Menu
Reply
alphaomega16
  • 215
  • 0
  • 11
On our wavelength
211 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Lots of Pre/Post Errors

Heya all, been having some weird issues lately, random restarts of modem etc and the other day when it happened I reset the error counters and ive gotten quite a lot but not sure if it means anything.

 

Downstream ChannelsLock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Rx Power RxMER Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

Locked1139000000 Hz256 QAM2.9 dBmV 37.6 dB3107284
Locked2147000000 Hz256 QAM3.0 dBmV 37.9 dB2299296
Locked3155000000 Hz256 QAM2.9 dBmV 37.6 dB499286
Locked4163000000 Hz256 QAM2.8 dBmV 37.6 dB656291
Locked5171000000 Hz256 QAM2.5 dBmV 37.9 dB344289
Locked6179000000 Hz256 QAM2.7 dBmV 38.3 dB312283
Locked7187000000 Hz256 QAM2.6 dBmV 38.3 dB335310
Locked8195000000 Hz256 QAM2.7 dBmV 38.3 dB328306

 

Upstream ChannelsLock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Tx Power Mode Channel Bandwidth Symbol Rate

Locked253700000 HzATDMA46.3 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked160300000 HzATDMA46.8 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked346200000 HzATDMA45.5 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked439400000 HzATDMA45.0 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec

 

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)139000000147000000155000000163000000171000000179000000187000000195000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID12345678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)2.952.952.902.802.592.752.722.60
RxMER (dB)37.3637.9437.3637.3637.9438.2638.2638.26
Pre RS Errors
31172303499656344312335328
Post RS Errors
284296286291289283310306

 

Upstream Burst  Req(1) Init Maint(3) Per Maint(4) Adv Short(9) Adv Long(10) Adv UGS(11)

Modulation Type16QAMQPSK16QAM64QAM64QAM16QAM
Differential EncodingOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFF
Preamble Length56640384104104104
Preamble Value Offset65200716716716
FEC Error Correction (T)05510165
FEC Codeword Information Bytes (K)1634348122386
Maximum Burst Size0003255255
Guard Time Size84848888
Last Codeword LengthFixedFixedFixedShortenedShortenedShortened
Scrambler On/OffONONONONONON
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16.9K
  • 1.32K
  • 3.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
203 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of Pre/Post Errors

seen worse - there will always be a few - they could be historical reboot the hub to zero them and see if they rise again 

apart from that are you having any actual problems - levels all look good

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 8.45K
  • 674
  • 1.51K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
200 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of Pre/Post Errors

I think on the hub2 there is a way of resetting these counters from the we interface.


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
alphaomega16
  • 215
  • 0
  • 11
On our wavelength
183 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of Pre/Post Errors

the modem last week had a hissy fit and kept rebooting, happened several times in a couple of days and I reset the counters then

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 23.83K
  • 2.53K
  • 4.32K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
175 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of Pre/Post Errors

I have an SH2 and Tudor's correct, just press the "reset counters" buttons on the router status page.

I was told many moons ago that because of the way the SH2's connect (?), they always report a handful of pre and post RS errors which will accumulate slowly and its of no consequence. The Hub3 doesnt have that little "feature".

Mine certainly does that and has been working fine for many years

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
alphaomega16
  • 215
  • 0
  • 11
On our wavelength
135 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of Pre/Post Errors

That is nice to hear then, after a couple of days of a LOT of modem random reboots I was starting to get a tad worried.

0 Kudos
Reply