Menu
Reply
InebriatedAnt
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
234 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

No Ranging Response Received T3 Critical

Hey,

 

After no success with the phones and the Twitter agents not having a clue, I’ve been guided to the forums!

 

I'm hoping someone from Virgin can actually help me out here..

I’ve seen other posts regarding the same errors I am having, I get very poor download (to the point nothing works, but the speeds show between 20-40mb down and 20up.)

EDE611E7-EDE9-4701-9DA7-24A4A9D03BB4.jpeg

I have checked the router status and logs and have seen this:

 

5B99FE5B-1CDC-46F9-B450-B31986DD6A36.jpeg



Can someone please let me know what I have to do? From the other forum posts it seems I need to have some changes done externally?

 

Any help would be great! I don’t want to have to call up and have to threaten to cancel just to get some support 😞

 

Thanks!

 

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
Reply
SCA1972
  • 5.73K
  • 652
  • 1.92K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
225 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response Received T3 Critical

The network log isn't showing anything unusual.  Posting all the figures from Downstream and Upstream tabs from the hub status screen might be more helpful.

You appear to be testing speeds via a wireless device, VM don't guarantee wireless speeds so a wired test would be needed to see if the issue is with the line or just the WiFi.

______________________
Scott

My setup: VM TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
InebriatedAnt
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
220 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response Received T3 Critical

Hey, 

 

Thanks for the speedy response, I appreciate the comment re the wifi but I get the results very similar bar a few mb and obviously a higher ping on the iPhone but I use a wired network with the same issues.

Im also using an Orbi set up and the speed tests from that also show it to be below the 200.

 

I will get a copy of the logs a little later when back home.

 

Thanks again, 

0 Kudos
Reply
InebriatedAnt
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
161 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response Received T3 Critical

Hey,

 

So i thought id leave it as generally i get no where with Virgin but a week later and still on much less than half the download speed im paying for:

Screenshot 2021-02-14 at 10.09.18.png

 

This time it was wired, just to keep everyone happy. I understand Virgin don't provide a guarantee on wifi, i have worked in IT for 8 years and know the usual stories and expectations but i was hoping that perhaps someone from virgin actually checks these forums and could help me figure out why i get such a drop? I know it is a contended line and what other people are doing in the network may impact this, but my speeds shouldn't really fall below half. I would imagine there is some issue on the line due to the upload being fine, I had a similar issue but reversed with BT, i got 0.2mb upload making it impossible to use, this now just buffers constantly with the indicated 60mb. 

Im also still getting the exact same issues as posted in my first post, the critical issues and such, can anyone shed some light on this?

 

Thanks

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
SCA1972
  • 5.73K
  • 652
  • 1.92K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
153 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response Received T3 Critical

A couple of things.

A wired test is a good start and it is not about keeping people happy, it is about measuring with a method that is more consistent and reliable than wireless. 

As I stated previously the errors in your log are not unusual, I have them in my log and still get full speed, so they are not as "critical" as they appear.  You haven't posted the requested figures from the Downstream and Upstream tabs of the hub status screen, they are often more illuminating than some random errors in the log.  If you can show evidence of a line issue then it is easier to get the attention of VM staff on here to look into this and if necessary book a tech visit to rectify it.

Also your speed test results show they are to a third party server rather than your nearest VM test server which could result in slow speeds because of issues outside of the VM network, unlikely but always worth a test to a VM server for comparison.

______________________
Scott

My setup: VM TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
InebriatedAnt
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
135 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response Received T3 Critical

Hey,

 

Thanks for the reply, so heres a test on a VM server,

 

Screenshot 2021-02-14 at 18.40.49.png

 

Also those Downstream and Upstream bits of info are as follows:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

120275000010.538256 qam9
221075000010.338256 qam10
32187500001038256 qam11
42267500009.938256 qam12
52347500009.638256 qam13
62427500009.538256 qam14
72507500009.438256 qam15
82587500009.138256 qam16
92667500009.338256 qam17
102747500009.338256 qam18
112827500009.438256 qam19
122907500009.838256 qam20
1329875000010.338256 qam21
143067500001038256 qam22
153147500001038256 qam23
1632275000010.540256 qam24
1733075000010.340256 qam25
183707500009.838256 qam26
193787500009.640256 qam27
203867500009.340256 qam28
213947500009.440256 qam29
22402750000940256 qam30
234107500008.938256 qam31
244187500008.940256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.91000
2Locked38.61530
3Locked38.9800
4Locked38.91250
5Locked38.91874
6Locked38.61620
7Locked38.91710
8Locked38.92000
9Locked38.91560
10Locked38.91520
11Locked38.92200
12Locked38.91530
13Locked38.91170
14Locked38.91540
15Locked38.91860
16Locked40.3880
17Locked40.31000
18Locked38.91090
19Locked40.31610
20Locked40.32860
21Locked40.31640
22Locked40.31900
23Locked38.922215
24Locked40.31290

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000037.8512032 qam3
25370000038.8512032 qam2
33940000036.8512032 qam4
43260000036.8512064 qam5



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Does that give any clearer picture as to what may be going on with my connection? some days i get the 218mb which was usual at first, but most days i jump between 40-120mb.

 

Thanks for the help and info so far!

 

0 Kudos
Reply
SCA1972
  • 5.73K
  • 652
  • 1.92K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
126 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: No Ranging Response Received T3 Critical

Downstream power levels are too high on a few channels, recommended range is -6 to +10. Also the modulation on the upstream has most channels at 32 qam and one at 64 qam when they should ideally all be at 64 qam. This might be the reason for your slower speeds.

You will probably need a technician to visit and adjust your levels. You can try calling to book a visit or wait here for the forum team to get to this thread. I have escalated the thread with the staff so you should get a response in the next day or two.

______________________
Scott

My setup: VM TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Beth_G
  • 2.54K
  • 160
  • 247
Forum Team
Forum Team
97 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response Received T3 Critical

Hi @InedbriatedAnt,

 

Welcome to the Community Forums! Thank you for taking the time to post here.

 

I'm sorry to see you've been having a few problems with your broadband performance and speeds. As Scott as correctly pointed out, there are a few issues with your signal levels which will need adjusting by an engineer. Please let me know if you'd be happy for us to book in an appointment for you and we'll get that arranged from here.

 

Kind regards,

 

Beth

InebriatedAnt
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
83 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response Received T3 Critical

Thanks for looking into this, i would appreciate if you could get an engineer out to look at my problems 🙂 

0 Kudos
Reply
InebriatedAnt
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
77 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response Received T3 Critical

Thanks for the detail in response, always good to learn what things should be 🙂 

 

and thanks for escalating!