Menu
Reply
  • 74
  • 2
  • 5
toasty772
Dialled in
934 Views
Message 1 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Superhub 2 - multiple "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors

Hi,

 

Over the past few weeks I've been having multiple connection drops on wired and wireless connections - usually for a few seconds but sometimes longer. Looking at the Superhub 2 logs, there's multiple errors saying "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" at times which correspond with the connection drops.

Is this something that an engineer visit would likely help with ?

Thanks!

 

Network Log

First Time

Last Time

Priority

Error Number

Description

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

26/05/2019 07:48:34 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 74
  • 2
  • 5
toasty772
Dialled in
933 Views
Message 2 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 - multiple "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors

 

Downstream


DS-1DS-2DS-3DS-4DS-5DS-6DS-7DS-8

Frequency (Hz)

138750000

146750000

154750000

162750000

170750000

178750000

186750000

194750000

Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Channel ID

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

Modulation

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

Interleave Depth

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

Power Level (dBmV)

-13.87

-13.36

-13.14

-13.22

-12.83

-12.57

-12.49

-12.23

RxMER (dB)

32.58

33.16

33.27

33.06

33.49

33.96

33.83

33.83

 

 

Upstream


US-1US-2US-3US-4

Channel Type

2.0

2.0

2.0

2.0

Channel ID

4

3

2

1

Frequency (Hz)

25800000

32600000

39400000

46200000

Ranging Status

Success

Success

Success

Success

Modulation

16QAM

16QAM

16QAM

16QAM

Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)

5120000

5120000

5120000

5120000

Mini-Slot Size

2

2

2

2

Power Level (dBmV)

50.71

51.50

52.00

52.00

T1 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

T2 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

T3 Timeouts

1

4481

0

0

T4 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

 

Upstream Burst


Req
(1)Init Maint
(3)Per Maint
(4)Adv Short
(9)Adv Long
(10)Adv UGS
(11)

Modulation Type

16QAM

QPSK

16QAM

16QAM

16QAM

16QAM

Differential Encoding

OFF

OFF

OFF

OFF

OFF

OFF

Preamble Length

56

640

384

104

104

104

Preamble Value Offset

652

0

0

716

716

716

FEC Error Correction (T)

0

5

5

6

9

5

FEC Codeword Information Bytes (K)

16

34

34

85

220

86

Maximum Burst Size

0

0

0

4

255

255

Guard Time Size

8

48

48

8

8

8

Last Codeword Length

Fixed

Fixed

Fixed

Shortened

Shortened

Shortened

Scrambler On/Off

ON

ON

ON

ON

ON

ON

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.3K
  • 142
  • 590
cje85
Problem sorter
924 Views
Message 3 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 - multiple "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors

Yes, an engineer visit is definitely needed. The downstream power levels are much too low and upstream is slightly too high.

You could try calling Customer Service but if they won't send an engineer wait for one of the forum team to respond here (it can take a few days).

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 476
  • 16
  • 75
BrianY
Fibre optic
900 Views
Message 4 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 - multiple "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors

Have you checked all screwed connections within the property as well?
Any found to be loose resecure finger tight then reboot and check the signal levels again.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 74
  • 2
  • 5
toasty772
Dialled in
879 Views
Message 5 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 - multiple "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors

Thanks for the reply guys. all connections are fully tight and secure, and there's nothing within the household to disturb them.

What sort of power level ranges are considered acceptable for downstream / upstream ?

Will give it a day or so and hope one of the forum team might pick this one up, not sure I could face the prospect of calling their support line just yet !

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.68K
  • 307
  • 1.07K
Dave_cq
Community elder
872 Views
Message 6 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 - multiple "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors


@toasty772 wrote:

Thanks for the reply guys. all connections are fully tight and secure, and there's nothing within the household to disturb them.

What sort of power level ranges are considered acceptable for downstream / upstream ?

Will give it a day or so and hope one of the forum team might pick this one up, not sure I could face the prospect of calling their support line just yet !


Acceptable ranges are...

Downstream:  -6dBmV to +10 dBmV ... yours are way to low

Signal To Noise:  34.5dB or preferably much higher ... you have a noisy line.

Upstream: 31 to 51 dBmV ... Yours are too high

 

 

********* SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - Vivid 100Mbps **********

Electron
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 684
  • 36
  • 52
Forum Team (Retired) Louis_R
Forum Team (Retired)
854 Views
Message 7 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 - multiple "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors

Hi Toasty772,

 

We are sorry to hear you have been having these issues. How long have the dropouts been lasting for? Also how frequent have they become? An engineer visit may help but there are a few things we would need to run through via a private message.

 

Many thanks,

 

Louis

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 74
  • 2
  • 5
toasty772
Dialled in
851 Views
Message 8 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 - multiple "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors

Thanks for the reply Louis. I think the issue has been going on to an extent for a few weeks at least (streaming music cutting for a few seconds etc) but over the last couple of weeks seems to have become far more frequent.

The dropouts are usually for about 10 seconds but occasionally longer.

Happy to provide any other relevant info. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 979
  • 46
  • 87
Forum Team (Retired) Tom_S
Forum Team (Retired)
858 Views
Message 9 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 - multiple "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors

Thank you toasty772,

 

I'm going to drop you that PM so we can look at getting it sorted for you.

 

Thanks,

Tom_S

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 74
  • 2
  • 5
toasty772
Dialled in
784 Views
Message 10 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2 - multiple "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors

Thanks for the input everyone, an engineer came and changed the hub to a Hub 3 and replaced the silver filter(?) that's just before the TV / broadband  cable splitter in the house to one which kept the levels at a more acceptable rate. All seemed good on the whole (apart from only 3 upstream bonded channels ?) Started cutting out the other day again so I rebooted the modem and noticed that there were 4 upstream bonded channels , lots of dropouts and low downstream power levels but the next day it seemed OK so will keep an eye on things.

Still getting a few "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" errors in the logs I notice.

If there's more issues I'll post the log outputs here again. Do I need to redact the MAC address from the log before posting ?

 

0 Kudos
Reply