Menu
Reply
chrise2
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
539 Views
Message 1 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Superhub constantly reboots

Hi,

In recent weeks I've been getting increasingly frequent Internet outages which look to be due to my Virgin Superhub3 rebooting itself for no obvious reason.  I can see reboots are the cause, because when connectivity returns (after around 2-3mins), every time I check the superhub admin portal, it shows "uptime" of about 2 minutes.

I don't see anything obviously related in the modem log, apart from the "LAN login Success" events for me logging in to check. I have checked all the connectors are firmly seated, and tried a different mains lead and a different mains socket - none of this has helped.

As it happens I have an unused identical Superhub 3 here, which was sent in error a couple of years ago in relation to a previous fault.  Would it be possible to try putting this Superhub into service ?  Presumably it would need registered or something ?

I attach pics of:

(A) Connection monitoring graph from my "firebrick" (similar to thinkbroadband.com graphs).  The red/purple "stalactite" show the frequent outage periods, which last 2-3 mins.

(b) Screenshot of Superhub3 Admin/Info page showing the uptime reset just after one of the outages.

MANY thanks!

Chris

 

Screenshot 2020-09-04 at 17.17.05.png

Screenshot 2020-09-04 at 17.11.27.png

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.44K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
535 Views
Message 2 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub constantly reboots

Just to clarify - what do the lights on the Hub do when the reboots happen.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
chrise2
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
533 Views
Message 3 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub constantly reboots

Just the normal sequence for a boot up, as if I'd turned the power off then on.

The main light on the front starts with white (I think) and eventually ends up as purple (I use modem mode). 

Can't quite remember the exact sequence in-between - will check...

Ta

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.44K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
525 Views
Message 4 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub constantly reboots

OK - what might be useful is if we can see the Hub data can you follow this protocol...

--------
First do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any splitters/attenuators/etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Then do a Hub “pinhole reset” - disconnect any ethernet cables and with the Hub "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly with paper clip/SIM tray tool and hold it there for 60 seconds – release the pin then leave it 10’ to stabilise. But, make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first !

If that’s all good.... Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – from the Downstream, Upstream, & Network Logs pages. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button a second time).

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
chrise2
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
460 Views
Message 5 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub constantly reboots

Hi,

Here's the light sequence (timings may not be exact!).  I'm pretty sure this is normal modem mode boot-up:

0:00 main light white/solid
0:45 main light white/flashing
1:30 main light green/flashing
1:40 main light green/solid, arrows green/flashing
2:10 main light red-purple, arrows green/solid, connectvitiy returns
4:10 arrows extinguish

Coax all looks fine visually. It was taken to bits in April this year during an engineer visit which involved replacing all the connectors (all the way to street cabinet) to cure intermittent dropouts in connectivity. Note - those dropouts caused the modem to log loads of T3 timeout errors, but it did not reboot.

Pinhole hard reset tried - sadly still getting the spontaneous reboot 😞

Hub data pasted below. The log shows a small number of timeout errors, but they don't seem to be causing any obvious harm, and don't correspond to the reboots, which are much more frequent. The last timeout error was September 1st, whereas there's been literally hundreds of reboots since then.

Honestly, this doesn't feel like a network/coax type problem, as it seems quite unlikely such an issue would cause the hub to reboot itself continually at random times.

Thanks for any clue!

Chris

 
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 171000000 4.6 38 256 qam 5
2 139000000 5 38 256 qam 1
3 147000000 5 38 256 qam 2
4 155000000 5 38 256 qam 3
5 163000000 4.9 38 256 qam 4
6 179000000 4.5 38 256 qam 6
7 187000000 4.4 38 256 qam 7
8 195000000 4 40 256 qam 8
9 203000000 3.9 38 256 qam 9
10 211000000 3.7 38 256 qam 10
11 219000000 3.5 38 256 qam 11
12 227000000 3.4 38 256 qam 12
13 235000000 3 38 256 qam 13
14 243000000 2.9 38 256 qam 14
15 251000000 2.9 40 256 qam 15
16 259000000 2.9 38 256 qam 16
17 267000000 3 40 256 qam 17
18 275000000 2.9 38 256 qam 18
19 283000000 2.9 40 256 qam 19
20 291000000 2.9 38 256 qam 20
21 299000000 3 38 256 qam 21
22 307000000 3 40 256 qam 22
23 315000000 3 38 256 qam 23
24 323000000 3 38 256 qam 24
 
 
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 5 0
2 Locked 38.9 4 0
3 Locked 38.9 5 0
4 Locked 38.9 4 0
5 Locked 38.9 5 0
6 Locked 38.9 5 0
7 Locked 38.6 6 0
8 Locked 40.3 6 0
9 Locked 38.9 4 0
10 Locked 38.9 5 0
11 Locked 38.6 6 0
12 Locked 38.9 5 0
13 Locked 38.9 5 0
14 Locked 38.9 6 0
15 Locked 40.3 7 0
16 Locked 38.9 5 0
17 Locked 40.3 5 0
18 Locked 38.9 5 0
19 Locked 40.3 5 0
20 Locked 38.9 6 0
21 Locked 38.6 6 0
22 Locked 40.3 5 0
23 Locked 38.6 5 0
24 Locked 38.9 6 0
 
 
Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 53699998 4.225 5120 64 qam 2
2 39400012 4.225 5120 64 qam 4
3 46200000 4.225 5120 64 qam 3
4 60300009 4.225 5120 64 qam 1
 
 
Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
 
 
Network Log
Time Priority Description
05/09/2020 11:10:49 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/09/2020 16:07:42 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/09/2020 19:57:55 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/09/2020 13:58:19 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/08/2020 20:17:18 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/08/2020 10:46:51 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 20:07:55 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 19:22:49 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-zzz.cm modified;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 19:22:49 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 14:29:48 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 09:54:44 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 09:00:59 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2020 10:15:10 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2020 02:07:48 critical REG RSP not received;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2020 02:07:48 Error T6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/08/2020 13:14:21 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 13:00:45 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 01:31:5 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-zzz.cm modified;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 01:31:5 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=xxxx;CMTS-MAC=yyyy;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
 
 
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.44K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
429 Views
Message 6 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub constantly reboots

Yes Hub stats look ok to me - you are going to need VM input to take a look. A VM person should pick this up on here in a day or so.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
chrise2
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
423 Views
Message 7 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub constantly reboots

Cheers John!

0 Kudos
Reply
John_GS
  • 8.01K
  • 424
  • 703
Forum Team
Forum Team
395 Views
Message 8 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub constantly reboots

Hi chrise2

 

Thanks for posting. My apologies for the broadband issues. 

 

It does need a technician visit from checking the system. I'll PM you now to arrange.

 

Kind regards,

John_GS
Forum Team

Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - "How to pay my Virgin Media bill"

0 Kudos
Reply
John_GS
  • 8.01K
  • 424
  • 703
Forum Team
Forum Team
386 Views
Message 9 of 24
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Superhub constantly reboots

Thanks for joining me on PM chrise2,

 

Just to update the thread, the engineer visit has been booked in 🙂

 

Kind regards,

John_GS
Forum Team

Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - "How to pay my Virgin Media bill"

chrise2
  • 30
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
329 Views
Message 10 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub constantly reboots

Hello again,

So the good news is a technician visited last week and swapped the SH3 for another SH3.  They also checked the coax, and signal levels etc.  All good, and the newer SH3 managed a whole 6 days without a single reboot, which, compared to previous performance, would seem to represent a result!

The bad news is, as of this-afternoon, the replaced SH3 has rebooted at least 12 times in the last three hours, so it appears the problem isn't fixed 😞

I'm really struggling to think what the cause could be.  For a network/coax issue, the hub wouldn't reboot itself (when I check, "uptime" always corresponds to the last 2-3 min outage).  Whereas if instead it's a hub fault, then it would have presumably been cured with the replacement hub...

So I'm kind of stumped now!

0 Kudos
Reply