Menu
Reply
Comradebo
  • 32
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
612 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Many Many Pre RS Errors and flakey connection M500

Hi folks,

Can anyone shed any light on the below stats?  Been getting flakey drop outs on my Hub3 using modem only.  We got rid of the TV packages and gone for internet only M500 but there are cables everywhere from previous installs.  All be ok until about a week ago, no reported work or engineering issues in the area but the stats are below:

Can anyone give me some advice, engineer visit maybe?  This was rebooted earlier this morning.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13710000001038256 qam30
22030000007.538256 qam9
32110000007.138256 qam10
4219000000838256 qam11
52270000008.538256 qam12
62350000007.938256 qam13
72430000007.838256 qam14
82510000007.538256 qam15
92590000007.838256 qam16
10267000000838256 qam17
112750000007.538256 qam18
122830000007.838256 qam19
13291000000938256 qam20
142990000008.938256 qam21
153070000008.538256 qam22
163150000008.838256 qam23
173230000008.838256 qam24
183310000009.338256 qam25
19339000000938256 qam26
203470000008.338256 qam27
213550000009.838256 qam28
2236300000010.438256 qam29
2337900000010.438256 qam31
2438700000010.538256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.637028690
2Locked38.66924630
3Locked38.66894970
4Locked38.67822810
5Locked38.98162350
6Locked38.610556140
7Locked38.612892400
8Locked38.615308760
9Locked38.617190200
10Locked38.619395210
11Locked38.620807510
12Locked38.624413860
13Locked38.624357010
14Locked38.629123030
15Locked38.631075230
16Locked38.933256180
17Locked38.636930040
18Locked38.939815050
19Locked38.647342090
20Locked38.948202680
21Locked38.645484260
22Locked38.640880310
23Locked38.640064150
24Locked38.641938740

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15369996149.3512064 qam2
23939995247.8512064 qam4
34619998647.8512064 qam3
46030000949.3512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.52K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.92K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
580 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Many Many Pre RS Errors and flakey connection M500

Your downstream power levels are getting out of range - 10dBmV is the recommended maximum. Is there by any chance an attenuator lying close that has been disconnected from the connection? Try switching off and unplugging the Hub and leaving it 5 minutes. When its back on check to see that the error counts have all reset to 0 - and whether anything changes in the power level. Check if the RS errors are appearing quickly after a few hours.

In any case you will need to get VM to look at the connection and it may need a tech visit to sort.

calling at 08.00 gets you the best chance of getting through without long waits.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Comradebo
  • 32
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
574 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Many Many Pre RS Errors and flakey connection M500

 

thanks for the response. How do I say that there is a technical issue with them and they send an engineer out? My experience with VM for support is “please reboot your router” 

When I do a reboot I pretty much get 25k errors straight away, all connections are solid and secure. Something else is going wrong I think! I have a really old filter it looks like and a splitter, all connections there are secure so might have to be an engineer job 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.52K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.92K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
554 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Many Many Pre RS Errors and flakey connection M500

Tell them that you have been told on here that downstream power levels are too high and they ought to see it when they check

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Comradebo
  • 32
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
501 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Many Many Pre RS Errors and flakey connection M500

Bit of an update. So engineer came round last week, changed to a lower tap in the cabinet, put a new 6db attenuator in, didn’t have a 10db and nothing has changed. Booked in for a cable pull on the 6th Jan.....

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Comradebo
  • 32
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
455 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Many Many Pre RS Errors and flakey connection M500

So cable pull happened today.  They installed an omnibox as the property didn't have one before.  This is now much worse as power levels are out and the connection is really broken!

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

137100000012.537256 qam30
220300000011.436256 qam9
321100000011.436256 qam10
421900000011.436256 qam11
522700000011.336256 qam12
62350000001136256 qam13
72430000001136256 qam14
82510000001136256 qam15
92590000001136256 qam16
102670000001136256 qam17
1127500000011.136256 qam18
1228300000011.136256 qam19
1329100000011.136256 qam20
1429900000011.436256 qam21
1530700000011.436256 qam22
1631500000011.536256 qam23
1732300000011.536256 qam24
1833100000011.836256 qam25
1933900000011.936256 qam26
203470000001236256 qam27
213550000001236256 qam28
2236300000012.436256 qam29
2337900000012.636256 qam31
2438700000012.536256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.34090341466
2Locked36.37246261861
3Locked36.67001752067
4Locked36.67096361537
5Locked36.67122982022
6Locked36.679264910460
7Locked36.382624610658
8Locked36.382197510523
9Locked36.37924421296
10Locked36.37800152158
11Locked36.37294492442
12Locked36.67359892612
13Locked36.37247402050
14Locked36.67427091768
15Locked36.36945491803
16Locked36.36716121724
17Locked36.36594251785
18Locked36.36168441664
19Locked36.36181471690
20Locked36.65768082279
21Locked36.35389572096
22Locked36.64759052477
23Locked36.63943931826
24Locked36.63772491002

 

Any VM staff able to look at this?

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.52K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.92K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
453 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Many Many Pre RS Errors and flakey connection M500

I will ask them to come here

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Z92
  • 2.59K
  • 208
  • 415
Trouble shooter
444 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Many Many Pre RS Errors and flakey connection M500

Is the new connection with or without the 6db attenuator? As it appears that it still requires it. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Comradebo
  • 32
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
439 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Many Many Pre RS Errors and flakey connection M500

Old connection, been with Virgin in this house for 5/6 years plus.  Decided to take just Internet M500.  There is still a 6db on the back of the router, a 4db in the cable coming out of the wall and a long white inline connector doing something else.  The engineer last time put it on a lower tap in the cabinet.  

0 Kudos
Reply
Comradebo
  • 32
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
412 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Many Many Pre RS Errors and flakey connection M500

Gaming is a waste of time.  The red line was when they put the new cable in

WhatsApp Image 2021-01-07 at 15.24.39.jpeg

0 Kudos
Reply