Menu
IvanM1
Joining in
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Second TiVo box and WiFi with distance!

Hi, I’m building a studio (with separate fuse box to rest of house) in our 100ft garden and want a second TiVo box and working WiFi in it. Existing WiFi from Hub 3 does not reach the location. Is there a simple Virgin Media solution like getting the engineer to run the cable to the studio for the TiVo box with a second Hub or router to provide the WiFi?  Thanks for any comments.

0 Kudos
BumbleVMTech
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Second TiVo box and WiFi with distance!

Hi, would need to run ethenet to the bottom of garden and a separate access point for wifi.  When you run ducting for your cabling put an extra draw cord for us to pull coax in for TiVo

Regards

Rich

Here to help! I'm a Field Technician helping out from home.

Find out more REFER A FRIEND AND SHARE £100 BETWEEN YOU

****************** ASK ME HOW ******************
0 Kudos
IvanM1
Joining in
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Sorry to be a dimwit but run an Ethernet (?cat 5/6 cable) from existing Hub 3 to studio? What is a ‘separate access point’ for wifi? Where is a good place to get ducting and draw cord? This sounds over and above my capabilities. Would a VM engineer be able to do all of this for me and charge accordingly.

0 Kudos
Z92
Problem sorter
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Surely you already have ducting and draw cords to get the electric cables to your new studio? Although not ideal the other cables can go in the same ducting. Just leave the coax for the vm tech to pull through.

You would nerd to setup the additional access point yourself but it's pretty easy. Here's an example one https://www.ebuyer.com/732415-asus-rt-ac88u-ai-mesh-dual-band-ac3100-gigabit-router-rt-ac88u

0 Kudos
Roger_Gooner
Legend
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator