Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

No internal wall socket

Hi guys, I’m really hoping someone can help me. 

I ordered the virgin media M500 broadband for my partner to replace our current WiFi as he keeps “lagging” whilst online. Before the new COD comes out this weekend. Which is a huge deal for him. 

So I searched online and they suggested we already had the connections so they could send out a quick start box. So I’ve tried to connect it tonight and the box I thought looked like the one I was to plug the router into is not an internal connection but just a cover for some wires coming in from an external brown box, that is labelled virgin media. 

I’ve tried to connect to these wires that run into the house but the router just flashes green for an hour and becomes extremely hot. 

Sorry if this all sounds very vague. We only brought this house (our first house) back in June and I’m not very technically minded. 

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Superfast
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: No internal wall socket

Picture?

It sounds like you need to active the HUB:

0800 953 950

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

B5D91281-89B6-47F4-A7E5-659E5169A89A.jpeg

687ED584-BC00-4E85-BA0E-D00A033E9D4C.jpeg

 Sorry I thought I had added the pictures to the original post. The thing I thought was the internal connection box is only a cover for the two wires coming through the wall. 

Thank you for your reply. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Hi Katyloulo,

Welcome to our forums and thank you for reaching out with your installation concerns. I'm sorry that you've had trouble getting your services up and running.

The pictures and description you've posted would suggest that you do have the correct connections in your property. Carl's suggestion seems pretty accurate to me. Have you been able to get everything up and running since your post?