Menu
Reply
sgabello
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
598 Views
Message 1 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Unstable/choppy connection - Help me understanding network status logs please.

Hello everyone,

I've been experiencing a choppy connection for some time now... and I was wondering if anyone could help me making any sense of the network status logs of my modem.

It's the 100Mb service on a SuperHub 2. Last reset was 4 days ago.

There is one 3dB forward path attenuator installed on the modem.

Are the numbers below acceptable?

Downstream 

    Rx PowerRxMERPre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
Locked1138750000 Hz256 QAM-1.9 dBmV 36.0 dB40478222879
Locked2146750000 Hz256 QAM-1.3 dBmV 37.1 dB238126632
Locked3154750000 Hz256 QAM-1.6 dBmV 36.8 dB221111297
Locked4162750000 Hz256 QAM-1.8 dBmV 36.6 dB43661351466
Locked5170750000 Hz256 QAM-1.9 dBmV 37.4 dB328024677
Locked6178750000 Hz256 QAM-1.6 dBmV 37.1 dB8637561
Locked7186750000 Hz256 QAM-1.7 dBmV 37.6 dB74761206
Locked8194750000 Hz256 QAM-2.0 dBmV 37.6 dB13335686

 

Upstream 

Locked532600000 HzATDMA46.3 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked253700000 HzATDMA45.0 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked346200000 HzATDMA44.5 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked439400000 HzATDMA45.3 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec

 

Thank you so much to anyone willing to help.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
551 Views
Message 2 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unstable/choppy connection - Help me understanding network status logs please.

There's far too many downstream post-RS (uncorrectable) errors given the run time of the hub, so that would explain a poor connection.  Given that your downstream SNR is adequate but not brilliant, might be worth removing the attenuator, seeing if that helps.  If the post-RS errors continue, then it will require a technician visit to diagnose and resolve the problem, but in that case I'd wait on the forum staff to advise.  You could try phoning it in, but the offshore staff will simply stick to their scripts, and probably get you to restart the hub, and then tell you all is fixed. 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

sgabello
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
514 Views
Message 3 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unstable/choppy connection - Help me understanding network status logs please.

Hey Andrew,

Thank you so much for your advice. I tried and I removed the attenuator as you suggested. The connection still isn't great.

Do the values below look any better? The modem has been running for ~10 hours now.

Downstream

      Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
Locked1138750000 Hz256 QAM1.3 dBmV 36.0 dB28198699
Locked2146750000 Hz256 QAM1.9 dBmV 36.8 dB4034719
Locked3154750000 Hz256 QAM1.6 dBmV 36.8 dB41231174
Locked4162750000 Hz256 QAM1.5 dBmV 36.6 dB6935835
Locked5170750000 Hz256 QAM1.3 dBmV 37.4 dB6681467
Locked6178750000 Hz256 QAM1.6 dBmV 37.1 dB3817554
Locked7186750000 Hz256 QAM1.5 dBmV 37.6 dB2705591
Locked8194750000 Hz256 QAM1.2 dBmV 37.1 dB1108505

 

Upstream

Locked160300000 HzATDMA45.3 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked253700000 HzATDMA44.5 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked346200000 HzATDMA44.3 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked439400000 HzATDMA45.0 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
0 Kudos
Reply
nnnnnnn999
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
509 Views
Message 4 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unstable/choppy connection - Help me understanding network status logs please.

The power levels may deteriorate over time and require you to restart your modem to fix. I had this issue a few years ago.

The coax from the blue or brown box outside the property had a splitter and then when the cable was fed into the property, It had another splitter + attenuator. Very weird but the VM Engineer seemed very incompetent. Removed one and power levels are now around 4-6 (dBmV).

You haven't changed the cable or used a different type of coaxial cable have you ?

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
481 Views
Message 5 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unstable/choppy connection - Help me understanding network status logs please.

Removing the attenuator hasn't materially changed things - power levels are up by a few dBmV as we'd expect, although that's not made any obvious difference to SNR or error levels.  If in ten hours you've got around 6,000 post-RS errors, then there's a noise problem that probably requires a technician visit to fix.  I'll flag this for the forum staff to advise, and they'll book a technician if needed.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Steven_L
  • 7.91K
  • 488
  • 803
Forum Team
Forum Team
462 Views
Message 6 of 20
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Unstable/choppy connection - Help me understanding network status logs please.

Hey @sgabello,

 

Thanks for taking the time to post on our forums and I'm really sorry for the issues that you're having at the moment.

 

I have been able to locate your account via your community profile and can confirm as @Andrew-G suggested there are some issues with the SNR levels that need a technician visit to resolve.

 

We will need to confirm a few details, so that we can get this visit booked in, I will send a private message over in a moment, please look out for this.

 

Regards,

Steven_L

sgabello
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
438 Views
Message 7 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unstable/choppy connection - Help me understanding network status logs please.

@Steven_L Thank you so much for looking into this! I've just replied to the DM.

@nnnnnnn999 Thanks for the suggestion. I went through a full power-cycle multiple times, also before removing the attenuator for this last test.

@Andrew-G Thank you again for the support and flagging the post to the admins. FYI it looks like the line generates ~3000 post-RS error every 10 hours.

I'm now at ~30 hours from the last reset and these are the stats (just for educational purposes):

Locked1138750000 Hz256 QAM1.3 dBmV 36.0 dB625071237
Locked2146750000 Hz256 QAM1.9 dBmV 36.8 dB132931328
Locked3154750000 Hz256 QAM1.7 dBmV 36.2 dB130802039
Locked4162750000 Hz256 QAM1.5 dBmV 36.2 dB122171461
Locked5170750000 Hz256 QAM1.3 dBmV 37.4 dB9832704
Locked6178750000 Hz256 QAM1.6 dBmV 37.1 dB9095859
Locked7186750000 Hz256 QAM1.5 dBmV 37.4 dB84531037
Locked8194750000 Hz256 QAM1.2 dBmV 37.1 dB7676751
0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 7.91K
  • 488
  • 803
Forum Team
Forum Team
390 Views
Message 8 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unstable/choppy connection - Help me understanding network status logs please.

Thanks for confirming your information @sgabello.

 

I have arranged for the appointment and you can find all the information that you need about your appointment on your online account and clicking My Account and Track Your Order.

 

Regards,

Steven_L

 

0 Kudos
Reply
sgabello
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
385 Views
Message 9 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unstable/choppy connection - Help me understanding network status logs please.

@Steven_L thank you so much.

At the moment I can't see the appointment under the "My Account" area as it say it could take up to 24 hours to show up.

Would you mind to send me the detail of the day/time in a DM so I can make sure I'm available?

Many Many thanks!

0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 7.91K
  • 488
  • 803
Forum Team
Forum Team
382 Views
Message 10 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unstable/choppy connection - Help me understanding network status logs please.

 No problem @sgabello, I will send that over now.

 

Thanks,

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply