Menu
Reply
Dugster2004
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
148 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Install

Hi All,

New here and new to Virgin Media. I had my install yesterday and it was a bit of a shambles to be honest ( Not the install engineers fault ). I was told the pre pull team would have everything ready for the engineer and when he arrived yesterday nothing was done for him. The old cables had been cut outside in the garden close to where it comes from the pipe which runs up the path I've now been left with cable running through my front fence which people could cut, cable tacked onto my wall running along the front of my garden and an unclipped cable running along the steps( which the engineer did say he was not happy to leave like that ) but his manager told him just get it done. He says that he will book in a re-pull as he had to join the cable but I've heard nothing yet how long should I leave it until I contact VM as I don't want to get the engineer in any trouble as he was only doing what he was told by is manager?

Oh and when I run a test last night on the line there is a fault which could cause my internet to drop out intermittently ( engineer did say because of the joint its not right to leave it like that).

0 Kudos
Reply
JitteryPinger
  • 1.69K
  • 187
  • 336
Super solver
137 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Install

OK, so re-pulls can take around 2-8 weeks to complete depending on the work required.

As for your connection could you do the following please, once we have the required information we can give you and idea of whether or not there is a major issue to be concerned with.

Hub Stats:
Open http://192.168.0.1/ or http://192.168.100.1/ (if you have your Hub in Modem mode) in your browser

For Hubs 2 & 3 - DO NOT LOG IN, just click “Check Router Status”

For Hub 4 - When the page appears LOG IN then click on: Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Please copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs in replies here.

On a side note the engineer was very good to connect you yesterday, many installs would have been abandoned and then delayed by 2-8 weeks (like mine)

If I've helped please let me know 🙂 Matt

A 10+ Year Virgin Media veteran, been here through the Up's and the Down's and Down's....
Vodafone 5G EE BQM Hub 4 BQM Hub 3 BQM Hitron CGNV4 BQM TT BQM

Technical Support - AV & Networking - Customer Service - Finance - Culinary - Construction
Dugster2004
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
108 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Install

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 32600019 42.3 5120 64 qam 5
2 39400000 42.8 5120 64 qam 4
3 46200014 43.3 5120 64 qam 3
4 53699993 44.8 5120 64 qam 2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
0 Kudos
Reply
Dugster2004
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
108 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Install

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000005.940256 qam25
2267000000538256 qam17
3275000000540256 qam18
42830000005.338256 qam19
52910000005.540256 qam20
62990000005.938256 qam21
7307000000640256 qam22
8315000000638256 qam23
9323000000640256 qam24
10339000000638256 qam26
11347000000640256 qam27
123550000005.938256 qam28
133630000005.640256 qam29
143710000005.640256 qam30
153790000005.838256 qam31
16387000000640256 qam32
17395000000640256 qam33
18403000000640256 qam34
19411000000640256 qam35
204190000006.140256 qam36
214270000006.140256 qam37
22435000000640256 qam38
23443000000640256 qam39
244510000005.840256 qam40



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3210
2Locked38.9130
3Locked40.3140
4Locked38.970
5Locked40.380
6Locked38.9220
7Locked40.3110
8Locked38.970
9Locked40.3150
10Locked38.9140
11Locked40.3120
12Locked38.9140
13Locked40.3170
14Locked40.3260
15Locked38.9240
16Locked40.3330
17Locked40.3170
18Locked40.3200
19Locked40.9270
20Locked40.3280
21Locked40.3230
22Locked40.3340
23Locked40.3300
24Locked40.3200
0 Kudos
Reply
Dugster2004
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
107 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Install

General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
iyewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca69834ncxv


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 31026
Max Traffic Rate 402500089
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 31025
Max Traffic Rate 38500089
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0
Max Concatenated Burst 42600
Scheduling Type BestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
Dugster2004
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
107 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Install

Network Log
Time Priority Description
22/02/2021 23:25:58 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/02/2021 17:49:39 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/02/2021 16:53:3 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/02/2021 16:53:3 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/02/2021 15:55:34 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/02/2021 15:55:34 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/02/2021 15:34:59 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/02/2021 15:26:0 notice Touchstone SW Upgrade Reboot Delayed due to Call in Progress;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/02/2021 15:26:0 notice SW download Successful - Via Config file
22/02/2021 15:23:47 notice SW Download INIT - Via Config file
22/02/2021 15:23:37 Error Disruption during SW download - Power Failure
22/02/2021 15:20:55 notice SW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:37 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Dugster2004
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
106 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Install

Matt hope this is what your looking for? as regards to the installer yesterday he was great I was just trying to make the point that if VM say they will have the work done for the installer so that it goes smoothly then why not get the work done instead of all the crap he ad to go trough yesterday. After the install the guy told me he gets an hour to do each job he was at mine for over 2 hours because the work wasn't done for him that's poor.
JitteryPinger
  • 1.69K
  • 187
  • 336
Super solver
95 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Install

That exactly what I need thanks.

I can confirm the connections is all good, no issues and very low error rates too so the cable is good for now.

Generally it can take anywhere between 2-8 weeks for work to be completed for new cables depending on the availability of the externals team and also what might need doing between your home and the distribution cabinet.

When its convenient take a few photos of the cable from where it comes up by the fence and where it runs along and I can give some idea of work that needs ti be done and anything I think I should tell you to tell anybody when they come out.

If I've helped please let me know 🙂 Matt

A 10+ Year Virgin Media veteran, been here through the Up's and the Down's and Down's....
Vodafone 5G EE BQM Hub 4 BQM Hub 3 BQM Hitron CGNV4 BQM TT BQM

Technical Support - AV & Networking - Customer Service - Finance - Culinary - Construction
Dugster2004
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
82 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Install

image.jpeg

 Thats on the outside of my garden on main footpath can take photos of the rest tomorrow in daylight. As I said installer done great job getting me online but to leave a new customer like that for all to see beggars belief.

0 Kudos
Reply
Robert_P
  • 1.77K
  • 81
  • 148
Forum Team
Forum Team
30 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Install

Hello Dugster2004

 

Sorry to see the image posted following a recent install, certainly not the impression we aim to make.

 

I'm going to send you a Private Message to get some more details from you to get this looked into further.

 

Thanks

 

Rob