Menu
Badbob82
Just joined
Message 1 of 4
Flag for a moderator

New Install on hold

Hi, I signed up to Virgin a few weeks back to move from BT with an install date of 02/10. 

I got a text message telling me on Monday that my install has been put on hold. I called up to be told that this was true and there was no resolution date available. The staff were very apologetic but just keep telling me they’ll add a note to my account and trying to fob me off.

Twice I have been put through to the Pre Install Team and twice they have cut me off after 45 mins on hold. One CS operator suggested I email them and provided me with an address that bounced straight back saying “this address is no longer monitored, call us on 0345......etc”. 

Im an Engineer myself, so I understand that problems can be encountered. However, my problem is that Virgin told BT to end my service on 02/10 and now won’t commence service until an unknown date. So, come Friday afternoon I’m cut off from the world. Both my wife and I work based from home at the moment (she full time at home and me doing paperwork before heading to site), and she especially relies on the Broadband. We can get by on mobile data for a short period, but not an indefinite period. 

BT say it’s too late to stop the shut off of my service as it involves a number port and it will take up to 5 business days to resume service and it will come with a different number (not bothered about that, as no one calls the landline anyway).

If one more person tells me that “they’ll add a note to my account”, I might very well be telling Virgin where to go. 

0 Kudos
Z92
Problem sorter
Message 2 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Install on hold

When they are not specific it usually means third party companies are on hold, this could mean that there's a blockage in a duct, in which case the council may need to be involved, so the delay could be anything from a few days to 8 weeks. 

Badbob82
Just joined
Message 3 of 4
Flag for a moderator