cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pre-pull...Kelly group

mda99das
Up to speed

I am new to VM and awaiting Kelly to place a new RG11 cable in. It turns out that the cable and wireless line that was laid in 1996 was routed to a green cabinet box that is no longer in use. It is still physically present, but the VM engineer advised me that it is locked and its in an awful condition.

Now I know many of you are in the same boat and awaiting a repull / pre-pull. This is not done by VM at all. I understand that there are certain areas that have fibre and open reach have public infrastructure access so VM can lay their own cables in BT ducting. Otherwise it is outsourced to Kelly group who are based in Wembley.

After some googling, it appears that there is a breakdown in communication. Also the cable pullers are only paid for the jobs they complete via bonus. So they get a basic rate, and this is topped up with commissions . I totally understand that if a job is too difficult and its going to take 4 hours and no guarantee, then they will decline. The staff morale which you can read on recruitment sites like indeed is not great. My engineer has been in touch with his manager who in turn has been in touch with Kelly and I have lost count of the number of times of no shows. 2 men did arrive on the 7th after someone spray painted the CATV cover bright green 2 days prior, and a blue rope is in place.

But to those that are still waiting, hopefully this gives you an insight as to why things may be so bad...

7 REPLIES 7

mda99das
Up to speed

Just thought I would add, the VM team on this forum have been great, and really appreciate their efforts to help a new customer. 

There are also some very knowledgeable people on this forum as well that have given me hints and tips.

Once my work has been completed I will probably write a blog sharing my experience. But so far I am please with my connection, and have got used to the Virgin boxes.

mda99das