Menu
Reply
unclebobuk
  • 41
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
563 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Superhub Power levels too high - assistance required

Hi,

   I'd started a thread pre-xmas after having issues with regular and significant speed dips from full to just a few KB's a second. This would occur every 20-30 mins and made streaming a real pain. I had some comments made my power levels were too high and i needed an engineer. I decided to sit on the issue and see how it went over Xmas after making some tweaks to how my router handled dropped packets/latency. Sadly it's still a problem. However I cannot seem to get a response from anyone on my existing thread (despite directly PMing both moderators who came back to me). Hence the reason for this  new post. Original thread can be found here (https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/QuickStart-set-up-and/Superhub-3-Power-levels-modem-mode/td-p/4...) If someone from the mod team can come back I'd appreciate it. I'd like to arrange an engineer visit please.

0 Kudos
Reply
sayekm
  • 330
  • 29
  • 64
Fibre optic
530 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub Power levels too high - assistance required

You really need to call Virgin and be patient with the long call. If you have a fault they will book a engineer. I found the people on the phone in India are clueless therefore quick to book a engineer... this is my personal experience 🙂

You can discuss the isues with the engineer 🙂

 




xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
M200 Oomph - 5GB SIM + 3 extra SIM family plan - BT whole Wi-Fi - Sky Q
............................................................................................................................
Don't cry over Virgin price increase instead speak to retentions team and negotiate a better deal.
0 Kudos
Reply
unclebobuk
  • 41
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
526 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub Power levels too high - assistance required

Yes I'm aware. I already tried that approach and gave up after nearly an hour on hold. I was advised previously by a moderator an engineer could be arranged via this route if required and quite honestly my sanity won't stand up to another hour of my life lost in VM's IVR system.

0 Kudos
Reply
sayekm
  • 330
  • 29
  • 64
Fibre optic
503 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub Power levels too high - assistance required

Yes it's possible they can arrange a visit but I would imagine you not top of the list.

No one wants to hold for an hour..but you can plug handsfree in 1 ear and carry on with your business while waiting Virgin to answer

Other option is wait here very patiently......your choice 😉




xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
M200 Oomph - 5GB SIM + 3 extra SIM family plan - BT whole Wi-Fi - Sky Q
............................................................................................................................
Don't cry over Virgin price increase instead speak to retentions team and negotiate a better deal.
0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 5.45K
  • 284
  • 898
Superstar
500 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub Power levels too high - assistance required

Those power levels are rather too high and need to be corrected, but I strongly suspect that they are not the cause of your reported problem.  Looking at the BQM in your other thread it looks more like an area issue.  That could explain why VM are reluctant to send an engineer.

0 Kudos
Reply
Z92
  • 2.59K
  • 208
  • 415
Trouble shooter
483 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub Power levels too high - assistance required

It would be best if you could keep to the one thread rather than creating multiple threads on the same topic, as you are going to get the same answers. 

Can you post a more upto date BQM, or even a live BQM? It does seem more of an area issue first, which, once resolved, VM can look at sending an engineer to look at your specific problem, should you still have one. 

0 Kudos
Reply
unclebobuk
  • 41
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
425 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub Power levels too high - assistance required

Just for reference. I only created this new thread after 2 weeks of posting and PM'ing mods for a response on the original and getting zero responses. I don't think it's unreasonable therefore to post a new thread and link the original. As you can see at least it's now seeing some attention so the tactic so far has borne the desired outcome.

 

Live link 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/e33f0216d3b18c6975e7ebe15e39cd88dd2b6388

unclebobuk_0-1610459945101.png

 

Here's the latest data from the hub..

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12030000001340256 qam9
22110000001340256 qam10
321900000012.640256 qam11
422700000012.540256 qam12
523500000012.540256 qam13
624300000012.340256 qam14
72510000001240256 qam15
82590000001240256 qam16
92670000001240256 qam17
1027500000011.840256 qam18
1128300000011.938256 qam19
1229100000011.938256 qam20
1329900000011.538256 qam21
1430700000010.538256 qam22
153150000001138256 qam23
163230000001038256 qam24
173310000007.336256 qam25
1837100000011.338256 qam26
1937900000011.538256 qam27
2038700000011.838256 qam28
2139500000011.638256 qam29
2240300000011.538256 qam30
2341100000011.637256 qam31
2441900000011.838256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3270
2Locked40.3150
3Locked40.3170
4Locked40.3130
5Locked40.3200
6Locked40.3180
7Locked40.3100
8Locked40.3210
9Locked40.9180
10Locked40.3160
11Locked38.9120
12Locked38.9480
13Locked38.9430
14Locked38.9150
15Locked38.9430
16Locked38.9570
17Locked36.6480
18Locked38.9620
19Locked38.6260
20Locked38.6170
21Locked38.6200
22Locked38.6230
23Locked37.6170
24Locked38.649

0

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000035.3512064 qam3
22580000034.5512064 qam4
33940000035.5512064 qam2
44620000035.8512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Also looks like the modem got an update (my guess anyway)

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

11/01/2021 02:10:36noticeSW download Successful - Via NMS
11/01/2021 02:07:21noticeSW Download INIT - Via NMS

 

With regard to my issue I guess it could be an area problem. My service is stable for a random period (sometimes 20-30 minutes) and the the bandwidth falls off a cliff and drops to a few KB's/sec. After 30-45 seconds it recovers.... and so on.. I'm sure the wiring could certainly do with a once over as could the cabinet on our street which is a bit of mess (cover open and hanging at a funny angle with wires dangling out. Happy to supply photos of that if needed.

thanks

 

0 Kudos
Reply
unclebobuk
  • 41
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
471 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub Power levels too high - assistance required

BQM Live link

 

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/e33f0216d3b18c6975e7ebe15e39cd88dd2b6388

 

Also looks like an update was pushed out last night

 

11/01/2021 02:10:36noticeSW download Successful - Via NMS
11/01/2021 02:07:21notice

SW Download INIT - Via NMS

 

no idea how you confirm the version though (is it the config file naming?)

oh well. maybe this will help. time will tell.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
unclebobuk
  • 41
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
459 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub Power levels too high - assistance required

Located the version info - was rebooted last night post update.

Standard specification compliant: DOCSIS 3.0
Hardware version: 11
Software version: 9.1.1912.304

 

unclebobuk_0-1610463681280.png

 

This is our local cabinet. As you can see it's been well maintained..

0 Kudos
Reply
unclebobuk
  • 41
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
342 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub Power levels too high - assistance required

So another week of deafening silence from the mod team...

😞

0 Kudos
Reply