Menu
Reply
bencowan42
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
444 Views
Message 1 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent Connection - Pre RS Errors?

Hi all,

Most of my main devices are ethernet which are fine, but on my devices with WiFi I've noticed over the past few months - occurring more frequently now - that im having to reconnect them to the network, or the network just isn't working for several minutes.

I've done various router reboots/ resets, device resets etc and on the router page some of the numbers don't seem right compared to what is expected.

Can someone help make sense of these and what the best course of action is? 

Thank you

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11870000001.740256 qam7
2139000000140256 qam1
31470000000.940256 qam2
4155000000138256 qam3
5163000000140256 qam4
61710000001.240256 qam5
71790000001.540256 qam6
81950000001.540256 qam8
92030000001.240256 qam9
102110000001.440256 qam10
112190000001.534256 qam11
122270000001.728256 qam12
132350000001.740256 qam13
142430000001.540256 qam14
152510000001.240256 qam15
162590000001.240256 qam16
172670000001.240256 qam17
182750000001.440256 qam18
192830000001.240256 qam19
202910000001.240256 qam20
212990000001.240256 qam21
223070000001.240256 qam22
233150000001.240256 qam23
243230000001.440256 qam24

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3200
2Locked40.360
3Locked40.9140
4Locked38.950
5Locked40.940
6Locked40.3560
7Locked40.3190
8Locked40.980
9Locked40.350
10Locked40.350
11Locked34.91164826223
12Locked28.2225667275055826
13Locked40.350
14Locked40.370
15Locked40.3120
16Locked40.950
17Locked40.350
18Locked40.350
19Locked40.360
20Locked40.360
21Locked40.3200
22Locked40.360
23Locked40.950
24Locked40.930

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1326000004.525512064 qam5
2462000004.55512064 qam3
3394000004.525512064 qam4
4258000004.5512064 qam11

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.21K
  • 1.1K
  • 2.63K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
438 Views
Message 2 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Connection - Pre RS Errors?

Signal to noise ratio is too low on channel 12, and borderline on channel 11.  That will cause problems, and whether you notice or not it will affect wifi and ethernet alike.  I'll flag your post for the forum staff, these ones usually need a technician visit.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

bencowan42
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
434 Views
Message 3 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Connection - Pre RS Errors?

Please find live BQM and errors also. I've already tried contacting on the phone and tried relaying the router issues but they told me to just reboot it.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/da748370a0b97bcb4aa5d9aefa3e1ed85508f096

Network Log

Time Priority Description

13/08/2020 13:46:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:46:50Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:46:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:46:43Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:46:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:46:35Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:46:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:46:27Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:46:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:46:6Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:45:50Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:45:50Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:44:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:44:24Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:44:2Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:44:1Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:42:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:42:53Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:42:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/08/2020 13:42:14Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.21K
  • 1.1K
  • 2.63K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
429 Views
Message 4 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Connection - Pre RS Errors?

I've already tried contacting on the phone and tried relaying the router issues but they told me to just reboot it.

Rebooting is usually a temporary fix for reasons I won't bore you with, but because a reboot doesn't fix the underlying cause, the problem quickly recurs.  VM's telephone support is the poorest of any company I've ever encountered, and I can think of few circumstances where I'd try and contact VM by phone. 

Luckily the VM forum is different.  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
bencowan42
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
421 Views
Message 5 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Connection - Pre RS Errors?

Found it very strange how defensive the guy got when I mentioned I came to the conclusion via monitoring and similar issues are seen on the forum. Very patronising when explaining!

Hoping the forum can help a bit more 🙂 Used to work for a different BB company and it was always phone for resolutions, forums for advice haha!

0 Kudos
Reply
Z92
  • 2.29K
  • 190
  • 359
Problem sorter
398 Views
Message 6 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Connection - Pre RS Errors?

To be honest, because the router can be so temperamental, a reboot or a factory reset will normally cure a lot of problems and so should be the first thing to try. However if things persist, then a technician visit is normally required. A lot of people don't have a clue how to provide the kind of information you have. 

Weird thing is, the customer services staff can get all that data without asking for it, they just choose not to (or maybe it not available to the front line staff?), the first staff priority appears to be to get you off the phone as quickly as possible. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Beth_G
  • 3.15K
  • 197
  • 309
Forum Team
Forum Team
396 Views
Message 7 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Connection - Pre RS Errors?

Hey @bencowan42,

 

Thanks for your first post and a warm welcome to the community forums 🙂

 

I am sorry that you've been having some broadband troubles, and to hear that you didn't have much luck when calling through to our help lines.

 

I'd have to agree with Andruser on this one, as for this particular issue you will need an engineers visit. I had a quick look at your services from here and can see that there is a few issues with your hub specs, so I've been able to book you in with the earliest engineer appointment we have available.  You'll be able to view/rearrange your appointment time slot via your online account here: virg.in/myVM

 

Keep us posted with how things go after the visit and we'll be here if you need any further help in the meantime.

 

Kind regards.

 

Beth

bencowan42
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
388 Views
Message 8 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Connection - Pre RS Errors?

Thanks a mill Beth!

Hopefully the visit should sort things out and i'll keep you all updated 👍

0 Kudos
Reply
Beth_G
  • 3.15K
  • 197
  • 309
Forum Team
Forum Team
387 Views
Message 9 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Connection - Pre RS Errors?

You're more than welcome 🙂

 

I have all confidence that the engineer will be able to get these issues resolved for you. Look forward to hearing back from you.

 

All the best,

 

Beth

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
bencowan42
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
326 Views
Message 10 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Connection - Pre RS Errors?

So a little update, engineer came round and he was really brilliant, checked all cables etc and realised one of the cables was loose, tightened it and that was great!

Router status page showed immediate improvement and no errors logged

Unfortunately the days since have proved to have the same issues - devices randomly dropping, high latency on devices, and needing to reconnect devices. The BQM is looking a little worse for wear too lol  

I’ll share the details below

0 Kudos
Reply