Menu
Tuning in
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

I need a VM wall socket

Hello,

I am new to Virgin Media, and I received the installation kit yesterday, for my broadband.
At first I thought it will be easy to setup, but unfortunately it is not, since the cable it is different and it does not match with my wall socket.
In other words, I believe I do not have a VM wall socket and I did not book a technician in the first place. 

I called yesterday the whole day the VM services to get in touch with the Broadband Team, but no luck. I also tried using the chat on the website and still nothing.
On top of that, this morning I received a text message saying that: “Your new Virgin Media is now activated. “
But I cannot use the internet. 

I am in the need for some help here, please. 

Thanks,
Cristina

Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: I need a VM wall socket

Hi Tina01uk,

Thank you for your post and welcome to the community. 

I'm very sorry you don't have the wall socket.

What I will do is private message you so we can look to get an engineer out to get one installed for you. 

^Martin

Super solver
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Do you mean you don't have a co-axial connection to your router or you don't have an ethernet cable?

The co-axial cable comes from the wall socket into your router and is coloured white with a little screw in round connector that goes into the back of your router.  The ethernet cable plugs directly into your computer and the other end plugs into one of the 4 grey connectors above the co-axial cable.

Your post suggests that you don't have an ethernet cable which you can get off ebay or Amazon (if you have an account).

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s?k=ethernet+cable&ref=nb_sb_noss_1 

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2380057.m570.l1313&_nkw=ethernet+cable&_sacat=0