855 0 0
6 Locked 33937647 0 0
7 Locked 31596099 0 0
8 Locked 32371108 0 0
9 Locked 34307578 0 0
10 Locked 34243350 0 0
11 Locked 32246667 0 0
12 Locked 32283426 0 0
13 Locked 34235229 0 0
14 Locked 34122615 2 0
15 Locked 32440223 0 0
16 Locked 27157485 0 0
17 Locked 28454413 0 0
18 Locked 28743996 0 0
19 Locked 27308977 0 0
20 Locked 27117361 0 0
21 Locked 28718969 0 0
22 Locked 28794443 0 0
23 Locked 27162369 0 0
24 Locked 47242596 0 0
25 Locked 50006711 0 0
26 Locked 50353431 1 0
27 Locked 47327950 0 0
28 Locked 47737738 0 0
29 Locked 50304436 0 0
30 Locked 51011899 0 0
31 Locked 1031360009 1 0



3.1 Downstream channels
Channel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159 96 4K 1880 QAM4096 728


3.1 Downstream channels
Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159 Locked
1.9 183235939 0


3.0 Upstream channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 53700000 42.020599 5120 KSym/sec 64QAM 2
2 39400000 41.020599 5120 KSym/sec 8QAM 4
3 46200000 41.520599 5120 KSym/sec 64QAM 3
4 60300000 42.020599 5120 KSym/sec 64QAM 1



3.0 Upstream channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 US_TYPE_STDMA 0 0 0 2
2 US_TYPE_STDMA 0 0 0 2
3 US_TYPE_STDMA 0 0 0 2
4 US_TYPE_STDMA 0 0 0 2
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
503 Views
Message 3 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M200 to Gig1, speed dropped from 200Mbps to 100Mbps or less :-(

Phoned the faults line on Friday, usual terrible offshore experience. Unhelpful and hard to understand.

"No Level 2 currently available due to covid, someone will call back by Monday".

Level 2, also offshore and not really interested in helping or able to do anything, phone back today, and said it was a problem in my area (RG6 in Reading) and that it'd only be fixed by Thursday. Anyone else in Reading able to confirm if this is actually a thing, or was I just being fed more lies? 

They did promise a pro-rata refund for the failure that should automatically appear on my bill. Anyone actually had that happen or are they setting themselves up for more failure?

I do so *hate* being a Virgin customer and I wish there were viable alternatives where I live in Reading.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.63K
  • 398
  • 543
Trouble shooter
494 Views
Message 4 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M200 to Gig1, speed dropped from 200Mbps to 100Mbps or less :-(

Have you logged into your account to check the Service Status? That should let you know of any issues in your area.

You can either do this via a browser or the my Virgin Media app

https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/my-virgin-media-app

There is also a Service Status number - 0800 561 0061  which tells you of more local issues down to postcode level

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
479 Views
Message 5 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M200 to Gig1, speed dropped from 200Mbps to 100Mbps or less :-(

I asked the Level 2 drone about this: he said the issue won't show up there (it doesn't...) as "it's a level 4 issue and only level 1 and 2 issues show on the website".

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.74K
  • 2.21K
  • 4.1K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
470 Views
Message 6 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M200 to Gig1, speed dropped from 200Mbps to 100Mbps or less :-(

Check www.samknows.com/realspeed while in router mode.

This runs a speedtest between Samknows and the Hub itself and then a separate one between the Samknows and the device you're on. So it sorts out whether there is network speed issue or an internal speed issue to your device
**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.21K
  • 461
  • 1.08K
Hero
463 Views
Message 7 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M200 to Gig1, speed dropped from 200Mbps to 100Mbps or less :-(

Upstream channel 2 is very wrong as it's showing only 8QAM.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.32K
  • 80
  • 129
Forum Team
Forum Team
395 Views
Message 8 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M200 to Gig1, speed dropped from 200Mbps to 100Mbps or less :-(

Hi cjw296,

 

Thanks for posting on our community forums. Sorry to hear you're having issues with our internet services and slow speed issues, we know how frustrating this issue can be especially when you have just had new equipment.

 

Upon checking remotely from our end there is an issue in your area which will be affecting your performance. We are planning to undertake some upgrades to support the increased demand for our services in your area. When completed, any slow broadband speeds and buffering on TiVo apps you may be experiencing (particularly at peak times) will be resolved

 

The faults ticket reference number is F008031860, our engineers are working to fix this issue as quickly as possible and we do have an estimated fix time of the 17th of June at 13.15pm.

 

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused and appreciate your patience.

 

Kind regards Jodi

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
348 Views
Message 9 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M200 to Gig1, speed dropped from 200Mbps to 100Mbps or less :-(

Roger, what does 8QAM mean and what should it be?

It's actually download speeds (which would be downstream, right?) that's most affected.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25
  • 1
  • 2
On our wavelength
347 Views
Message 10 of 35
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M200 to Gig1, speed dropped from 200Mbps to 100Mbps or less :-(

Jodi, yeah, I think I already said your Level 2 offshore drone had said this was an issue.

What I don't understand is why moving from 200Mbips to 1 Gig service would result in a massive drop in download speeds.

Would you be able to provide more technical detail about that changes that are going to be made under F008031860?

0 Kudos
Reply