Menu
gco1234
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Replacement V6 box taking hours to set up

A few days ago my V6 box that I had been using since February 2018 when I joined Virgin Media stopped working. My telly just displayed static and flashing colours behind text. I tested my HDMI cable with my DVD player and there was no problems there. The television itself is fine. So I contacted VM and they said they'd send a replacement box that I was to self-install. I asked the representative on the phone if I just had to switch the connections over from the old box to the new one and he said yes. Simple enough.

Today I received my new V6 box (and well done to VM for the prompt delivery). I start up the new box, having switched over all the wires from previous, and I am met with the welcome message as usual. After that however, a symbol appears on the screen displaying a little arrow that fills up bit-by-bit, pointing downwards to another symbol that appears to represent the V6 box. The box itself slowly flashes an orange light, then a red light. Then the box seems to reset itself and after a few seconds I get the welcome message once again.

I assumed this was part of the installation process and the manual that came with the delivery did say it's normal for this to happen but this has been repeating for over 2 hours now. The manual indicates it should only take around half an hour.

Is it just a case of a longer than expected installation or do I have a problem?

0 Kudos
jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacement V6 box taking hours to set up

Did you not have to "activate" it by phone or text?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos