Menu
Reply
Bilbomacuser
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
239 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Increased ping times - what is normal / acceptable?

We are on the 350 plan (which when we signed up was the fastest service, for gamers) and we have typically had a ping of around 8-12 ms.  Recently I’ve noticed it to be 18-20ms.   We are still getting good speeds - of around 360 mbps up and 36 mbps down.  The hub 3 is in modem only mode.

The cover of the brown box outside regularly falls of and I keep replacing it - should the box be replaced, and could this be causing issues?

There are some errors showing on the status page:

17/07/2021 23:34:28noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/07/2021 20:50:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/07/2021 20:50:24criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/07/2021 20:50:24criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/07/2021 19:23:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 19:13:5ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 14:21:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/07/2021 05:41:53ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2021 14:30:57criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2021 09:20:59Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2021 09:20:57criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2021 09:20:57Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2021 08:42:29criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2021 08:38:8Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2021 08:38:3criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2021 08:38:3Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2021 08:38:2criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2021 19:51:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2021 02:39:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/07/2021 20:53:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00460
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.690
2Locked37.6310
3Locked37.6160
4Locked37.6240
5Locked37.6530
6Locked37.6560
7Locked37.3270
8Locked37.3250
9Locked37.6180
10Locked37.3240
11Locked37.6270
12Locked37.6160
13Locked37.6350
14Locked37.370
15Locked37.6340
16Locked37.6300
17Locked37.6230
18Locked37.3300
19Locked37.3470
20Locked37.3310
21Locked37.3350
22Locked36.6560
23Locked36.6980
24Locked36.32720

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 7K
  • 1.22K
  • 3.06K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
212 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Increased ping times - what is normal / acceptable?

Looking at what you've posted, it seems likely that the problem is caused by noise ingress on upstream channel 1.  If you look there's a very high timeout count on that, which will affect the hub's communication with the network.  I've marked that for staff to advise.  If need be they can book a technician.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jb66
  • 12.28K
  • 912
  • 1.79K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
208 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Increased ping times - what is normal / acceptable?

46 is not alot if the hubs been online for a while.

 

It's normal to have latency of 20ms+ on Virgin as docsis3 is laggier than say Openreach FTTC. That's not a fault/issue

 

Perhaps post up your full stats showing your upstream power levels etc 

0 Kudos
Reply
Bilbomacuser
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
198 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Increased ping times - what is normal / acceptable?

Thanks for the replies. 

The hub was restarted about 24 hours earlier when I installed a new router (changed from Synology RT2600ac to UDM Pro) - the Virgin Hub 3 has been powered off during the switchover as I had read this was necessary to work with a new router. 

We have had consistently lower ping times with Virgin previously (about 8-12ms) so it is now about twice what it was previously. The cabinet is opposite our house so perhaps that allows low ping times normally?

Any stats I’ve missed?

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12030000005.438256 qam9
22110000004.537256 qam10
32190000004.637256 qam11
4227000000437256 qam12
5235000000337256 qam13
62430000002.737256 qam14
72510000003.537256 qam15
8259000000437256 qam16
92670000004.337256 qam17
102750000004.537256 qam18
112830000004.537256 qam19
122910000004.938256 qam20
132990000004.937256 qam21
143070000005.437256 qam22
153150000005.137256 qam23
163230000005.537256 qam24
173310000005.337256 qam25
18339000000637256 qam26
193470000005.637256 qam27
20355000000637256 qam28
213630000004.836256 qam29
223710000003.936256 qam30
233790000003.736256 qam31
243870000003.536256 qam32
 
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
15370000044.8512064 qam2
26030000044.8512064 qam1
34620000044.5512064 qam3
43940000044512064 qam4
   
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA00460
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID38284
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID38283
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort


 
 
0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 1.39K
  • 49
  • 132
Forum Team
Forum Team
190 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Increased ping times - what is normal / acceptable?

Hi @Bilbomacuser,

 

Welcome to our Community Forums and thanks for posting. 

 

I have taken a look at the account but have been unable to run through all the diagnostics as you are currently in Modem mode. Are you able to put the hub into router mode so I can finish of our checks?

 

Cheers

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


Andrew-G
  • 7K
  • 1.22K
  • 3.06K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
183 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Increased ping times - what is normal / acceptable?

@jb66   46 is not alot if the hubs been online for a while.

Look at the downstream error counts - if the hub had any extended up time those would be far higher.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Bilbomacuser
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
176 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Increased ping times - what is normal / acceptable?

Thanks for the reply.  I will put it in router mode now - will I need to leave it like that for long?

 

Thanks

 

Jon

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 7K
  • 1.22K
  • 3.06K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
121 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Increased ping times - what is normal / acceptable?


@Bilbomacuser wrote:

Thanks for the reply.  I will put it in router mode now - will I need to leave it like that for long?

 


A couple of days usually.  If that causes wifi problems you can reconnect your own router but with YOUR router set to access point mode, and turn off the hub's wifi.  That means you get better wifi but still enables VM to remotely interrogate the hub.  You don't want that long term, because the hub's router is not up to much, but as a short term thing it is usually an acceptable compromise.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Eeeps
  • 818
  • 53
  • 136
Well-informed
102 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Increased ping times - what is normal / acceptable?


@Andrew-G wrote:

@Bilbomacuser wrote:

Thanks for the reply.  I will put it in router mode now - will I need to leave it like that for long?

 


A couple of days usually.  If that causes wifi problems you can reconnect your own router but with YOUR router set to access point mode, and turn off the hub's wifi.  That means you get better wifi but still enables VM to remotely interrogate the hub.  You don't want that long term, because the hub's router is not up to much, but as a short term thing it is usually an acceptable compromise.


The other option that may work for you is to leave both as gateway routers and double NAT. This is less disruptive in terms of configuration of your internal devices.
For this to work, there will be a small local subnet between the SH and your router. You must chose an IP range for this that does not conflict with your main local subnet.

1. Place the SH in router mode. Set a static ip for the SH and Disable DHCP on the SH
2. Set a static ip on the WAN interface on your router in the SHs range
3. On the SH put your router in the DMZ. This will forward all external ports to your router.
4. Disable WiFi on the SH

I've run like this for more than a week with no noticeable changes in functionality from a local network standpoint. (I run outgoing and incoming VPNs)

It's also very easy to put back into modem mode. Connect to the SH (via your router) on the static IP you gave it. Switch the SH to modem mode.
Then put your routers WAN back to DHCP and power cycle the SH.

0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 1.39K
  • 49
  • 132
Forum Team
Forum Team
69 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Increased ping times - what is normal / acceptable?

Thanks for popping the hub back into router mode @Bilbomacuser

 

I have taken a look at your account and can see you are currently impacted by an outage. 

 

The reference number for this is C01217103 and the estimated time of fix is 19 JUL 2021 15:00

 

We need to let you know we're making some improvements to our network at the moment, so we can make sure we're giving you the best service possible.

 

I would advise rebooting your hub and monitoring your connection thereafter and if you find the issues still persist, let us know and we can take it from there. 

 

Cheers

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply