cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installation due tomorrow

owenb28
Joining in

I’m due to have virgin installed to my home tomorrow. I live in a bungalow and the outside box has been put on the exterior wall of the bedroom so I need them to run the cable up the wall and into the loft and then down the wall where my router will be. Will there be a problem with them drilling the hole high up and going into my loft? I know how strict health and safety rules are with things like this

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

goslow
Alessandro Volta

@owenb28 wrote:

Ok thanks, hopefully I get an amendable Tech because I’m an electrician and having trunking will be an eye saw for me. I’ve allowed for a few options for him to run his cable so fingers crossed if need be I’ll be there to get in the loft to run the cable through the loft and down the riser and let him do his bit either end of the cable. 

If that's the situation, then I think the only objection a tech could come up with would be that the cable would be ending up in a location that VM wouldn't service in the future. But that would be taking a fairly hard-line view!

That said, if you're an electrician, and you are willing to help run the cable in, then I'd say you have a much better chance of getting what you want. Any prep you can do in advance to help smooth the job would probably be helpful IMO.

As with many things to do with VM, you might just find it's down to the person who turns up on the day. Hope you get it fitted as you want it.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

8 REPLIES 8

goslow
Alessandro Volta

From past topics on here, AFAIK VM tech's don't do installations through lofts, for obvious reasons. If you live in a bungalow though, I would have thought they should be able to clip the cable around the eaves to your chosen location.

jpeg1
Alessandro Volta

Loft access has been refused in the past.

- jpeg1