Menu
Reply
Aaron_s30
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
241 Views
Message 1 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Power Levels

Can anyone check to see if these power levels are ok. It’s for my mum and she is having trouble with connection atm. Thanks. 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
723000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46199912
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
17230000006.938256 qam40
25390000005.537256 qam17
35470000005.337256 qam18
45550000005.137256 qam19
5563000000537256 qam20
65710000005.337256 qam21
75790000005.537256 qam22
85870000005.337256 qam23
95950000004.837256 qam24
106030000004.137256 qam25
116110000004.537256 qam26
12619000000537256 qam27
136270000005.838256 qam28
14635000000637256 qam29
156430000005.937256 qam30
166510000005.437256 qam31
176590000005.538256 qam32
18667000000638256 qam33
196750000006.638256 qam34
206830000006.938256 qam35
216910000006.638256 qam36
226990000006.438256 qam37
237070000006.438256 qam38
247150000006.538256 qam39


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.939274693
2Locked37.631211210158
3Locked37.33360168864
4Locked37.63361622110
5Locked37.63299148803
6Locked37.63292477299
7Locked37.63864064986
8Locked37.637754341875
9Locked37.626362397556
10Locked37.6869234751
11Locked37.69172391237
12Locked37.68382402589
13Locked38.969913564
14Locked37.648727428
15Locked37.3153315326
16Locked37.624808997
17Locked38.623179006
18Locked38.671069829
19Locked38.684539585
20Locked38.910814411677
21Locked38.93362993028
22Locked38.9318022867
23Locked38.661593184
24Locked38.646903541



Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
14619991246.5512064 qam1
22580000045.5512064 qam4
33260007045.5512064 qam3
43939998546512064 qam2


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0040
2ATDMA00340
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0050




0 Kudos
Reply
Z92
  • 2.28K
  • 189
  • 356
Problem sorter
230 Views
Message 2 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Power Levels

Your stats are worrying, when was the last time you rebooted the box?

0 Kudos
Reply
Aaron_s30
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
212 Views
Message 3 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Power Levels

Just now actually as my devices kept disconnecting! 

Here are the new stats: 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

17230000006.338256 qam40
25390000005.838256 qam17
35470000005.637256 qam18
45550000005.537256 qam19
55630000005.537256 qam20
65710000005.637256 qam21
75790000005.837256 qam22
85870000005.537256 qam23
9595000000537256 qam24
106030000004.537256 qam25
116110000004.837256 qam26
126190000005.137256 qam27
136270000005.638256 qam28
146350000005.937256 qam29
156430000005.937256 qam30
166510000005.537256 qam31
176590000005.438256 qam32
186670000005.638256 qam33
19675000000638256 qam34
206830000006.438256 qam35
216910000006.338256 qam36
22699000000638256 qam37
23707000000638256 qam38
247150000005.938256 qam39



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.644423107994
2Locked38.92491158394
3Locked37.62323059430
4Locked37.62200661503
5Locked37.61999765086
6Locked37.62189059407
7Locked37.32181763506
8Locked37.62050265566
9Locked37.61958555585
10Locked37.61877445021
11Locked37.61935862409
12Locked37.62016846502
13Locked38.62134257352
14Locked37.32055161535
15Locked37.62476265039
16Locked37.62661153793
17Locked38.62782052691
18Locked38.63054755587
19Locked38.92627346501
20Locked38.934920128220
21Locked38.935942104760
22Locked38.636889117624
23Locked38.63666234712
24Locked38.636033139487

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000046.5512064 qam1
22580000045.5512064 qam4
33260000045.5512064 qam3
43940000045.8512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0020
4ATDMA0000

 

Also what’s worrying? I have a 6dB attenuator attached for reference. 

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.53K
  • 254
  • 729
Superstar
204 Views
Message 4 of 23
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Power Levels

If those noise figures are after a reset you have a serious problem.  Check that all your coax connections are tight. If they are, you need an engineer visit.

Leave the attenuator in place.

Aaron_s30
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
189 Views
Message 5 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Power Levels

Ok, thanks for the clarification ! It’s so annoying I will be making an officials complaint as I rang VM on Monday last week and they said it was because I had too many devices and everything was ok. So they upgraded me from m200 to m350 for a few pounds more per month. I am actually fuming Virgin if you see this. Absolutely disgusting daylight robbery. 

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.53K
  • 254
  • 729
Superstar
183 Views
Message 6 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Power Levels

Not the first time I've heard of that trick. It gets rid of a customer with a problem, and credit for an upsell at the same time.  I would like to think that's just an unscrupulous employee and not official VM policy, but who knows.

In the meantime, you still need to get it fixed. Did you check all the coax connectors, including those on TV boxes?  A loose connection can cause a signal flow on the coax outer sceen and allow noise ingress.  If that's not the problem you will need an engineer visit.

Aaron_s30
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
170 Views
Message 7 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Power Levels

Yes hope it is just this one employee. When I rang them when I first had issues, they were also trying to sell me a SIM!

Yep have checked the coax connections earlier and all are finger tight. Still have issues. Paying £106 a month and don’t expect these issues and especially not being told to upgrade. 

 

Edit/Update: No kidding, just as I clicked post I had a phone call from VM asking me about how the service has been. I obviously said it not been the best and we’ve been having trouble keeping devices connected on WiFi and Ethernet even on CAT6! When there is only 1-2 devices online everything is good but anything more you get devices saying there connected but absolutely nothing loads! They said once again everything looks good from their systems. And again offered me a discount if I wanted upgrade to M500! I would think that M200 would be enough for 10-15 (max) devices let alone M500 (over double the speed). I have said that my levels look off and they just said literally what you said, try tightening the coaxial cables and see if anything improves. I then got cut off. 

Will try calling them again tomorrow to try and book an engineer. During these times how long can I expect to wait? 

Only other option is to leave Virgin Media and move to BT after nearly 10 years of being with them! The only reason why I have stuck with them is because of the speeds they offer compared to other providers that’s available in my area. 

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.53K
  • 254
  • 729
Superstar
150 Views
Message 8 of 23
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Power Levels

So they are still trying to upsell instead of dealing with the problem.

Increasing the contract speed is of course nonsense.  People on Openreach lines at 70 Mb or much less can manage large numbers of connected devices.

In your place I'd call in and select the 'think of leaving us' option. Explain how you have been sold a more expensive contract instead of getting the fault sorted, and insist on an engineer visit.  Tell them it's not the signal levels that are wrong, but the extreme data errors due to noise on the line. That's what is limiting your device connections.

Aaron_s30
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
101 Views
Message 9 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Power Levels

Okay, will try and ring them today. Hopefully I get somewhere with this. 🤞
0 Kudos
Reply
Aaron_s30
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
97 Views
Message 10 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Power Levels

@virginmedia pls can you reply to this getting nowhere on the phone!
0 Kudos
Reply