Menu
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Sourcing approved cable for my extension

Hi. My electrician will be laying all the cables soon for my extension and I want to make sure I am cabled up for Virgin, with the wall points ready for commissioning.  Please could you advise on what cable to use and points to install? I have a (very old) pre-existing cable connection to a box outside the house for later commissioning/connection.  Thanks.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Sourcing approved cable for my extension

Hi there

Happy to provide assistance, we would always advise getting out engineers to install cabling as we use the correct crimped connections, insulated cabling and isolators.

Please drop me a private message with your details and i'll take a look into this for you.

Thanks

Christy

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
Problem sorter
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

As noted by Christy, only VM can install the "VM" cables, i.e. co-ax from outside to the Hub, V6 etc.

However you can install ethernet cables to the extension for wired connections as VM will not do this. I would suggest you carefully plan where you will need cables and try to avoid wifi connections where possible.  If you do need wifi I would suggest you install a wired Access Point centrally, preferably in the ceiling, similar to a smoke alarm.  Any good electrician should be able to do this if you are not confident at self installing.

0 Kudos
Joining in
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Thanks and yes, I am looking to put an ethernet network port in the TV area as well and as you say, trying to avoid core services being dependent on wifi where possible.